- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HIT111
- HIT111 Library Resources
HIT111
Basic Medical Terminology- This course introduces elements of medical terminology such as the foundations of terms used to describe the human body and its conditions, terminology for medical procedures, and the names of commonly prescribed medications.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Over 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Full-text periodicals covering "all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as...performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and...thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world".
eBooks
Guide to Basic Medical Terminology by
The guide offers an introduction to basic medical terminology on a level and in accordance with requirements of the university programmes of dentistry and general medicine in the Czech Republic. The course reflects local specifics of the czech medical environment, most notably its strong focus on Latin grammar. The guide consists of two parts, one for each semester. However, the first section is to certain extent self-contained and as such it can be used by students of one-term courses (dentistry), while the second one is supposed to serve as an independent addition necessary only for students of general medicine.
ISBN: 9788024622118Publication Date: 2013
Lippincott Professional Guides by
This new Second Edition contains general and specific information on human anatomy and physiology and thoroughly explains and demonstrates normal structures and functions in all body systems. As a quick reference it provides both a systems and functional approach, and is organized in a logical body-system arrangement. Overview chapters define important terms, describe basic cell and tissue types, and detail the body's chemical makeup. Features include comprehensive explanations of physiologic processes; key terms italicized for easy access; and clear illustrations of major body structures and processes, with 32 pages in full color. Its portable size and lie-flat binding provide an easy and convenient read anywhere.
ISBN: 9781582551807Publication Date: 2002-04-01
Recommended Websites
Searchable Reference eBooks
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by
The Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (DHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, DHBE also includes information on over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, geological and oxygen isotope chronologies, illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles and an illustration of current hominid phylogeny, making this a must-have volume for anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution. DHBE is especially complete in its inventory of archaeological sites and the best-known hominid specimens excavated from them, but also includes up-to-date information on terms such as in silico, and those relating to the rapidly developing fields of human genomics.
ISBN: 9780521664868Publication Date: 2005-06-23
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--
ISBN: 9780028666587Publication Date: 2020-04-03
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
ISBN: 9781410363206Publication Date: 2018
Medical Dictionary by
When your doctor uses terms like intraductal carcinoma or akathisia, do you understand and can you ask the right questions? If you, like most Americans, are taking a more active role in your family's healthcare, the fully revised and updatedWebster's New World Medical Dictionary, Third Edition will help you understand and communicate your medical needs when it matters the most. Written by doctors and the experts at WebMD, this edition includes 8500 entries, including 500 new terms, a vitamin appendix, and a companion website to give you access to medical language.
ISBN: 9780470189283Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Habits of Highly Successful HIT/MBC Students
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
HIT Career Resources
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations—such as carpenters, teachers, and veterinarians. Revised annually, the latest version contains employment projections for the 2020-30 decade.
- O Net Online O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283