- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ENGL135
- ENGL135 Resources
ENGL135
Advanced Compositon -- This course builds on the conventions and techniques of composition though critical reading requirements and longer, more sophisticated reports, including a documented library research paper.
Recommended Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.
eBooks
Improve Your Writing by
Improve Your Writing, fifth edition, presents all the elements important to turning in an excellent research paper. This book walks you through each step in the writing process, including selecting a topic, library research, developing an outline, writing from the first to the final draft, proofreading, and more. Fry provides updated and expanded information about online research, and provides a fundamental, step-by-step approach that can be applied to any kind of writing.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781401889166Publication Date: 2004-07-29
Schaum's Quick Guide to Writing Great Essays by
The Fastest, Easiest Way to Learn: Schaum's Quick Guides These concise, quick reference guides are perfect for business people, writers, and students at all levels. Written by top experts, they offer readers the easiest, most efficient strategies to master or learn a new skill. All Schaum's Quick Guides include do's and don'ts for avoiding common errors, handy checklists, and practice exercises for building skills quickly.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780070471702Publication Date: 1998-09-21
Writing Skills Pocketbook by
This title describes a 3-phase approach to planning, preparing and polishing written communications for the modern business world.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781906610456Publication Date: 2012-03-01
The Quick Fix Guide to Academic Writing by
Whether you're writing a paper, essay, assignment, or dissertation, this short and punchy book helps you improve your writing skills through minimal effort.Providing you with a quick set of writing rules to follow, this tried and tested guide uses a unique and easy to follow grid-based system. Packed with advice on understanding (big and little) common errors made in academic writing, it helps you identify patterns in your own writing and demonstrates how to reshape or re-evaluate them - and raise your writing game in any academic context. How-to tutorials include: Synthesizing and critiquing literature - and using your coding sheet to develop critical arguments; Shaping abstracts, introductions, discussions, and conclusions - to improve the logic and structure of your writing; Applying lessons-learned to future projects, whatever format of academic writing; Save time and improve your grades, with this essential quick fix guide!The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
ISBN: 9781526405883Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Academic Writing by
Ideal for overseas students studying at English-medium colleges and universities, this practical writing course enables international students to meet the required standard of writing and use an appropriate style for essays, exams and dissertations. Newly revised and updated to include extra exercises and material suggested by teachers and students, Academic Writingexplains and demonstrates all the key writing skills and is ideal for use in the classroom or for independent study. Useful at every stage of an academic career and beyond, this indispensable book features: different styles and formats from CVs and letters to formal essays a focus on accuracy coverage of all stages of writing, from understanding titles to checking your work essential academic writing skills such as proper referencing, summarising and paraphrasing diagrams and practice exercises, complete with answers.
ISBN: 9780415384193Publication Date: 2006-04-28
Video Tutorial
Library Resources
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283