Definition
Human Resource Management (HRM) refers to the "policies, plans and procedures for the effective management of employees (‘human resources’). Specific areas of interest include: employee recruitment and selection; staff training and development; employee reward, appraisal and evaluation processes; and internal communications".
Human resource management. (2003). In G. Bannock (Ed.), The new Penguin business dictionary. London, UK: Penguin. Retrieved from http://proxy.devry.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/penguinbus/human_resource_management/0?institutionId=2985
Keywords
affirmative action, career development, compensation, employees, human capital, job analysis, morale, occupations, personnel departments, personnel management, professional development, supervision of employees, work environment
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Handbook of Human Resource Development by
Human Resource Development Relies Upon a Strong Educational Foundation In the Handbook of Human Resource Development, Neal Chalofsky, Tonette Rocco, and Michael Lane Morris have compiled a collection of chapters sponsored by the Academy of Human Resource Development to address the fundamental concepts and issues that HR professionals face daily. The chapters are written and supported by professionals who offer a wide range of experience and who represent the industry from varying international and demographic perspectives. Topics addressed form a comprehensive view of the HRD field and answer a number of key questions. Nationally and internationally, how does HRD stand with regard to academic study and research? What is its place in the professional world? What are the philosophies, values, and critical perspectives driving HRD forward? What theories, research initiatives, and other ideas are required to understand HRD and function successfully within this field? As the industry grows, what are the challenges and important issues that professionals expect to face? What hot topics are occupying these professionals now? The Handbook's insight and guidelines allows students and HR professionals to build a fundamental understanding of HRD as an industry, as a field of research, and for future professional success.
ISBN: 9781118454022Publication Date: 2014-11-10
Human Resource Management by
This volume of the series Research in Human Resource Management (HRM) focuses on a number of important issues in HRM and OB including performance appraisal, political skill, gratitude, psychological contracts, the philosophical underpinnings of HRM, pay and compensation messages, and electronic human resource management.
ISBN: 9781681236940Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Human Resources Kit for Dummies by
Align HR practices with your objectives and keep your company competitive A company's ability to grow and stay on top of customer demand has always depended heavily on the quality of its people. Now, more than ever, businesses recognize that finding (and keeping) a highly skilled and motivated workforce is pivotal to success. Maybe you're a business owner and your company is growing, or you're an employee at a small- to midsize-company and management has asked you to take on some'or all'of their HR functions. Either way, knowing how to set up and implement successful HR practices (not to mention navigating the legal minefields in today's increasingly regulated environment) can be tricky. Human Resources Kit For Dummies is your one-stop resource for learning the nuts and bolts of HR. It gives you forms and templates that you can put to immediate and productive use. New information on anti-discrimination legislation; measuring performance; hiring, firing, and retaining employees; and training and development plans The latest info on online and social media policies Updated forms and contracts, from job application forms and sample employee policies to performance appraisals and benefit plan worksheets If you're currently working in Human Resources or are responsible for employees in your business, the tools presented here help you maximize the effectiveness of your own HR program.
ISBN: 9781118422892Publication Date: 2012-11-28
Maximum Performance by
Based on twelve years involvement with more two thousand MBAs, managers and professionals, Maximum Performance is a comprehensive analysis of leading and managing people set against a backdrop of accelerating organizational, business and technological change. It covers traditional topics - such as personal performance and stress management, employee motivation and performance, power and politics, communication skills and leading and managing change, as well as more contemporary issues, such as business ethics in a global economy and leadership in high-tech and virtual organizations. It also looks at how leaders and managers can create cultures to promote essential modern organizational competencies such as creativity and innovation, the effective dissemination and use of knowledge and intellectual capital, and creating systemic intelligent learning capabilities amongst employees. Maximum Performance represents a distillation of the best practical ideas about leadership and people management of recent times, condensed into a form that busy managers and professionals can assimilate and make immediate use of at work in large, medium-sized or small organizations, and in the public or private sector.
