Engineering Technology: Home
Engineering Technology
As part of an engineering team, engineers and technicians work together to apply fundamental math and engineering principles, as well as strong technical and hands-on skills, to design, build, maintain, and repair systems and equipment. Engineers and technicians analyze, modify, test, and apply new and existing engineering technologies to solve complex issues in fields such as environmental, industrial, electrical, and electronics engineering; computer programming; healthcare technology; and product manufacturing and assembly.
DeVry University’s Engineering Technology programs help students prepare for beginning and more advanced careers dedicated to supporting digital, automated, computer-based and/or distributed systems, and to team and organizational success. Detailed program information, and information on DeVry’s broad spectrum of courses, is found in the University’s Undergraduate Academic Catalog.
The Internet of Things
Many DeVry University courses explore principles supporting the Internet of Things (IoT), which refers to the interconnection, via the internet, of devices embedded with sensors, processors, and other technologies that make everyday life “smarter,” more efficient, safer, and easier. Today, so many objects we rely on – cell phones, health monitoring devices, TVs, other home appliances and security systems, and more – rely on the IoT to send and receive data. As the IoT continues its rapid growth, engineering technologists will be critical to ensuring the functionality, connectivity, and security of IoT devices and the networks integral to their use.
Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new window Journal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Percipio This link opens in a new window Percipio delivers engaging content curated into nearly 700 learning channels. Choose from courses, videos, audiobooks, and learning paths on a variety of IT, engineering, and science topics, including certification prep
- Science Database This link opens in a new window "This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences."
- Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window Contains hundreds of trade and industry-related publications to support research on a variety of technical and vocational fields, including computers, engineering, health, technology, and business.
Open Access Resources
- The Materials Project Register for free for open, web-based access to computer information on known and predicted materials, as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials
- The Open Access Digital Library Includes over 12,000 journals from 80 databases, many in technology and engineering
- OpenEI A wiki for energy information, data, and resources developed and maintained by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory with funding and support from the U.S. Department of Energy and international partners & sponsors
- OSTI U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific & Technical Information Database provides public access to peer-reviewed scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE research funding
- Patent Public Search Official U.S. government website providing web-based patent search for full-text, keyword-searchable U.S. patents since 1976 and patent numbers since 1790
- Science.gov Over 60 databases and 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information, including research and development results
- WorldWideScience.Org A global science search gateway providing approximately 100 databases from over 70 countries in fields such as energy, medicine, and the environment with translations to 10 languages through Microsoft® Translator
Websites
- All About Circuits Technical resources for electrical and computer engineering technology including videos, worksheets, webinars, and other tools on topics such as IoT, cloud, cybersecurity, sensors, memory, smart grids, and more
- International Electrotechnical Commission A global organization of 20,000 experts providing international standards for quality infrastructures and trade in electrical and electronic goods, facilitating innovation, affordability, efficiency, sustainability access, and safety in areas such as energy, urbanization, transportation, climate change mitigation, and infrastructure
- Khan Academy Offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empowers learners to study at their own pace subjects such as math, science, computer programming, and more
- National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering The NIBIB website provides news, event calendars, funding opportunities, listserv sign-up, and science education resources
- National Nanotechnology Initiative NNI provides educational resources to promote the commercialization of nanotechnology R&D and to promote infrastructure to sustainably and responsibly support nanotechnology development and deployment for the betterment of society
- Stack Overflow Helps people find answers to technical coding questions through an asynchronous community of professional and enthusiast programmers
- W3 Schools Provides resources to learn to code in various programming languages, including Python, JavaScript, and C++ and website developing tools like CSS, with resources on AI, Excel, and more
- Webopedia The online tech dictionary for students, educators, and IT professionals
Professional Associations
- Advancing Indigenous People in STEM (AISES) AISES provides American Indian students and professionals access to academic and professional networks; members-only job boards; eligibility to participate in AISES events and apply for internships, scholarships, and awards; career development; and discounted conference registration. Student memberships are available at no cost.
- ACM: Association for Computing Machinery ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.
