- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HRM320
- HRM320 Library Resources
HRM320
Employment Law- This course provides a comprehensive survey of Federal and State laws that affect the human resource function. Topics include equal employment opportunity, employment agreements, wage and overtime payments, and other regulatory issues.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Employment Discrimination Litigation by
This practical resource includes perspectives from the point of view of both plaintiff and defendant for cases involving questions of race, gender, disability, and age. In addition, it offers an overview of the process by which complaints are filed, the statutes under which they are filed, and the authority represented by various case law. Employment Discrimination Litigation will illuminate myriad issues such as Daubert motions, class certification issues, the setting of cut scores that will withstand challenge, common statistical analyses of adverse impact, and merit-based issues. Employment Discrimination Litigation also Presents a temporal description of a typical employment discrimination case from start to finish Outlines the major guidelines that are often invoked in employment litigation-the A.P.A. Standards, Uniform Guidelines, and SIOP Principles Reviews litigation related to the Fair Labor Standards Act References written judicial opinions that relate the activities and devices most often employed by industrial and organizational psychologists
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780787973032Publication Date: 2005-02-07- Employment Discrimination Litigation by
This practical resource includes perspectives from the point of view of both plaintiff and defendant for cases involving questions of race, gender, disability, and age. In addition, it offers an overview of the process by which complaints are filed, the statutes under which they are filed, and the authority represented by various case law. Employment Discrimination Litigation will illuminate myriad issues such as Daubert motions, class certification issues, the setting of cut scores that will withstand challenge, common statistical analyses of adverse impact, and merit-based issues. Employment Discrimination Litigation also Presents a temporal description of a typical employment discrimination case from start to finish Outlines the major guidelines that are often invoked in employment litigation-the A.P.A. Standards, Uniform Guidelines, and SIOP Principles Reviews litigation related to the Fair Labor Standards Act References written judicial opinions that relate the activities and devices most often employed by industrial and organizational psychologists
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780787973032Publication Date: 2005-02-07
Human Resources Disputes and Resolutions by
What is the procedure if an employee calls in sick but is later spotted in the park playing with his children? Employers may think they have grounds to serve a warning, but would they be within their rights to do so? Harry Sherrard, a successful employment law solicitor, identified the need for HR professionals and line managers to understand the legal rules and procedures when dealing with workplace disputes and dilemmas. He and his colleagues created training workshops that offered more than the usual dry handling of the subject by encouraging delegates to share their experiences of workplace disputes or 'headaches', and participate in lively discussion to generate practical and legal resolutions. Presented as a series of thought-provoking case studies, Human Resource Disputes & Resolutions is a compilation of some of the most common headaches discussed in the workshops. Using a questions and answers format, Sherrard provides a legal analysis to each incident and a resolution that is practical in application. Varying from mild to extreme cases, this unique book is an indispensable learning opportunity for both beginners and those with experience within employment law.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780749449636Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Inside the Minds by
Inside the Minds: Leading Labor Lawyers is the most authoritative book ever written on the art and science of labor law, written by an unprecedented collection of employment and labor lawyers from some of the leading law firms of the world-including Chairs/Group Coordinators from Perkins Coie, Thelen Reid & Priest, Schiff Hardin & Waite, Winston & Strawn, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, Sidley Austin Brown & Wood, Morrison & Foerster, Butzel Long & Gray Plant Mooty. These industry visionaries reveal the secrets to employment contracts, hiring and firing, non-competes, infringement, litigation, privacy, arbitration, Internet and technology related issues, sexual harassment, client psychology and other important issues affecting the future of labor and employment law. Also covered are specific, proven legal strategies and methodologies practiced by these leading attorneys that have led to their success. An unprecedented look inside the minds of the world's best labor lawyers makes for critical reading for every labor/employment lawyer, CEO, human resources professional, entrepreneur, law school student and anyone interested in labor law on a personal or professional level. Other Inside the Minds legal books include Inside the Minds: Leading Deal Makers, Inside the Minds: Leading Litigators, Inside the Minds Internet Lawyers and Inside the Minds: Leading Intellectual Property Lawyers.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781587621611Publication Date: 2002-08-01
The Older Worker Advantage by
Recently published figures predict that the number of employed individuals between the ages of 55 and 64 will increase by 11 million by 2010; on average, today's 65-year-old can expect to live to 83. This book tackles the issue of the aging workforce head on, taking into account both the organization's/manager's point of view and the older employee's point of view. Gordon Shea and Adolf Haasen, experts on corporate culture and management development, consider the broad demographic trends that are changing the makeup of organizations, and then provide specific approaches for managers to adopt in order to ensure that older employees are engaged and challenged while contributing to the company's bottom line. The authors consider such topics as: what motivates olders workers, the impact of technology on older worker training, and career trends in the health, education, and retail sectors. They showcase pioneering efforts in multi-generational work at such organizations as AES Corporation and the U.S. Coast Guard, and they offer a variety of checklists and other interactive and diagnostic elements to guide managers. The book concludes with information on the legal apsects of older worker employment, along with resources for both managers and older employees. As the huge cadre of baby boomers approaches traditional retirement age, such factors as financial security, health benefits, and the attractiveness of staying active in later years are encouraging more older people to work well into their 60s, 70s, and even 80s, while businesses are learning to anticipate their long-term employment needs, and facing potential labor shortages unless they hold onto and develop more older workers. The economic, political, and cultural implications of these trends will reach staggering proportions, changing the make-up of organizations large and small and the very nature of work and our attitudes toward it.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780275987015Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Workplace Law Advisor by
In today's competitive and ever-changing business environment it's no wonder that the workplace can become highly charged, especially when managers and employees alike are unaware of their legal rights and responsibilities. In The Workplace Law Advisor, veteran labor and employment attorney Anne Covey offers a comprehensive and accessible resource for managers and executives, entrepreneurs and small business owners, employees and human resource professionals in all industries. Illustrating every principle through real-life examples, the author provides practical guidance on how to interpret and apply employment law in order to forge more productive relationships in the workplace. The Workplace Law Advisor answers the most frequently asked questions about the employment relationship, covering such issues as:The top ten reasons why employees sue their employers and how to avoid these lawsuits;The crucial role of effective communication in the workplace;The Americans with Disabilities Act and who qualifies for its benefits;Protecting your organization and yourself from the costly effects of sexual harassment;The Family and Medical Leave Act
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780738203744Publication Date: 2000-12-07
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers more than two million records with more than 850 full-text journals dating back to 1908; includes more than 800 books and 16,000 conference papers.
HR Journals and Periodicals
- Academy of Management JournalAccess to the Academy of Management Journal from 1959 to present.
- Academy of Management ReviewAccess to the Academy Management Review from 1976 to present.
- HR Magazine (SHRM)Access to HR Magazine published by the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) from 1994 to present.
- Human Resource Development QuarterlyAccess to Human Resource Development Quarterly from 1990 to present. Embargo on past 12 month full text.
- Human Resource ManagementAccess to Human Resource Management from 1961 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Human Resource Management ReviewAccess to Human Resource Management Review from 1997 to present.
- Human Resource PlanningAccess to Human Resource Planning from1983 to present.
- Journal of Human ResourcesAccess to the Journal of Human Resources from 1985 to present.
- Personnel PsychologyAccess to Personnel Psychology from 1985 to present. Embargo on past 12 months full text.
- Workforce ManagementAccess to Workforce Management from 1994 to present.
Recommended Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283