Information Literacy: Resources for Students
Student resources include:
- Links to pre-recorded workshops and tutorials, including live instruction sessions; Brainshark videos for various library resources; and other topics, such as APA citation formats
- Links to the library's subscription databases (portal authentication required) as well as curated content like LibGuides
- Tips and guidelines for conducting research
- Links to resources on APA format and academic integrity
Pre-recorded Information Literacy Instruction Sessions
- Workshops & TutorialsLinks to recorded presentations on various library resources, as well as course-specific presentations
APA & Academic Integrity
- APA/Writing CenterLinks to various APA and academic integrity resources, including guides to formatting, NoodleTools, and the Student Handbook
- Academic IntegrityLinks to academic integrity resources for students and faculty
Library Resources by Subject or Format
The library's resources fall into two categories: searchable subscription databases and LibGuides.
Subscription Resources
The subscription databases are only accessible via the library homepage and require portal authentication. While some databases cover a range of subjects, others are especially useful for particular topics or programs of study. The list of databases by subject can be found on the library website.
The databases provide content in multiple formats and for various purposes. More frequently requested options include:
- Ebooks - Ebook Central, Ebooks by Ebscohost, SkillSoft Books
- Magazine and journal articles - Ebscohost (and the various subject-specific Ebsco databases), ProQuest Central (and the various subject-specific ProQuest databases)
- Scholarly or peer-reviewed articles - Ebschost and ProQuest, using the scholarly/peer-reviewed limiter within each database
The list of databases by format is also found on the library website.
LibGuides
LibGuides are subject-specific collections of resources selected by DeVry librarians and faculty. The LibGuides, organized by subject, academic program, and course, consist of links that have been pre-selected for quality and accuracy, as well as other relevant resources, including the library's subscription databases. LibGuides are accessible from the library homepage under the Resources tab.
Research Tips & Guidelines
- Show Me IL ModulesHow to identify and make the best use of a range of information sources, courtesy of NoodleTools
- Research MethodsA brief LibGuide sharing links to eBooks and databases for learning more about various research methodologies
- Literature ReviewLinks to resources that define and explain how to conduct a literature review
- What Makes a Good Research PaperLinks to our Writing Center LibGuide. Be sure to check out the links under Writing Assistance and Eby's College Student's Guide to Writing a Great Research Paper in the eBooks section