Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAccess to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
ABI/INFORM GlobalThis link opens in a new windowCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
IEEE XploreThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library
Implementation of Robot Systems by Mike WilsonBased on the author's wide-ranging experience as a robot user, supplier and consultant, Implementation of Robot Systems will enable you to approach the use of robots in your plant or facility armed with the right knowledge base and awareness of critical factors to take into account. This book starts with the basics of typical applications and robot capabilities before covering all stages of successful robot integration. Potential problems and pitfalls are flagged and worked through so that you can learn from others' mistakes and plan proactively with possible issues in mind. Taking in content from the author's graduate level teaching of automation and robotics for engineering in business and his consultancy as part of a UK Government program to help companies advance their technologies and practices in the area, Implementation of Robot Systems blends technical information with critical financial and business considerations to help you stay ahead of the competition. Includes case studies of typical robot capabilities and use across a range of industries, with real-world installation examples and problems encountered Provides step-by-step coverage of the various stages required to achieve successful implementation, including system design, financial justification, working with suppliers and project management Offers no-nonsense advice on the pitfalls and issues to anticipate, along with guidance on how to avoid or resolve them for cost and time-effective solutions
Call Number: Books 24x7
Publication Date: 2014-11-17
Introduction to Mobile Robot Control by Spyros G. TzafestasIntroduction to Mobile Robot Control provides a complete and concise study of modeling, control, and navigation methods for wheeled non-holonomic and omnidirectional mobile robots and manipulators. The book begins with a study of mobile robot drives and corresponding kinematic and dynamic models, and discusses the sensors used in mobile robotics. It then examines a variety of model-based, model-free, and vision-based controllers with unified proof of their stabilization and tracking performance, also addressing the problems of path, motion, and task planning, along with localization and mapping topics. The book provides a host of experimental results, a conceptual overview of systemic and software mobile robot control architectures, and a tour of the use of wheeled mobile robots and manipulators in industry and society. Introduction to Mobile Robot Control is an essential reference, and is also a textbook suitable as a supplement for many university robotics courses. It is accessible to all and can be used as a reference for professionals and researchers in the mobile robotics field. Clearly and authoritatively presents mobile robot concepts Richly illustrated throughout with figures and examples Key concepts demonstrated with a host of experimental and simulation examples No prior knowledge of the subject is required; each chapter commences with an introduction and background
Call Number: Books 24x7
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Just Ordinary Robots by Lambèr Royakkers; Rinie van EstA social robot is a robot that interacts and communicates with humans or other autonomous physical agents by following social behaviors and rules attached to its role. We seem to accept the use of robots that perform dull, dirty, and dangerous jobs. But how far do we want to go with the automation of care for children and the elderly, or the killing of terrorists? Would we be setting humanity aside if we accepted such automation? Just Ordinary Robots: Automation from Love to War provides a socially involved, yet sober, view into the new age of robots. It supplies a cutting-edge look at robot technologies, including what these technologies are capable of and the ethical and regulatory questions they raise. The book surveys the various types of social robots and examines their social significance in homes, health care, traffic, the police, and the military. Considering the technical characteristics and societal expectations of robots in these areas, it explores what is possible right now in terms of robot technologies. It also looks into the social, ethical, and regulatory issues future robot technologies will create. The text provides authoritative insights into the social significance of robots for the medium and long term. Illustrating the political, administrative, and regulatory consequences related to each area, it highlights key points that need to be publicly discussed or put on the agenda by today's politicians and policy makers.
Call Number: Books 24x7
Publication Date: 2015-09-10
Robot Behaviour by Ulrich NehmzowRobots have evolved impressively since the 3-D manipulator built by C.W. K- ward (1957), the two little electromechanical turtles Elmer and Elsie [Walter, 1950, Walter, 1951], and the ?rst mobile robots controlled by comp- ers, Shakey [Nilsson, 1984], CART [Moravec, 1979, Moravec, 1983], and - lare [Giralt et al., 1979]. Since then, we have seen industrial robot manipu- tors working in car factories, automatic guided vehicles moving heavy loads along pre-de?ned routes, human-remotely-operated robots neutralising bombs, and even semi-autonomous robots, like Sojourner, going to Mars and moving from one position to another commanded from Earth. Robots will go further and further in our society. However, there is still a kind of robot that has not completely taken off so far: autonomous robots. Autonomy depends upon working without human supervision for a considerable amount of time, taking independent decisions, adapting to new challenges in dynamic environments, interacting with other systems and humans, and so on. Research on autonomy is highly motivated by the expectations of having robots that can work with us and for us in everyday environments, assisting us at home or work, acting as servants and companions to help us in the execution of different tasks, so that we can have more spare time and a better quality of life.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHost
Publication Date: 2008-11-28
Robot Programmer's Bonanza by John Blankenship; Samuel MishalThe first hands-on programming guide for today's robot hobbyist Get ready to reach into your programming toolbox and control a robot like never before! Robot Programmer's Bonanza is the one-stop guide for everyone from robot novices to advanced hobbyists who are ready to go beyond just building robots and start programming them to perform useful tasks. Using the versatile RobotBASIC programming language, you'll discover how to prototype your creative ideas using the integrated mobile robot simulator and then port your finished programs to nearly any hardware/software configuration. You can even use the built-in wireless protocol to directly control real-world robots that can be built from readily available sensors and actuators. Start small by making your robot follow a line, hug a wall, and avoid drop-offs or restricted areas. Then, enable your robot to perform more sophisticated actions, such as locating a goal, sweeping the floor, or navigating a home or office. Packed with illustrations and plenty of inspiration, the unique Robot Programmer's Bonanza even helps you "teach" your robot to become intelligent and adapt to its behavior! Everything you need to program and control a robot! In-depth coverage of the RobotBASIC simulator as well as how it can be used to control real-world robots either directly or through the integrated wireless protocol A companion website with a FREE download of the full version of the RobotBASIC robotic simulator and control language Remote control algorithms as well as autonomous behaviors Integrated debugger facilitates program development Appendices that detail RobotBASIC's extensive commands and functions as well as the integrated programming environment Adaptable and customizable programs that solve realistic problems-use simulations to prototype robots that can mow a yard, deliver mail, or recharge a battery, then port your algorithms to real-world robots Chapters devoted to creating contests with RobotBASIC and utilizing RobotBASIC in the classroom to teach programming
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCO
Publication Date: 2008-06-02
Organizations and Associations
•Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)"Founded in 1979, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) (formerly the American Association for Artificial Intelligence) is a nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines."
•Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI)With more than 6,000 individual members representing more than 2,200 companies from 55 countries, the Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International is the world's largest non-profit organization devoted exclusively to advancing the unmanned systems community.
•IEEE Robotics and Automation Society"The Society strives to advance innovation, education, and fundamental and applied research in Robotics and Automation. Robotics focuses on systems incorporating sensors and actuators that operate autonomously or semi-autonomously in cooperation with humans. Robotics research emphasizes intelligence and adaptability to cope with unstructured environments
NASA Robotics Alliance Project"To create a human, technical, and programmatic resource of robotics capabilities to enable the implementation of future robotic space exploration missions."
SAE InternationalSAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number