ENGL230
Professional Communication- This course enhances students’ writing and presentation skills for academic applications and professional communication in the workplace.
Workshops & Tutorials
- Workshops & TutorialsThis guide contains many types of instructional material for using the library website and various databases
Brainshark Tutorial
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
Library Resources
- Library Learning Channel This page includes videos and tutorials for your research needs as well as using specific databases.
eBooks
Harvard Business Review on Effective Communication by
Delivers the fundamental information professionals need to stay competitive in this world. This book includes topics such as how to run a successful meeting, change employees' behavior, and build useful management teams. It offers useful tips for business people.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781578511433Publication Date: 1999-08-25
The How of Wow by
"Have you ever given a speech that people remembered ten years later? Is ten days more like it, or even ten minutes? Even if you’re one of the blessed few who are cool, comfortable, and confident at the podium, that doesn’t mean that what you’re saying is registering in any meaningful way. If you want your speeches to really resonate and shine brilliantly among the countless yawn-inducing presentations heard -- and immediately forgotten -- every day, The How of WOW gives you a treasure trove of proven ideas and techniques for: * Getting attention, empathy, and respect from your audience * Developing a bigger and better stage presence * Turning 'good enough' into a more memorable and powerful experience for your audience * Asking those who invited you the tough questions that are the root of thorough preparation * Identifying and correcting common speech-killing mistakes -- and avoiding them in the future * Maximizing return on your effort by aftermarketing the speech to other audiences The How of WOW also offers dozens of practical tips and illuminating examples to help you through every stage of the speech process, ensuring your message is heard -- and, better yet, remembered long after the speech is over."
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780814472514Publication Date: 2005-04-28
The Lost Art of the Great Speech by
Splashy slides, confident body language, and a lot of eye contact are fine and well. But if a speech is rambling, illogical, or just plain boring, the impact will be lost. Now everyone can learn to give powerful, on-target speeches that capture an audience's attention and drive home a message. The key is not just in the delivery techniques, but in tapping into the power of language. Prepared by an award-winning writer, this authoritative speech-writing guide covers every essential element of a great speech, including outlining and organizing, beginning with a bang, making use of action verbs and vivid nouns, and handling questions from the audience. Plus, the book includes excerpts from some of history's most memorable speeches - eloquent words to contemplate and emulate." "
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780814470541Publication Date: 1999-10-05
Mastering Communication at Work by
Mastering Communication at Work is based on 45 years of research and working with over half-a-million clients around the world. From leaders of countries to leaders of companies to people just starting out in their career, Becker and Wortmann teach techniques that start with the essential wisdom of Aristotle and include the best practices in today's global organizations. The book includes interviews with leaders who reveal the inside story of the communication secrets at: The White House Doris Kearns Goodwin, presidential historian and Pulitzer Prize winning author Google Laszlo Bock, Vice President, People Operations EMI Publishing Big Jon Platt, President IBM Jeanatte Horan, Vice President of Enterprise Business Transformation Harvard Business School Tony Mayo, Director of the Leadership Initiative The New York Giants Peter John-Baptiste, Director of Public Relations Mastering Communication at Work provides clear, actionable advice you can put to use right away and simple drills to practice during your next meeting, one-on-one conversation--or even sitting at your desk. Use Mastering Communication at Work as your coach and you'll see immediate results in yourself, your people, and your organization.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780071625029Publication Date: 2009-08-07
The Nonverbal Advantage by
Body language in the workplace matters. Studies confirm that people form opinions of one another within the first seven seconds of meeting, and professionals with great nonverbal communication skills gain a documented advantage over their competitors. To help business readers both re-master the lost skills of in-person communication and prepare for the coming visual tech revolution, Carol Kinsey Goman shows how to accurately decode body language and how to use body language in the workplace to help build trust and credibility with customers, colleagues and clients.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781576754924Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283