Terms to Search
application software, business enterprises, CSS, electronic commerce, electronic publishing, graphic design, HTML, human-computer interaction, information architecture, information resources, information resources management, information retrieval, information science, information services, information storage & retrieval, interactive media, interactive multimedia, internet, internet advertising, internet industry, internet marketing, internet programming, internet searching, interactive multimedia, online information services, search engines, user interfaces, web design, web designers, web development, web development industry, web portals, web search engines, website design, web designers, web site advertising, website development, website management, website usability, websites, world wide web
Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window
Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.
- Percipio This link opens in a new windowPercipio delivers engaging content curated into nearly 700 learning channels. Choose from courses, videos, audiobooks, and learning paths on a variety of IT, engineering, and science topics, including certification prep
Online Open Access Journals
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals
- Advances in Multimedia Advances in Multimedia is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of multimedia.
- International Journal of Multimedia & Its Applications The International journal of Multimedia & Its Applications (IJMA) is a bi monthly open access peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles which contribute new results in all areas of the Multimedia & its applications. The journal focuses on all technical and practical aspects of Multimedia and its applications. The goal of this journal is to bring together researchers and practitioners from academia and industry to focus on understanding recent developments this arena, and establishing new collaborations in these areas.
Websites
- Graphic Design & Publishing Center The Design & Publishing Center is all about the exchange of information, news, reviews, and all things revolving around the broad topics of design and publishing. Here you will find all kinds of resources relating to graphics, layout, design and typography.
- HTML Help from the Web Design Group The Web Design Group was founded to promote the creation of non-browser specific, non-resolution specific, creative and informative sites that are accessible to all users worldwide. To this end, the WDG offers material on a wide range of HTML related topics.
- Usability.gov Usability.gov is a one-stop source for government web designers to learn how to make websites more usable, useful, and accessible. The site addresses a broad range of factors that go into web design and development.
- Web Design Principles Checklist This list is a part of a series of "how-to" guides put together by Virginia Montecino, a retired professor from George Mason University. It includes a comprehensive checklist of principles to consider when creating web sites
- Web Pages That Suck Created by Vincent Flanders, this site showcases examples of "bad" web design. Flanders is the author of Web pages that suck: Learn good design by looking at bad Design and Son of web pages that suck.
- WebReference.com One of the oldest (created in 1995) and most respected Web development sites, WebReference.com is all about the Web and Web mastery. From browsing to authoring, HTML to advanced site design, we'll keep you informed.
eBooks
Design for Developers by
Solve common application design and usability issues with flair! Design for Developers introduces the essential design and UX techniques to help you create good user experiences, iterate smoothly on front-end features, and collaborate effectively with designer colleagues. Author Stephanie Stimac shares the unique insights she's learned as a designer for the Microsoft Developer Experiences team. This one-of-a-kind book provides a developer-centric approach to the essential design fundamentals of modern web applications. Key features include: Use colour, typography, and layout to create a hierarchy on a web page Apply colour palettes consistently in a user interface Choose the correct typefaces and fonts Conduct user research to validate design decisions Quickly plan a website's layout and structure Ideal for web developers familiar with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript basics, you will learn how to craft a polished visual design with just colour, space, and typeface and put all your new skills into practice to design a website from scratch. About the technology Having good design sense will make you a better web developer. This practical guide teaches you essential design and UX principles so you can speak the language of design and make more informed decisions about how you build your apps. You will also get up to speed with the design workflow and learn how to integrate the design process effectively into the development lifecycle.
ISBN: 9781617299476Publication Date: 2023-09-05
How to Be a Web Developer by
This complete beginner's guide is for anyone interested in becoming a web developer. Aimed at those without any previous experience, this book provides an overview of the key principles of modern web development. You'll gain insight into the key facets of JavaScript, HTML and CSS, as well as the difference between front-end, back-end, and full stack development. You'll also be introduced to popular tools and frameworks such as React, Angular, GraphQL, and Node.js, and gain an understanding of the role of a web developer: what it entails, how to secure your first role, and how to survive your first week in the job. Moreover, How to be a Web Developer will take you through the steps of building your first web application, allowing you to apply the principles you've learned in a practical way. Filled with additional information and resources, this book will give you the knowledge and tools needed to start your journey to becoming a professional web developer. What You Will Learn Master the principles of JavaScript, HTML, CSS, and UX Design Utilize tools and frameworks like React, Angular and GraphQL Understand what it means to be a web developer and what it entails Develop key soft skills such as teamwork and project management Gain practical knowledge that will help you get started as a web developer Who This Book Is For Complete beginners without any previous knowledge or experience who are interested in web development.
ISBN: 9781484296622Publication Date: 2023-09-09
HTML5 and CSS3 Masterclass: In-depth Web Design Training with Geolocation, the HTML5 Canvas, 2D and 3D CSS Transformations, Flexbox, CSS Grid, and More by
If you want to become an expert web developer, this is an appropriate professional book for you to learn how to create professional, beautiful, and responsive websites.
ISBN: 9789355511218Publication Date: 2022
Website Design and Development with HTML5 and CSS3 by
Combining theory and practice, Website Design and Development with HTML5 and CSS3 is aimed at both beginners who want to design their first website, and experienced developers who want to consolidate their technical skills. This book addresses the theoretical aspects of HTML5 and CSS3, including: HTML elements, semantic containers, semantic text formatting, multimedia elements, forms, tables, definition and integration of CSS styles, text formatting, and container and box styles. It also encompasses a practical section which presents the process of creating a website, as well as the key rules to apply in order to not only achieve project success, but also to meet user needs. Illustrated by numerous examples, this book includes corrected practical work, structured according to an evolutionary logic ranging from the design of a simple HTML5 page to the creation of a professional website.
ISBN: 9781786306968Publication Date: 2022-01-26
Web Style Guide, 4th Edition by
A classic reference book on user interface design and graphic design for web sites, updated to reflect a rapidly changing market Consistently praised as the best volume on classic elements of web site design, Web Style Guide has sold many thousands of copies and has been published around the world. This new revised edition confirms Web Style Guide as the go-to authority in a rapidly changing market. As web designers move from building sites from scratch to using content management and aggregation tools, the book's focus shifts away from code samples and toward best practices, especially those involving mobile experience, social media, and accessibility. An ideal reference for web site designers in corporations, government, nonprofit organizations, and academic institutions, the book explains established design principles and covers all aspects of web design--from planning to production to maintenance. The guide also shows how these principles apply in web design projects whose primary concerns are information design, interface design, and efficient search and navigation.
ISBN: 9780300211658Publication Date: 2016-08-23
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044