- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Marketing Subject Guide
- Marketing Resources
Marketing Subject Guide
Definition
The process of planning and executing the conception, pricing, promotion, and distribution of ideas, goods, and services, to create exchanges that satisfy individual and organizational objectives.
Bennett, P. D., (1995). Dictionary of marketing terms. Lincolnwood, Ill., USA: NTC Business Books.
Terms to Search
brand name products, communication in marketing, consumer behavior, direct marketing, green marketing, industrial marketing, internet marketing, market segmentation, market surveys, marketing, marketing planning, new products, physical distribution of goods, pricing, product life cycle, professions marketing, service industries, social marketing, target marketing
Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window "This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots".
- Business Plans Handbook This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Includes a business plan template, two fictional business plans, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants
- Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window A special search tool or finding business information in Ebscohost databases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Industry reports and lead industry information statistics.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Statista consolidates statistical data on over 8,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Reports cover trending topics, consumer preferences, industries and markets, politics and society, and much more.View the 2024 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Websites
- American Community Survey Yearly survey of a sample of 3,000,000 US and Puerto Rico residents.
- American Time Use Survey The American Time Use Survey reports the hours people indicate they spend in various activities ranging from eating & drinking to working.
- Census.gov Gateway to population, housing, economic, and geographic information data compiled by the US Census Bureau.
- The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
- Know This A marketing portal created by a marketing professor and a librarian.
- Maketing Power An American Marketing Association marketing resource site
- Marketing Profs A marketing portal, free registration is required
- Nielsen Claritas: My Best Segments Provides limited free access to Nielson segmentation consumer data.
- North American Industry Classification System Will retrieve NACIS codes and convert SIC to NAICS codes.
- Population Studies by the US Census Bureau Over 40 categories of data about population and households
- Statistics for Specific Industries Contains data on: Agriculture, Banking, Energy, Environment, Health and Safety, Housing, and Transportation.
- Survey of Current Business Monthly reports on the national, international, regional, and industrial economic estimates. Surveys of Consumers
- US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Designed to provide information at a glance about the US economy.
- US Census Bureau Homepage to the Census Bureau and site from which a variety of data can be accessed.
ejournals
- Contemporary Marketing Review Contemporary Marketing Review (CMR) is an international open-access and online journal that is published monthly. The topics may include a wide range of research areas in Marketing like Sales Management, Advertising, Promotional Mix, Product Development, Pricing Strategies, Integrated Marketing Communications, Word of Mouth Marketing, Viral Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Branding, International Marketing, Export Marketing, Marketing Mix, Packaging, Product and Service Quality, Sales Promotion, Brand Loyalty, Customer Satisfaction, Retail Management, Marketing of Services, E-Marketing, Brand Equity, Marketing Strategies, Market Segmentation, Corporate Social Responsibility, Holistic Marketing, Direct Marketing, Marketing Channels, Brand Activation and Ignition, Recent Trends in Marketing and any other area that can fall under the scope of Economics and Finance discipline.
- Journal of Business Market Management During the past decades business-to-business markets have gained additional significance considering growth and productivity rates worldwide. Increasing international but also electronic commerce has made this sector more important and promising than ever before. For a long time, research has focused on exploring differences between consumer- and business-market approaches. The developmental trends in business-to-business markets provide excellent prospects for academics. There are many opportunities for scholars who want to meet the ambitious challenge not only to identify systematic patterns on business-to-business markets but also to achieve a more sophisticated understanding of relevant influential factors and develop theory-based models for a successful management. The aim of jbm is to create opportunities for novel ideas and theories as well as strategies for increasing market share which shall be generated from and applicable to business-to-business markets. Experts shall be given the chance to deliver mechanisms to explain a research area that has certainly not yet been explored sufficiently.
