- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- Communication & Technical Communication
- Communication & Technical Communication Resources
Communication & Technical Communication
Definition
Communication is a social process that requires the participation of two or more persons. It involves the human ability to use abstract concepts in order to affect the actions and thinking of other individuals.
Bosco, F. M., & Angeleri, R. (2010). Communication. In L. Cummings (Ed.), The pragmatics encyclopedia. London, UK: Routledge. Retrieved from http://proxy.devry.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/routpragmatics/communication/0?institutionId=2985
Technical communication is a broad field and includes any form of communication that exhibits one or more of the following characteristics:
- Communicating about technical or specialized topics, such as computer applications, medical procedures, or environmental regulations.
- Communicating by using technology, such as web pages, help files, or social media sites.
- Providing instructions about how to do something, regardless of how technical the task is or even if technology is used to create or distribute that communication.
Society for Technical Communication (2017). Defining technical communication. Retrieved from https://www.stc.org/about-stc/defining-technical-communication/
Keywords
business communication, business writing, communication, conversation, interpersonal communication, interpersonal relations, interviewing, language, non-verbal communication, public speaking, social interaction, social network, speech, technical communication, technical writing, verbal communication
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
Recommended Websites
- Effective Business Writing: Top Principles and Techniques Tips and advice for effective business communication. More general pointers on writing can be found in the list of topics.
- International Association of Business Communicators "IABC serves professionals in the field of business communication, bringing together the profession’s collective disciplines."
- Plain Language Action and Information Network (PLAIN) "The Plain Language Action and Information Network (PLAIN) is a group of federal employees from many different agencies and specialties who support the use of clear communication in government writing." A good source of guidance on writing clear and effective prose.
- Society for Technical Communication "The Society for Technical Communication advances technical communication as the discipline of transforming complex information into usable content for products, processes, and services."
- The Technical Communication Body of Knowldedge The TCBOK team attempts to "organize, make accessible, and connect together the plethora of information necessary to train for and practice with the [technical communication] profession"
- Writing Commons "A free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research."
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
The AMA Handbook of Business Writing by
Just because you're not a born writer doesn't mean you should settle for less than perfect business documents. After all, every piece you write reflects directly on the quality of the product or service your business offers. Now, this helpful guide takes the guesswork out of more than 50 commonly used business documents, including: Reports * Proposals * Business plans * Presentations * Press releases * Memos * Email * Newsletters * Collection Letters * Sales materials * And more Arranged alphabetically and cross-referenced for easier use, the book presents clear examples of how to (and how not to) create winning materials every time. The authors' step-by-step instructions begin with an overview of the writing process, from preparation and research right through to final review and publication. Sample documents show you how your pieces should look and read, and close to 300 individual entries cover key points of grammar, style and spelling, and present strategies for writing more clearly, avoiding bias, eliminating clich#65533;s, and much more.
ISBN: 9780814415894Publication Date: 2010-08-04
Closing the Communication Gap by
Improved communication in business means higher profits. Improved communication in government means happier citizens. Improved communication in healthcare means quicker recoveries, fewer lawsuits, and happier nurses and patients. Closing the Communication Gapcan help readers improve communication by closing the gap between what the communicator means and what the listener actually understands. It supplies a complete overview of the various elements and dimensions of effective communication needed to stop talking and start communicating. Defining and discussing both the formal and the informal communication systems within an organization, the book demonstrates the importance of good communication and details the four types of poor-quality communication. It explains how to create a climate of communication in your organization. It describes how this climate of communication encourages the development of quality relationships as well as what it takes to maintain this culture of communication. After reading this book, you will understand how to be a better listener, how to use social media in marketing, how to deal with difficult people, and helpful tips for public speaking. You will gain valuable insights on how to talk to your employees, how to talk to your boss, and the best ways to communicate with a corporation. This book can be read for personal growth or it can be used by a company to teach employees the importance of quality communication. Quality assurance departments will find this book useful in lowering errors and waste in the workplace. The book is also suitable as a communication textbook or supplemental text at the introductory university level. If a corporation were a person, communication would be the bloodstream. --Lee Iacocca, Former CEO, Chrysler Corporation
ISBN: 9781466574885Publication Date: 2013-10-16
Communicate with Confidence! by