- ASIS International A global community of security practitioners providing education programs, publications, and events to help support security professionals at every career stage. Student memberships include access to the global security exchange conference, a global network of 34,000 security professionals, scholarships and grants, job listings, and mentoring.
- Association of Energy Engineers A network serving over 100 countries with career development, networking, and recognition opportunities
- Biomedical Engineering Society Biomedical engineering career resources and networking opportunities including student chapters, competitions and awards, and special interest groups
- Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) CSA harnesses the subject matter expertise of industry practitioners, associations, governments, and its corporate and individual members to offer cloud security-specific research, education, certification, events, and products.
- IEEE IEEE and its members inspire a global community to innovate for a better tomorrow through highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. IEEE is the trusted “voice” for engineering, computing, and technology information around the globe.)
- ISACA Dedicated to lifetime learning and career progression for IS and IT professionals, including student membership with networking opportunities, career resources, and job listings
- (ISC)² The world’s leading cybersecurity professional organization. Those interested in membership can apply for candidacy and once accepted access professional development resources and certification opportunities.
- Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) ISSA is an international organization of cybersecurity professionals dedicated to advancing individual growth, managing technology risk, and protecting critical information and infrastructure. ISSA provides educational forums, publications, and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill, and professional growth of its members.
- National Society for Professional Engineers A non-technical society advocating for standards in professional ethics, qualifications, and advancement in engineering
- National Society of Black Engineers One of the largest student-governed organizations in the U.S., NSBE promotes the aspirations of students and professionals in engineering and technology with more than 24,000 active members. NSBE provides student members tutoring, leadership development, job search listings, scholarships and grants, and networking and conferences.
- Society for Biological Engineering An AIChE Technological Community dedicated to advancing the integration of biology with engineering. Includes no cost membership for undergraduate students.
- Society for Hispanic Professional Engineers The largest association in the nation for Hispanics in STEM. We meet each of our student and professional members where they are—offering effective training, mentorship, and programming for our vibrant community.
- Society for Women Engineers SWE helps women to succeed and advance in engineering and be recognized for their life-changing contributions as engineers and leaders through advocacy, training and development programs, networking, and scholarships.
Professional Certifications
- Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt (offered by various organizations)
eBooks
Clinical Engineering by
Clinical Systems Engineering: New Challenges for Future Healthcare covers the critical issues relating to the risk management and design of new technologies in the healthcare sector. It is a comprehensive summary of the advances in clinical engineering over the past 40 years, presenting guidance on compliance and safety for hospitals and engineering teams. This contributed book contains chapters from international experts, who provide their solutions, experiences, and the successful methodologies they have applied to solve common problems in the area of healthcare technology. Topics include compliance with the European Directive on Medical Devices 93/42/EEC, European Norms EN 60601-1-6, EN 62366, and the American Standards ANSI/AAMI HE75: 2009. Content coverage includes decision support systems, clinical complex systems, and human factor engineering. Examples are fully supported with case studies, and global perspective is maintained throughout. This book is ideal for clinical engineers, biomedical engineers, hospital administrators and medical technology manufacturers.