ISBN: 9781845420000Publication Date: 2005-01-27
A Guide to the Human Resource Body of Knowledge (HRBoK) by
An essential reference for HR professionals A Guide to the HR Body of Knowledge (HRBoKTM) from HR Certification Institute (HRCI®) is an essential reference book for HR professionals and a must-have guide for those who wish to further their expertise and career in the HR field. This book will help HR professionals align their organizations with essential practices while also covering the Core Knowledge Requirements for all exams administered by HRCI. Filled with authoritative insights into the six areas of HR functional expertise: Business Management and Strategy; Workforce Planning and Employment; Human Resource Development; Compensation and Benefits; Employee and Labor Relations; and Risk Management, this volume also covers information on exam eligibility, and prep tips. Contributions from dozens of HR subject matter experts cover the skills, knowledge, and methods that define the profession's best practices. Whether used as a desk reference, or as a self-assessment, this book allows you to: Assess your skill set and your organization's practices against the HRCI standard Get the latest information on strategies HR professionals can use to help their organizations and their profession Gain insight into the body of knowledge that forms the basis for all HRCI certification exams As the HR field becomes more diverse and complex, HR professionals need an informational "home base" for periodic check-ins and authoritative reference. As a certifying body for over four decades, HRCI has drawn upon its collective expertise to codify a standard body of knowledge for the field. The HRBoK is the definitive resource that will be your go-to HR reference for years to come.
ISBN: 9781119374886Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Organizational Behavior by
Our goal with this 13th Edition is to keep this first mainline organizational behavior text up-todate with the latest and relevant theory building, basic and applied research, and the best-practice applications. We give special recognition of this scientific foundation by our subtitle¬--An Evidence-Based Approach. As emphasized in the introductory chapter, the time has come to help narrow the theory/research-effective application/practice gap. This has been the mission from the beginning of this text. As "hard evidence" for this theory/research based text, we can say unequivocally that no other organizational behavior text has close to the number of footnote references. For example, whereas a few texts may have up to 40 or even 50 references for a few chapters, all the chapters of this text average more than twice that amount. This edition continues the tradition by incorporating recent breakthrough research to provide and add to the evidence on the theories and techniques presented throughout. Two distinguishing features that no other organizational behavior textbook can claim are the following: 1) We are committed at this stage of development of the field of OB to a comprehensive theoretical framework to structure our text. Instead of the typical potpourri of chapters and topics, there is now the opportunity to have a sound conceptual framework to present our now credible (evidence-based) body of knowledge. We use the widely recognized, very comprehensive social cognitive theory to structure this text. We present the background and theory building of this framework in the introductory chapter and also provide a specific model (Figure 1.5) that fits in all 14 chapters. Importantly, the logic of this conceptual framework requires two chapters not found in other texts and the rearrangement and combination of several others. For example, in the opening organizational context part there is Chapter 4, "Reward Systems," and in the cognitive processes second part, Chapter 7, "Positive Organizational Behavior and Psychological Capital," that no other text contains. 2) The second unique feature reflects our continuing basic research program over the years. Chapter 7 contains our most recent work on what we have termed "Positive Organizational Behavior" and "Psychological Capital" (or PsyCap). The three of us introduced the term "Psychological Capital" in our joint article in 2004]. To meet the inclusion criteria (positive; theory and research based; valid measurement; open to development; and manage for performance improvement), for the first time the topics of optimism, hope, happiness/subjective well-being, resiliency, emotional intelligence, selfefficacy, and our overall core construct of psychological capital have been given chapter status. Just as real-world management can no longer afford to evolve slowly, neither can the academic side of the field. With the uncertain, very turbulent environment most organizations face today, drastically new ideas, approaches, and techniques are needed both in the practice of management and in the way we study and apply the field of organizational behavior. This text mirrors these needed changes. Social Cognitive Conceptual Framework. The book contains 14 chapters in four major parts. Social cognitive theory explains organizational behavior in terms of both environmental, contextual events and internal cognitive factors, as well as the dynamics and outcomes of the organizational behavior itself. Thus, Part One provides the evidence-based and organizational context for the study and application of organizational behavior.