The classic business communication guide--updated for smart phones, social media, and other digital platforms Communicate clearly, tactfully, and confidently in any situation, including: Being persuasive Running productive meetings Asking the right questions Coaching Negotiating Resolving conflicts Responding to insults Offering praise Delegating responsibilities Crossing cultural divides Networking at events "Communicate with Confidence! is . . . the clearest, most comprehensive, and most credible guide to persuasive and authentic communication available today. Dianna Booher is the master of her message and her medium. . . . After you've read it once, I'm confident you'll be consulting it frequently. Do not hesitate. Read it today, and put it to use immediately." --Jim Kouzes, coauthor of The Leadership Challenge and Credibility, and The Dean's Executive Fellow of Leadership, Leavey School of Business, Santa Clara University "Communicate with Confidence! is the best communication book I have seen." --Ken Blanchard, coauthor of The One Minute Manager#65533; and Full Steam Ahead! "Fully 85 percent of your success in life is contained in your ability to communicate effectively with other people. Communicate with Confidence! is full of proven, practical ways to get your point across quickly and stand out in every conversation. This book should be read and re-read over and over again!" --Brian Tracy, bestselling author of How the Best Leaders Lead, Goals!, and Eat That Frog "Dianna Booher produced a tremendous resource with the first edition of this book--but I'm confident this new version will be a classic. Well-organized, practical, comprehensive advice." --Harvey Mackay, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Swim with the Sharks without Being Eaten Alive
ISBN: 9780071770132Publication Date: 2011-11-24
DK Essential Managers: Effective Communication by
DK Essential Managers: Effective Communication is the visual guide that gives you all the know-how you need to be a more effective manager. Now newly updated with an all-new graphic approach to explaining key techniques and skills, the best-selling DK Essential Managers: Effective Communication features: A practical, "how-to" approach teaches you the information and skills to succeed. Step-by-step instructions, tips, checklists, and "Ask yourself" features show you how to plan a speech, select the right visual support, and use body language. Tables, illustrations, "in-focus" panels, and real-life case studies show you what to do in particular situations. DK Essential Managers: Effective Communication not only shows you how to understand your audience and communicate strategically, but also explains how to discover which delivery approach is right for you. Learn all you need to develop confidence, listen effectively, and give and receive feedback with DK Essential Managers: Effective Communication. About DK Essential Managers: The DK Essential Managers series covers a range of business and management topics and have sold more than 1.9 million copies worldwide. Each guide is clearly presented for ease of reference, with visual pointers, tips, and graphics. The handy pocket format slips easily into a briefcase or portfolio.
ISBN: 9781465435415Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Letting Go of the Words by
Web site design and development continues to become more sophisticated. An important part of this maturity originates with well-laid-out and well-written content. Ginny Redish is a world-renowned expert on information design and how to produce clear writing in plain language for the web. All of the invaluable information that she shared in the first edition is included with numerous new examples. New information on content strategy for web sites, search engine optimization (SEO), and social media make this once again the only book you need to own to optimize your writing for the web. New material on content strategy, search engine optimization, and social media Lots of new and updated examples More emphasis on new hardware like tablets, iPads, and iPhones
ISBN: 9780123859303Publication Date: 2012-08-14
Message Not Received by
Get your message across the right way with clear communication Message Not Received provides the tools and techniques that make an effective writer and public speaker. Particularly on topics related to data and technology, effective communication can present a challenge in business settings. This book shows readers how those challenges can be overcome, and how to keep the message from getting lost in the face of mismatched levels of knowledge, various delivery media, and the library of jargon that too often serves as a substitute for real, meaningful language. Coverage includes idea crystallization, the rapidly changing business environment, Kurzweil's law of accelerating change, and our increasing inability to understand what we are saying to each other. Rich with visuals including diagrams, slides, graphs, charts, and infographics, this guide provides accessible information and actionable guidance toward more effectively conveying the message. Today, few professionals can ignore the tsunami of technology that permeates their lives, advancing far more rapidly that most of us can handle. As a result, too many people think that successful speaking means using buzzwords, jargon, and invented words that sound professional, but don't actually communicate meaning. This book provides a path through the noise, helping readers get their message across succinctly, efficiently, and effectively. Adapt your approach for more effective communication Learn the critical skill of crystallizing ideas Tailor your style to the method of delivery Ensure that your message is heard, understood, and internalized It doesn't matter whether you're pitching to a venture capitalist, explaining daily challenges to a non-tech manager, or speaking to hundreds of people - jargon-filled word salad uses a lot of words to say very little. Better communication requires a different approach, and Message Not Received gives you a roadmap to more effective speaking and writing for any audience or medium.
ISBN: 9781119017035Publication Date: 2015-03-02
Technical Communication by
Adopting a direct, functional and practical approach, this book presents an exhaustive treatment of the principles and advanced forms of technical communication, both oral and written. In addition to the language skills of listening, speaking, reading and writing, it covers the basics ofEnglish grammar. It also includes key topics such as technical reports, business correspondence, group discussions, interviews and presentation strategies.
ISBN: 9780195695748Publication Date: 2009-03-30
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283