- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HIT170
- HIT170 Library Resources
HIT170
Health Information Fundamentals Practicum- Through either an approved external health information management site or an online application, this course provides initial supervised professional practice experience.
Habits of Highly Successful HIT/MBC Students
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Over 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
Recommended Websites
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Assessing the National Health Information System by
This Health Metrics Network assessment tool is intended to achieve more than a assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the elements and operations of a national HIS. The mere process of conducting the assessment reaches and engages all stakeholders in the system. In order to assist countries in this key activity Health Metrics Network has developed this assessment tool which describes in detail how to undertake a first baseline assessment.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9789241547512Publication Date: 2008-12-18
Beyond the HIPAA Privacy Rule by
In the realm of health care, privacy protections are needed to preserve patients' dignity and prevent possible harms. Ten years ago, to address these concerns as well as set guidelines for ethical health research, Congress called for a set of federal standards now known as the HIPAA Privacy Rule. In its 2009 report, Beyond the HIPAA Privacy Rule: Enhancing Privacy, Improving Health Through Research, the Institute of Medicine's Committee on Health Research and the Privacy of Health Information concludes that the HIPAA Privacy Rule does not protect privacy as well as it should, and that it impedes important health research.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780309124997Publication Date: 2009-03-24
Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security by
Over 10,000 Detailed Entries There is a myth that all stakeholders in the healthcare space understand the meaning of basic information technology jargon. In truth, the vernacular of contemporary medical information systems is unique, and often misused or misunderstood n Moreover, an emerging national Heath Information Technology (HIT) architecture; in the guise of terms, definitions, acronyms, abbreviations and standards; often puts the non-expert medical, nursing, public policy administrator or paraprofessional in a position of maximum uncertainty and minimum productivity nThe Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security will therefore help define, clarify and explain...You will refer to it daily. -- Richard J. Mata, MD, MS, MS-CIS, Certified Medical Planner-(c) (Hon), Chief Medical Information Officer CMIO], Ricktelmed Information Systems, Assistant Professor Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas An Essential Tool for Every Health Care Industry Sector: layman, purchaser, and benefits manager physician, provider and healthcare facility payer, intermediary and consulting professional Key Benefits & Features Include: New HIT, HIPAA, WHCQA, HITPA, and NEPSI terminology Abbreviations, acronyms, and slang-terms defined Illustrations and simple examples Cross-references to current research"
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780826149954Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The Future of Health-Care Delivery by
Approximately 100,000 deaths per year in the United States result from preventable medical errors. This figure is about twice the number of people who die in car accidents and five times the number of murder victims annually, and twenty times the number of servicemen and women killed in Iraq and Afghanistan since the start of hostilities in 2001. If you think Americans have the best health-care system in the world, think again. In this deeply researched and controversial book, Dr. Stephen Schimpff explains why our health-care delivery system serves us so poorly, why it costs so much, and why government policy over many decades has not only failed to improve care delivery but has actually made it worse. In the process, he dispels common misconceptions about medicine and health care. The Future of Health-Care Delivery provides timely information and a road map to achieve world-class care delivery, putting health care where it belongs--in the hands of the patient and medical professionals instead of the insurance companies and government.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781612341576Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
HIT Career Resources
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations—such as carpenters, teachers, and veterinarians. Revised annually, the latest version contains employment projections for the 2020-30 decade.
- O Net Online O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283