ISBN: 9781681231198Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Predictive Analytics for Human Resources by
Create and run a human resource analytics project with confidence For any human resource professional that wants to harness the power of analytics, this essential resource answers the questions: "Where do I start?" and "What tools are available?" Predictive Analytics for Human Resources is designed to answer these and other vital questions. The book explains the basics of every business?the vision, the brand, and the culture, and shows how predictive analytics supports them. The authors put the focus on the fundamentals of predictability and include a framework of logical questions to help set up an analytic program or project, then follow up by offering a clear explanation of statistical applications. Predictive Analytics for Human Resources is a how-to guide filled with practical and targeted advice. The book starts with the basic idea of engaging in predictive analytics and walks through case simulations showing statistical examples. In addition, this important resource addresses the topics of internal coaching, mentoring, and sponsoring and includes information on how to recruit a sponsor. In the book, you'll find: A comprehensive guide to developing and implementing a human resource analytics project Illustrative examples that show how to go to market, develop a leadership model, and link it to financial targets through causal modeling Explanations of the ten steps required in building an analytics function How to add value through analysis of systems such as staffing, training, and retention For anyone who wants to launch an analytics project or program for HR, this complete guide provides the information and instruction to get started the right way.
ISBN: 9781118893678Publication Date: 2014-07-28
HR Journals and Periodicals
- Academy of Management JournalAccess to the Academy of Management Journal from 1959 to present.
- Academy of Management ReviewAccess to the Academy Management Review from 1976 to present.
- HR Magazine (SHRM)Access to HR Magazine published by the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) from 1994 to present.
- Human Resource Development QuarterlyAccess to Human Resource Development Quarterly from 1990 to present. Embargo on past 12 month full text.
- Human Resource ManagementAccess to Human Resource Management from 1961 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Human Resource Management ReviewAccess to Human Resource Management Review from 1997 to present.
- Human Resource PlanningAccess to Human Resource Planning from1983 to present.
- Journal of Human ResourcesAccess to the Journal of Human Resources from 1985 to present.
- Personnel PsychologyAccess to Personnel Psychology from 1985 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Workforce ManagementAccess to Workforce Management from 1994 to present.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Recommended Websites
- All About Human Resources and Talent Management From the Free Management Library (https://managementhelp.org/), "provides free, easy-to-access, online articles to develop yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations"
- Association of Executive Search and Leadership Consultants "AESC is the professional association for consultants who represent exemplary standards in executive search and leadership advisory worldwide."
- CEOExpress CEOExpress is a directory of business web resources covering news, magazines, research, and surveys in all aspects of business.
- Employment Law Guide "This Guide describes the major statutes and regulations administered by the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) that affect businesses and workers. The Guide is designed mainly for those needing "hands-on" information to develop wage, benefit, safety and health, and nondiscrimination policies for businesses."
- Federal Reserve Economic Data This internet site provides access to economic data collected and used by the Federal Reserve System.
- International Public Management Association for Human Resources "IPMA-HR is the leading public sector human resource organization in the world. We represent the interests of human resource professionals at all levels and strive to promote excellence in HR management"
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA's mission is "to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance."
- Society for Human Resource Management The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) addresses the interests and needs of HR professionals through advocacy, publications, research, and other resource materials.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Covers all aspects of employment and economics in the United States of America including inflation, pay, benefits, unemployment, and prices.
- U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission "The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, gender identity, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability, or genetic information."
Recommended eJournals
- Human Resources Management Commons Scholarly articles on training and development, performance management, and benefits and compensation made available by the Digital Commons. "The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
- International Journal of Business Science & Applied Management "The mission of the International Journal of Business Science and Applied Management is to enhance the dissemination of knowledge across the business and management community. The key disciplines are e-business, general management, international business, strategy, marketing, supply chain management, organization studies, entrepreneurship, enterprise, innovation, and human resource management."
- Journal for Labour Market Research "With its empirical and multidisciplinary orientation, the journal publishes papers in English language concerning the labour market, employment, education / training and careers."
- Journal of Human Resource Management "The JHRM aims at creating an open forum for scientific discourse focused on human resource management, inviting theoretical as well as empirical research papers. Special attention is paid to studies focused on human resource management practices in Central and Eastern European countries."
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283