- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HRM330
- HRM330 Library Resources
HRM330
Labor Relations- This course provides a perspective on the evolution of the interaction between management and labor in a corporate environment including the American labor movement, federal and state labor laws, and collective bargaining.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Battling for American Labor by
In this incisive reinterpretation of the history of the American labor movement, Howard Kimeldorf challenges received thinking about rank-and-file workers and the character of their unions. Battling for American Labor answers the baffling question of how, while mounting some of the most aggressive challenges to employing classes anywhere in the world, organized labor in the United States has warmly embraced the capitalist system of which they are a part. Rejecting conventional understandings of American unionism, Kimeldorf argues that what has long been the hallmark of organized labor in the United States--its distinctive reliance on worker self-organization and direct economic action--can be seen as a particular kind of syndicalism. Kimeldorf brings this syndicalism to life through two rich and compelling case studies of unionization efforts by Philadelphia longshoremen and New York City culinary workers during the opening decades of the twentieth century. He shows how these workers, initially affiliated with the radical IWW and later the conservative AFL, pursued a common logic of collective action at the point of production that largely dictated their choice of unions. Elegantly written and deeply engaging, Battling for American Labor offers insights not only into how the American labor movement got to where it is today, but how it might possibly reinvent itself in the years ahead.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780520218338Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Collective Bargaining in the Public Sector by
To learn more about Rowman & Littlefield titles please visit us at www.rowmanlittlefield.com.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780669215175Publication Date: 1998-06-03
Global Public Relations by
This text provides a structured and practical framework for understanding the complexities of contemporary public relations. It is an instructional book that guides the reader through the challenges of communication and problem solving across a range of organizations and cross-cultural settings. Written in a straightforward, lively style, the book covers: foundational theories, and factors that shape the discipline communication across cultures trends affecting the public relations profession throughout the world. Incorporating case studies and commentary to illustrate key principles and stimulate discussion, this book also highlights the different approaches professionals must consider in different contexts, from communicating with employees to liaising with external bodies, such as government agencies or the media. Offering a truly global perspective on the subject, Global Public Relations is essential reading for any student or practitioner interested in public relations excellence in a global setting. A companion website provides additional material for lecturers and students alike: www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415448154/
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780415448147Publication Date: 2009-02-04
International Labor and Employment Law by
Of the host of legal issues facing global businesses, perhaps none is more significant than the issues regarding the individual employees who keep the business running on a daily basis. International Labor & Employment Law is a comprehensive book to help businesses understand the laws that govern labor & employment around the world and to create a successful workforce transcending traditional barriers. Authored by attorneys representing twenty-five jurisdictions on six continents, this book walks through the broad legal basics of each country's court system as well as the specific laws relating to hiring and firing, unions, employee benefits, and other important aspects of labor and human resources. The chapters in this book take readers beyond the laws that exist on paper and provide practical information on the current legal environment, relevant case law, and standard business practices. Whether the business requires sending employees overseas, acquiring an already-staffed company, or building a new workforce, International Labor & Employment Law will prove to be an indispensable resource for both executives and attorneys, leaving readers with a solid grasp on the fundamentals of labor law around the world.Countries Covered Include:AustraliaBrazilCanadaDenmarkEstoniaFranceGermanyGuatemalaHungaryIndiaItalyLatviaMexicoNetherlandsNew ZealandPeruPortugalRussiaSingapore SpainSwedenTurkeyUkraineUnited KingdomUnited States
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781587623790Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Labor Regulation in a Global Economy by
This work categorizes and comprehensively analyzes all of the practical aspects of international labour regulation for researchers and students of human resource management (HRM). It offers realistic policy guidelines for non-academic HRM practitioners, non governmental organizations (NGOs), trade unions and governments. The book focuses primarily upon the issues, organizations and individuals in the US that influence labour regulation - NAFTA, the US GSP programme, trade unions, activists and "grass roots" movements. Major attention is also given to corresponding European Union and International Labour Organisation issues, organizations and individuals.
Call Number: eBooks from EBSCOHostISBN: 9780765605573Publication Date: 2000-08-31
Unions in Crisis? by
Unionism in the United States was quite successful during and after World War II, especially during the golden years of American capitalism (1947-73) as workers' wages increased quite dramatically in a number of industries. For example, average hourly earnings for workers in meatpacking rose 114% between 1950 and 1965, those in steel 102%, in rubber tires by 96%, and in manufacturing 81%. At the same time as union members' wages were increasing, union membership was declining. Yet, the American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) argued that organizing new members was not a priority. By concentrating on the existing membership and bread-and-butter issues, and not organizing new members, unionism could not deal with the attack on the social contract by employers and the government beginning in the United States in the late 1970s. However, while many people are claiming that organized labor is a dinosaur, Schiavone argues that a strong union movement is needed now more than ever. Unionism in the United States was quite successful during and after World War II, especially during the golden years of American capitalism (1947-73) as workers' wages increased quite dramatically in a number of industries. For example, average hourly earnings for workers in meatpacking rose 114% between 1950 and 1965, those in steel 102%, in rubber tires by 96%, and in manufacturing 81%. At the same time as union members' wages were increasing, union membership was declining. Yet, the American Federation of Labor-Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) argued that organizing new members was not a priority. By concentrating on the existing membership and bread-and-butter issues, and not organizing new members, unionism could not deal with the attack on the social contract by employers and the government beginning in the United States in the late 1970s. Following that attack, there was a significant decline in U.S. workers' wages and conditions in real terms, and there was a corresponding decline in union membership. However, while many people are claiming that organized labor is a dinosaur, Schiavone argues that a strong union movement is now needed more than ever. If unions make major changes as outlined in this book, the U.S. labor movement may regain some of its strength. By fighting for workplace (such as higher wages) and non-workplace issues (such as the fight for adequate childcare or against racism), unions in America and Canada that embraced what Schiavone calls social justice unionism have improved society for all. On purely bread-and-butter issues, these unions have achieved better collective bargaining agreements than their rival mainstream unions, as well as organizing more new workers per capita. How much strength organized labor will regain by embracing social justice unionism is uncertain, but it is a beginning.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780275999667Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window More than 75 regional publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
HR Journals and Periodicals
- Academy of Management JournalAccess to the Academy of Management Journal from 1959 to present.
- Academy of Management ReviewAccess to the Academy Management Review from 1976 to present.
- HR Magazine (SHRM)Access to HR Magazine published by the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) from 1994 to present.
- Human Resource Development QuarterlyAccess to Human Resource Development Quarterly from 1990 to present. Embargo on past 12 month full text.
- Human Resource ManagementAccess to Human Resource Management from 1961 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Human Resource Management ReviewAccess to Human Resource Management Review from 1997 to present.
- Human Resource PlanningAccess to Human Resource Planning from1983 to present.
- Journal of Human ResourcesAccess to the Journal of Human Resources from 1985 to present.
- Personnel PsychologyAccess to Personnel Psychology from 1985 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Workforce ManagementAccess to Workforce Management from 1994 to present.
Recommended Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283