ISBN: 9780128037676Publication Date: 2016-01-28
Internet of Things by
Internet of Things: Technologies and Applications for a New Age of Intelligence outlines the background and overall vision for the Internet of Things (IoT) and Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS), as well as associated emerging technologies. Key technologies are described including device communication and interactions, connectivity of devices to cloud-based infrastructures, distributed and edge computing, data collection, and methods to derive information and knowledge from connected devices and systems using artificial intelligence and machine learning. Also included are system architectures and ways to integrate these with enterprise architectures, and considerations on potential business impacts and regulatory requirements. New to this edition: * Updated material on current market situation and outlook. * A description of the latest developments of standards, alliances, and consortia. More specifically the creation of the Industrial Internet Consortium (IIC) and its architecture and reference documents, the creation of the Reference Architectural Model for Industrie 4.0 (RAMI 4.0), the exponential growth of the number of working groups in the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), the transformation of the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) to OMA SpecWorks and the introduction of OMA LightweightM2M device management and service enablement protocol, the initial steps in the specification of the architecture of Web of Things (WoT) by World Wide Consortium (W3C), the GS1 architecture and standards, the transformation of ETSI-M2M to oneM2M, and a few key facts about the Open Connectivity Forum (OCF), IEEE, IEC/ISO, AIOTI, and NIST CPS. * The emergence of new technologies such as distributed ledgers, distributed cloud and edge computing, and the use of machine learning and artificial intelligence for IoT. * A chapter on security, outlining the basic principles for secure IoT installations. * New use case description material on Logistics, Autonomous Vehicles, and Systems of CPS
ISBN: 9780128144350Publication Date: 2018-11-26
Internet of Things by
Internet of Things: Challenges, Advances, and Applications provides a comprehensive introduction to IoT, related technologies, and common issues in the adoption of IoT on a large scale. It surveys recent technological advances and novel solutions for challenges in the IoT environment. Moreover, it provides detailed discussion of the utilization of IoT and its underlying technologies in critical application areas, such as smart grids, healthcare, insurance, and the automotive industry. The chapters of this book are authored by several international researchers and industry experts. This book is composed of 18 self-contained chapters that can be read, based on interest. Features: Introduces IoT, including its history, common definitions, underlying technologies, and challenges Discusses technological advances in IoT and implementation considerations Proposes novel solutions for common implementation issues Explores critical application domains, including large-scale electric power distribution networks, smart water and gas grids, healthcare and e-Health applications, and the insurance and automotive industries The book is an excellent reference for researchers and post-graduate students working in the area of IoT, or related areas. It also targets IT professionals interested in gaining deeper knowledge of IoT, its challenges, and application areas.
ISBN: 9781498778510Publication Date: 2018-01-12
Artificial Intelligence Programming with Python by
A hands-on roadmap to using Python for artificial intelligence programming In Practical Artificial Intelligence Programming with Python: From Zero to Hero, veteran educator and photophysicist Dr. Perry Xiao delivers a thorough introduction to one of the most exciting areas of computer science in modern history. The book demystifies artificial intelligence and teaches readers its fundamentals from scratch in simple and plain language and with illustrative code examples. Divided into three parts, the author explains artificial intelligence generally, machine learning, and deep learning. It tackles a wide variety of useful topics, from classification and regression in machine learning to generative adversarial networks. He also includes: Fulsome introductions to MATLAB, Python, AI, machine learning, and deep learning Expansive discussions on supervised and unsupervised machine learning, as well as semi-supervised learning Practical AI and Python "cheat sheet" quick references This hands-on AI programming guide is perfect for anyone with a basic knowledge of programming--including familiarity with variables, arrays, loops, if-else statements, and file input and output--who seeks to understand foundational concepts in AI and AI development.
ISBN: 9781119820864Publication Date: 2022-03-29
Towards Sustainable Artificial Intelligence by
So far, little effort has been devoted to developing practical approaches on how to develop and deploy AI systems that meet certain standards and principles. This is despite the importance of principles such as privacy, fairness, and social equality taking centre stage in discussions around AI. However, for an organization, failing to meet those standards can give rise to significant lost opportunities. It may further lead to an organization's demise, as the example of Cambridge Analytica demonstrates. It is, however, possible to pursue a practical approach for the design, development, and deployment of sustainable AI systems that incorporates both business and human values and principles. This book discusses the concept of sustainability in the context of artificial intelligence. In order to help businesses achieve this objective, the author introduces the sustainable artificial intelligence framework (SAIF), designed as a reference guide in the development and deployment of AI systems. The SAIF developed in the book is designed to help decision makers such as policy makers, boards, C-suites, managers, and data scientists create AI systems that meet ethical principles. By focusing on four pillars related to the socio-economic and political impact of AI, the SAIF creates an environment through which an organization learns to understand its risk and exposure to any undesired consequences of AI, and the impact of AI on its ability to create value in the short, medium, and long term. What You Will Learn See the relevance of ethics to the practice of data science and AI Examine the elements that enable AI within an organization Discover the challenges of developing AI systems that meet certain human or specific standards Explore the challenges of AI governance Absorb the key factors to consider when evaluating AI systems Who This Book Is For Decision makers such as government officials, members of the C-suite and other business managers, and data scientists as well as any technology expert aspiring to a data-related leadership role.
