Recommended Databases
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 300 full-text periodicals with current news about all branches of the military and government.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of 400 journals on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers more than two million records with more than 850 full-text journals dating back to 1908; includes more than 800 books and 16,000 conference papers.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Websites
- Policing/Justice Administration Search Engine This search engine will search all of the sites listed here simultaneously-or you may choose to select specific site(s) to explore as needed.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics Analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government
- Federal Rules of Evidence Federal Rules of Evidence compiled by the Legal Information Institute (LII) of Cornell University Law School
- Inmate Population Statistics Publications & Products: Prison and Jail Inmates at Midyear from the Bureau of Justice Statistics
- Investigative Resource An exhaustive "private Investigative Resource for Private Investigators, Detectives Law Enforcement, and Legal Professionals is located at investigators.com", along with other outside links.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Our mission: to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Contains abstracts and limited full text links to federal, state, and local government publications.
- National Institute of Corrections An agency within the US Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons. The NIC library provides access to over 18,000 corrections-related resources.
- Officer's Code of Ethics The International Association of Chiefs of Police, IACP, National Law Enforcement Policy Center policy and links provides additional specificity to the standards of conduct embodied in the law enforcement officer’s code of ethics and statement of values, or discussed in the FBI Focus on Ethics.
- Office of Juvenile Justice The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's website to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system. Developed for OJJDP by the National Center for Juvenile Justice, SBB provides timely and reliable statistical answers to the most frequently asked questions from policymakers, the media, and the general public. In addition, the data analysis and dissemination tools available through SBB give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.
- Police Executive Research Forum (PERF) PERF helps to improve the delivery of police services through the exercise of strong national leadership; public debate of police and criminal justice issues; and research and policy development.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Provides data on "characteristics of the criminal justice systems, public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice-related topics, nature and distribution of known offenses, characteristics and distribution of persons arrested, judicial processing of defendants and persons under correctional supervision
- US Bureau of Prisons Our agency was established in 1930 to provide more progressive and humane care for federal inmates, to professionalize the prison service, and to ensure consistent and centralized administration of federal prisons.
- US Courts Glossary Terminology commonly used in the US court system.
- Uniform Crime Reports Collects, publishes, and archives crime statistics.
- US Government Printing Office Key collections include the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, Public and Private Laws, the United States Code and United States Courts Opinions.
eJournals
- Police Chief Links to the current issue of the periodical, digital archives, limited searching of back issues.
- The Journal of Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law & Society (CCJLS) The Journal of Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law & Society (CCJLS) is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal that builds on the mission of its predecessor, Western Criminology Review (WCR), by promoting understanding of the causes of crime; the methods used to prevent and control crime; the institutions, principles, and actors involved in the apprehension, prosecution, punishment, and reintegration of offenders; and the legal and political framework under which the justice system and its primary actors operate.
- Applied Psychology in Criminal Justice Applied Psychology in Criminal Justice is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, academic journal that examines the intersection of applied and social psychology with criminal justice.
- Journal of Juvenile Justice The Journal of Juvenile Justice is a semi-annual, peer-reviewed journal sponsored by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP).
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Criminal Justice Theory by
Criminal Justice Theory examines the theoretical foundations of criminal justice in the modern era, whilst also considering legal philosophy and ethics, explaining criminal behaviour, and discussing policing, the court process, and penology in the context of contemporary socio-economic debates. Throughout the book a realist theoretical thread acts as a guide interlinking concepts of social progress, conflict, and cerebral models of criminal justice, whilst also recognising our collusion in the creation of an increasingly pervasive culture of socio-control which now characterises contemporary society. The complex theoretical issues tackled in this book are addressed in an accessible style, making this a relevant and comprehensive introduction to criminal justice theory for students on a wide range of undergraduate criminal justice modules. It will also be a helpful guide for those commencing postgraduate studies in the disciplines of criminal justice, criminology, and law.
Call Number: eBooks from EBSCOhostISBN: 9780415490979Publication Date: 2011-12-09
Debates in Criminal Justice by
This innovative new book recognises that, while criminal justice studies is a core component of all criminology/criminal justice undergraduate degrees, it can be a confusing, overwhelming and a relatively dry topic despite its importance. Taking an original approach, this book sets out a series of ten key dilemmas - presented as debates - designed to provide students with a clear framework within which to develop their knowledge and analysis in a way that is both effective and an enjoyable learning experience. It is also designed for use by lecturers, who can structure a core unit of their courses around it. Debates in Criminal Justice provides a new and dynamic framework for learning, making considerable use of the other already available academic key texts, press articles, web sources and more.
Call Number: eBooks from EBSCOhostISBN: 9781136640957Publication Date: 2011-11-17
Leadership Resilience by
Leadership is demanding and challenging. How do leaders cope? How do they remain fit and strong, and thrive? The authors of Leadership Resilience, a business school academic and a police officer, suggest that many challenges faced by leaders are similar to the challenges experienced by police officers. The isolation; the pressure not to show personal emotions; the expectation that they will deal effectively with confused, frustrated and angry people; and that they can deal with delivering bad news; all contribute to the pressures bearing on leaders and police officers everywhere. The authors argue that these challenges are more pronounced in policing and so more readily identifiable than in other leadership situations. They explore challenges experienced by police officers, look at how they cope with them, and draw lessons for those undertaking leadership roles more generally. Leadership Resilience provides accounts from police officers, in their own words, of difficult experiences they encounter. They describe their feelings about what was important and how they coped with it. Each account is followed by an analysis highlighting what is discussed, and not discussed, in the accounts and identifying lessons that can be drawn by leaders in other situations. All is presented so that it is relevant to different cultures demanding different styles of leadership. Analysis of the engaging experiences featured will help leaders struggling with the gap between leadership education and capability and the demands made of them to survive and thrive, while maintaining their physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual health.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781409440680Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Policing in America by
This book maps the development of modern policing—both theory and practice—from humans' first efforts at social control, through the British roots of modern policing, to the unique institution of American policing today. * A glossary of standard policing terms, such as "blue curtain," "police subculture," "stakeout," and "forensics," allows the reader to better acquaint themselves with the law enforcement world * A detailed list of associations and organizations in the field points readers to sources of further information
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781598840438Publication Date: 2007-08-28
Policing the Internet by
This title examines government efforts to police the Internet and the ongoing debate between supporters of free speech and those who think that free speech on the Internet has gone too far. Each book in this series offers all of the statutes, legal opinions, and studies needed to structure a cohesive argument on a given topic. Ages 14+.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780791080887Publication Date: 2004-08-01
Predictive Policing by
Predictive policing is the use of analytical techniques to identify targets for police intervention with the goal of preventing crime, solving past crimes, or identifying potential offenders and victims. These tools are not a substitute for integrated approaches to policing, nor are they a crystal ball. This guide assesses some of the most promising technical tools and tactical approaches for acting on predictions in an effective way.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780833081483Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283