These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Confident UX by
Discover the fundamental skills, insights and technical knowledge behind UX design and development. The UX (user experience) industry is growing by 39% every year. This is an exciting sector which demands a combination of technical expertise and creative flair. UX is also a vital ingredient for business success in a wide range of industries: every company that has a website, app or platform also has a UX team working behind the scenes. From research and information architecture to front-end design and usability testing, this is your essential guide to the benefits and intricacies of UX. Adrian Bilan draws upon his years of experience as a high-profile UX designer and mentor as he clarifies how you can adopt a UX mindset and uncover the skills that will lead to success. Build your confidence and discover your full potential through Confident UX. About the Confident series... From coding and data science to cloud and cyber security, the Confident books are perfect for building your technical knowledge and enhancing your professional career.
PHP 8 Solutions by
Make your websites more dynamic by adding a feedback form, creating a private area where members can upload images that are automatically resized, or storing all your content in a database. David Powers has updated his definitive book to incorporate the latest techniques and changes to PHP with the arrival of PHP 8. New features include named attributes, constructor property promotion, the stricter and more concise match expression, union types, and more.​ The problem is, you're not a programmer and the thought of writing code sends a chill up your spine. Or maybe you've dabbled a bit in PHP and MySQL, but you can't get past baby steps. If this describes you, then you've just found the right book. PHP powers four out of every five websites that use a server-side language. In combination with the MySQL database it's ideal for creating dynamic websites. PHP and MySQL are free, easy to use, and provided by many web hosting companies in their standard packages. This book also covers MariaDB, a seamless replacement for MySQL that has been adopted on many web servers. Unfortunately, most PHP books either expect you to be an expert already or force you to go through endless exercises of little practical value. In contrast, this book gives you real value right away through a series of practical examples that you can incorporate directly into your sites, optimizing performance and adding functionality such as file uploading, email feedback forms, image galleries, content management systems, and much more. Each solution is created with not only functionality in mind, but also visual design. But this book doesn't just provide a collection of ready-made scripts: each PHP solution builds on what's gone before, teaching you the basics of PHP and database design quickly and painlessly. You'll learn how to optimize your code using object-oriented programming (OOP) techniques. By the end of the book, you'll have the confidence to start writing your own scripts or--if you prefer to leave that task to others--to adapt existing scripts to your own requirements. Right from the start, you're shown how easy it is to protect your sites by adopting secure coding practices. What You Will Learn Design and build dynamic PHP-based web sites and applications Get started right away through practical examples that you can reuse Incorporate PHP 8 elements including named attributes, constructor property promotion, and union types Understand the subtle, but important differences between switch and match Work with the latest PHP 8 techniques, innovations, and best practices Who This Book Is For Readers should ideally have some prior exposure to web development using PHP.
Inclusive Design for a Digital World by
What is inclusive design? It is simple. It means that your product has been created with the intention of being accessible to as many different users as possible. For a long time, the concept of accessibility has been limited in terms of only defining physical spaces. However, change is afoot: personal technology now plays a part in the everyday lives of most of us, and thus it is a responsibility for designers of apps, web pages, and more public-facing tech products to make them accessible to all. Our digital era brings progressive ideas and paradigm shifts - but they are only truly progressive if everybody can participate. In Inclusive Design for a Digital World, multiple crucial aspects of technological accessibility are confronted, followed by step-by-step solutions from User Experience Design professor and author Regine Gilbert. Think about every potential user who could be using your product. Could they be visually impaired? Have limited motor skills? Be deaf or hard of hearing? This book addresses a plethora of web accessibility issues that people with disabilities face. Your app might be blocking out an entire sector of the population without you ever intending or realizing it. For example, is your instructional text full of animated words and Emoji icons? This makes it difficult for a user with vision impairment to use an assistive reading device, such as a speech synthesizer, along with your app correctly. In Inclusive Design for a Digital World, Gilbert covers the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1 requirements, emerging technologies such as VR and AR, best practices for web development, and more. As a creator in the modern digital era, your aim should be to make products that are inclusive of all people. Technology has, overall, increased connection and information equality around the world. To continue its impact, access and usability of such technology must be made a priority, and there is no better place to get started than Inclusive Design for a Digital World. What You'll Learn The moral, ethical, and high level legal reasons for accessible design Tools and best practices for user research and web developers The different types of designs for disabilities on various platforms Familiarize yourself with web compliance guidelines Test products and usability best practices Understand past innovations and future opportunities for continued improvement Who This Book Is For Practitioners of product design, product development, content, and design can benefit from this book.
Hello Web Design by
This book democratizes web development for everyone. It's a fun, clever guide that covers all of the key design principles, best practices, useful shortcuts, pro tips, real-world examples, and basic coding tutorials needed to produce a beautiful website that you'll feel confident sharing with the world. Because you, too, can design for the web! Hello Web Design contains everything you need to feel comfortable doing your own web development, including an abundance of real-life website examples that will inspire and motivate you. No need to spend time and money hiring an expensive graphic designer; this book will walk you through the fundamentals - and shortcuts - you need to do it all yourself, right now.
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283