Welcome
Managing Quality focuses on the quality function, its implementation, and cost and management in both manufacturing and service industries. The course provides students with a set of quality concepts and tools and the knowledge required for their application in quality planning, quality improvement, and quality control.
This LibGuide will highlight the library resources that address your course and project assignments.
The GSCM Electronic Resources tab to the left indicate which resources to use. The assignment tab in the center pinpoints what you are looking for from each resource. The Searching Terms are provided in the lower right corner to get you started.
Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
eBooks
Fundamentals of Total Quality Management by
The principles of Total Quality Management have proven to be invaluable to organisations in all sectors of business and commerce and to the individuals they comprise. Indeed many organisations have discovered the relationship between quality and profitability. Now, more than ever, it is important to develop a quality strategy by adopting the principles of TQM. This important text provides a solid framework for understanding the basic concepts of TQM. It comprises three interlinked modules - fundamentals of TQM, methods of TQM and process management and improvement - and provides an integrated approach to this increasingly important business strategy. Fundamentals of Total Quality Managementis vital reading for students doing MBAs, and those on MSc courses in business studies and engineering featuring TQM models, as well as practitioners in quality management and control.
ISBN: 9780748772933Publication Date: 2005-02-04
QualityISBN: 9781135843021
Toyota Kata by
"Toyota Kata gets to the essence of how Toyota manages continuous improvement and human ingenuity, through its improvement kata and coaching kata. Mike Rother explains why typical companies fail to understand the core of lean and make limited progress and what it takes to make it a real part of your culture." Jeffrey K. Liker, bestselling author of The Toyota Way " Toyota Kata is] one of the stepping stones that will usher in a new era of management thinking." The Systems Thinker "How any organization in any industry can progress from old-fashioned management by results to a strikingly different and better way." James P. Womack, Chairman and Founder, Lean Enterprise Institute "Practicing the improvement kata is perhaps the best way we've found so far for actualizing PDCA in an organization." John Shook, Chairman and CEO, Lean Enterprise Institute This game-changing book puts you behind the curtain at Toyota, providing new insight into the legendary automaker's management practices and offering practical guidance for leading and developing people in a way that makes the best use of their brainpower. Drawing on six years of research into Toyota's employee-management routines, Toyota Kata examines and elucidates, for the first time, the company's organizational routines--called kata--that power its success with continuous improvement and adaptation. The book also reaches beyond Toyota to explain issues of human behavior in organizations and provide specific answers to questions such as: How can we make improvement and adaptation part of everyday work throughout the organization? How can we develop and utilize the capability of everyone in the organization to repeatedly work toward and achieve new levels of performance? How can we give an organization the power to handle dynamic, unpredictable situations and keep satisfying customers? Mike Rother explains how to improve our prevailing management approach through the use of two kata: Improvement Kata--a repeating routine of establishing challenging target conditions, working step-by-step through obstacles, and always learning from the problems we encounter; and Coaching Kata: a pattern of teaching the improvement kata to employees at every level to ensure it motivates their ways of thinking and acting. With clear detail, an abundance of practical examples, and a cohesive explanation from start to finish, Toyota Kata gives executives and managers at any level actionable routines of thought and behavior that produce superior results and sustained competitive advantage."
ISBN: 9780071639859Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Quality Library by
In an environment of budget cuts and freezes, libraries must keep a tight rein on costs and inefficiencies. This title offers a methodology to pinpoint trouble areas and improve processes. It provides administrators an understanding of their suppliers and customers. It empowers front-line staff to make improvements and better decisions.
ISBN: 9780838909522Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Project Quality Management by
Rose, a consultant, approaches quality in the context of project management, providing the project manager with a step-by-step framework of the quality management process. The tools and techniques he presents implement the general methods defined in A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, Third Edition (PMBOK Guide). Chapter summaries,
ISBN: 9781932159486Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044