- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ETHC445
- Library Resources
ETHC445
Priniciples of Ethics- This course provides knowledge of ethics students need to make moral decisions in both their professional and personal lives.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of 400 journals on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics by ISBN: 9780631210801Publication Date: 1999-02-02
Diversity at Work by
What effects do racism, sexism and other forms of discrimination have on the functioning of organizations? Is there a way of managing organizations such that we can benefit both the members of traditionally disadvantaged groups and the organizations in which they work? Discrimination on the basis of race or gender, whether implicit or explicit, is still commonplace in many organizations. Organizational scholars have long been aware that diversity leads to dysfunctional individual, group, and organizational outcomes. What is not well understood is precisely when and why such negative outcomes occur. In Diversity at Work, leading scholars in psychology, sociology, and management address these issues by presenting innovative theoretical ways of thinking about diversity in organizations. With each contribution challenging existing approaches to the study of organizational diversity, the book sets a demanding agenda for those seeking to create equality in the workplace.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780521860307Publication Date: 2008-04-24
The Good Work Guide by
In an increasingly knowledge driven economy, the importance of people's discretionary effort to business performance is key to success -- or failure. The Good Work Guide lays out how and why companies should be doing more to improve conditions for their staff. Examining the link between high performance outcomes and improvement in working life, the guide focuses on ways organizations can improve their staff's autonomy and empowerment, improve fairness and conflict resolution, and get great performances from their employees. Filled with examples of real businesses that have fundamentally changed the way they work to empower their staff, and increase productivity and profitability, it is the essential management handbook that no business can afford to ignore.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781844075577Publication Date: 2010-02-19
The Moral Leader by
Successful leaders at any level and in any arena are inevitably presented with moral and ethical choices. This unique and innovative textbook is designed to encourage students and managers to confront those fundamental moral challenges, to develop skills in moral analysis and judgment, and to come to terms with their own definition of moral leadership and how it can be translated into action. Drawing on the inspiration of major literary and historical figures such as Machiavelli, Conrad, Shackleton and Achebe, and based upon an impressive array of literary sources, including novels, plays, history and biography, the book centers on four questions implicitly asked of all leaders: What is the nature of a moral challenge? How do people 'reason morally'? How do leaders contend with the moral choices they face? How is moral leadership different from leadership in general? The Moral Leader is based upon the renowned course of the same name taught at Harvard Business School for over two decades. With an emphasis on decision-making and action, students learn to identify moral problems, to address them systematically, and to develop skills that aid them throughout their studies and their professional lives. At times challenging, insightful, and always illuminating, this book is essential reading for all serious students of leadership, management, business ethics or policy. Visit the companion website at www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415400640"
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780203940648Publication Date: 2007-09-14
Moral Selves, Evil Selves by
This book highlights the oft neglected moral aspect of "the self," examining the variety of neurological, psychological, and social processes that enter into the development and maintenance of moral orientations.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780230614949Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Recommended Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283