ISBN: 9781484272138Publication Date: 2021-07-31
Data Engineering with Python by
Build, monitor, and manage real-time data pipelines to create data engineering infrastructure efficiently using open-source Apache projects Key Features Become well-versed in data architectures, data preparation, and data optimization skills with the help of practical examples Design data models and learn how to extract, transform, and load (ETL) data using Python Schedule, automate, and monitor complex data pipelines in production Book Description Data engineering provides the foundation for data science and analytics, and forms an important part of all businesses. This book will help you to explore various tools and methods that are used for understanding the data engineering process using Python. The book will show you how to tackle challenges commonly faced in different aspects of data engineering. You'll start with an introduction to the basics of data engineering, along with the technologies and frameworks required to build data pipelines to work with large datasets. You'll learn how to transform and clean data and perform analytics to get the most out of your data. As you advance, you'll discover how to work with big data of varying complexity and production databases, and build data pipelines. Using real-world examples, you'll build architectures on which you'll learn how to deploy data pipelines. By the end of this Python book, you'll have gained a clear understanding of data modeling techniques, and will be able to confidently build data engineering pipelines for tracking data, running quality checks, and making necessary changes in production. What you will learn Understand how data engineering supports data science workflows Discover how to extract data from files and databases and then clean, transform, and enrich it Configure processors for handling different file formats as well as both relational and NoSQL databases Find out how to implement a data pipeline and dashboard to visualize results Use staging and validation to check data before landing in the warehouse Build real-time pipelines with staging areas that perform validation and handle failures Get to grips with deploying pipelines in the production environment Who this book is for This book is for data analysts, ETL developers, and anyone looking to get started with or transition to the field of data engineering or refresh their knowledge of data engineering using Python. This book will also be useful for students planning to build a career in data engineering or IT professionals preparing for a transition. No previous knowledge of data engineering is required.
ISBN: 9781839214189Publication Date: 2020-10-23
Robot Operating System (ROS) for Absolute Beginners by
Start programming your own robots using Robot Operation System (ROS). Targeted for absolute beginners in ROS, Linux, and Python, this guide lets you build your own robotics projects. You'll learn the basic foundation of Ubuntu Linux. Begin with the fundamentals. Installation and useful commands will give you the basic tools you need while programming a robot. Then add useful software applications that can be used while making robots. Programming robots can be done using any of the programming languages. Most popular programming languages are Python and C++. You will incorporate the fundamentals of C++ by learning object oriented programing concepts from example and building C++ projects. Finally, tackle an ROS hands-on project to apply all the concepts of ROS you've learned. The aim of the project is to perform a dead-reckoning using a cheap mobile robot. You can command your robot's position on Rviz and your robot will move to that position! Not only will you learn to program, you'll gain hands-on experience working with hardware to create a real robot. What You'll Learn Install Ubuntu 20 Install ROS Noetic Use ROS Programming with roscpp and rospy Build a mobile robot from scratch using ROS Who This Book Is For Robotics enthusiast with little or no prior programming experience.
ISBN: 9781484277492Publication Date: 2022-02-09
Renewable Energy Systems by
In this new edition of Renewable Energy Systems, globally recognized renewable energy researcher and professor, Henrik Lund, sets forth a straightforward, comprehensive methodology for comparing different energy systems' abilities to integrate fluctuating and intermittent renewable energy sources. The book does this by presenting an energy system analysis methodology. The book provides the results of more than fifteen comprehensive energy system analysis studies, examines the large-scale integration of renewable energy into the present system, and presents concrete design examples derived from a dozen renewable energy systems around the globe. Renewable Energy Systems, Second Edition also undertakes the socio-political realities governing the implementation of renewable energy systems by introducing a theoretical framework approach aimed at understanding how major technological changes, such as renewable energy, can be implemented at both the national and international levels.