- Journal of Management and Marketing Research The Journal of Management and Marketing Research (JMMR) publishes original, unpublished manuscripts related to contemporary issues in management and marketing. Any topic related to management or marketing is appropriate for publication consideration in the journal.
eBooks
Everything I Know about Marketing I Learned from Google by
In Everything I Know about Marketing I Learned from Google, digital marketing guru Aaron Goldman shares 20 lessons from the world’s most ubiquitous brand to help you better engage your customers and prospects.
You’ll learn how to do everything from initiating digital “conversations” with customers to testing and quantifying your efforts. In addition to his expert insight, Goldman delivers case studies featuring some of the world’s most innovative brands that have integrated lessons from Google into their own marketing strategy. You’ll see how:
•Apple is Googling its customers to remain relevant to their passion points
•GE is Googling its marketing plans by selling altruism
•Threadless is Googling its products by tapping the wisdom of crowds
•Barack Obama Googled his way to the top of the political ladder
And now you, too, can Google your business to build meaningful connections with more customers than ever!
ISBN: 9780071742894Publication Date: 2010-08-26
Harvard Business Review on Marketing by Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781578518043Publication Date: 2002-05-07The Harvard Business Review Paperback Series is designed to bring managers and professionals the fundamental information they need to stay competitive in a fast-moving world. The articles in this collection provide a diverse look at marketing, including global branding, one-to-one marketing, and how to manage buzz.
Marketing Your Small Business for Dummies by
Created especially for the Australian customer! Attract customers and ensure the ongoing success of your small business with this no-nonsense guide Whether you own a bakery or a boutique, a plumbing or a finance business, this book gives you straightforward strategies to find more prospects, build your customer base and secure market share. Small-business guru Carolyn Tate empowers you to apply hundreds of high-impact and creative ways to market your business without breaking the bank. Know your target market -- identify your ideal customers, and what, how and why they buy Develop business and marketing plans -- learn how to create them and why they're so important Build effective databases -- develop a database that creates business for you, without the headaches Solidify your branding -- create a unique brand and keep it fresh and exciting Understand the power of advertising -- assess if it's right for your business and how to pick the right strategies Master publicity -- get your business in the media with the right message Implement relationship marketing -- develop and maintain networks to create new opportunities Embrace websites and online marketing -- build a website that drives customers to you, and use online tools and search engines to generate business
Call Number: eBook by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781742168524Publication Date: 2011-09-19
Social Media Marketing by
Does social media marketing signal the death of advertising, or its rebirth? Or is it merely the trend of the moment, destined for over-saturation and burnout? The current mania for social media clouds the marketer's vision with both overheated hype and dire predictions, none of which brings us closer to understanding how and why social media has emerged as a driving force in contemporary marketing.The science of game theory provides the toolset for the marketer and the marketing scholar to see past the bubble trends to the deep structure of marketer-consumer relationships. Originally developed to guide Cold-War geopolitical maneuvering, game theory illuminates the conflicting and overlapping interests of marketers and consumers in marketing's long and contentious evolution toward cooperation. Social media marketing is revealed as an evolutionary stage in a movement that began with the Web itself. Its future depends on the decisions marketers make today.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9783642132988Publication Date: 2010-08-11
Social Media Marketing for Dummies® by
Get the last word on the most up-to-date social media marketing techniques If you're not tweeting, Facebooking, or blogging by now, your business is getting left behind. Social media marketing is a highly effective way to engage with your customers. It's an easy, inexpensive way to enlarge your audience, add customers, and build your business. This guide provides an indispensable resource for small businesses and start-ups looking for low-cost online marketing strategies, as well as for marketers in larger companies who want to be more involved with social media. Learn which social media sites best fit your business and how to take full advantage of them. Explore the many aspects of social media, including reviewing sites, monitoring competitors, and fitting social into your current marketing plans Launch a campaign, develop a voice, reach your audience on key and niche platforms, and embrace the influencers Identify social media sites that appeal to your target audience and learn which social platform works best for which objectives Learn to monitor results and assess your program's effectiveness This straightforward guide is exactly what busy marketers and entrepreneurs need to help them get up and running!
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781118065143Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283