ISBN: 9780124104235Publication Date: 2022-03-04
Wireless Security Architecture by
Reduce organizational cybersecurity risk and build comprehensive WiFi, private cellular, and IOT security solutions Wireless Security Architecture: Designing and Maintaining Secure Wireless for Enterprise offers readers an essential guide to planning, designing, and preserving secure wireless infrastructures. It is a blueprint to a resilient and compliant architecture that responds to regulatory requirements, reduces organizational risk, and conforms to industry best practices. This book emphasizes WiFi security, as well as guidance on private cellular and Internet of Things security. Readers will discover how to move beyond isolated technical certifications and vendor training and put together a coherent network that responds to contemporary security risks. It offers up-to-date coverage--including data published for the first time--of new WPA3 security, Wi-Fi 6E, zero-trust frameworks, and other emerging trends. It also includes: Concrete strategies suitable for organizations of all sizes, from large government agencies to small public and private companies Effective technical resources and real-world sample architectures Explorations of the relationships between security, wireless, and network elements Practical planning templates, guides, and real-world case studies demonstrating application of the included concepts Perfect for network, wireless, and enterprise security architects, Wireless Security Architecture belongs in the libraries of technical leaders in firms of all sizes and in any industry seeking to build a secure wireless network.
ISBN: 9781119883050Publication Date: 2022-04-12
Certification Preparation
AutoCAD 2022 Beginning and Intermediate by
This book is the most comprehensive book you will find on AutoCAD 2022 - 2D Drafting. Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion disc to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures in color. AutoCAD 2022 Beginning and Intermediateincludes over 100 exercises or "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of three projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2022. FEATURES: Covers only the basics and uses both metric and imperial unitsto illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application Companion files can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color Helps you to prepare for the AutoCAD Certified Professionalexam The companion files are also available online by emailing the publisher with proof of purchase at info@merclearning.com.
ISBN: 9781683927242Publication Date: 2021-04-26
Practical Autodesk AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 by
Publisher's note: This edition from 2020 is based on AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 and does not make use of the most recent AutoCAD features. A new second edition, updated for AutoCAD 2023 and AutoCAD LT 2023 including new topics, such as Floating drawing windows and the COUNT feature, has now been published. Key Features Explore the AutoCAD GUI, file format, and drawing tools to get started with CAD projects Learn to use drawing management tools for working efficiently on large projects Discover techniques for creating, modifying, and managing 3D models and converting 2D plans into 3D models Book Description AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT are one of the most versatile software applications for architectural and engineering designs and the most popular computer-aided design (CAD) platform for 2D drafting and 3D modeling. This hands-on guide will take you through everything you need to know to make the most out of this powerful tool, starting from a simple tour of the user interface through to using advanced tools. Starting with basic drawing shapes and functions, you'll get to grips with the fundamentals of CAD designs. You'll then learn about effective drawing management using layers, dynamic blocks, and groups and discover how to add annotations and plot like professionals. The book delves into 3D modeling and helps you convert your 2D drawings into 3D models and shapes. As you progress, you'll cover advanced tools and features such as isometric drawings, drawing utilities for managing and recovering complex files, quantity surveying, and multidisciplinary drawing files using xRefs, and you'll learn how to implement them with the help of practical exercises at the end of each chapter. Finally, you'll get to grips with rendering and visualizing your designs in AutoCAD. By the end of the book, you'll have developed a solid understanding of CAD principles and be able to work with AutoCAD software confidently to build impressive 2D and 3D drawings. What you will learn Understand CAD fundamentals using AutoCAD's basic functions, navigation, and components Create complex 3d solid objects starting from the primitive shapes using the solid editing tools Working with reusable objects like Blocks and collaborating using xRef Explore some advanced features like external references and dynamic block Get to grips with surface and mesh modeling tools such as Fillet, Trim, and Extend Use the paper space layout in AutoCAD for creating professional plots for 2D and 3D models Convert your 2D drawings into 3D models Who this book is for The book is for design engineers, mechanical engineers, architects, and anyone working in construction, manufacturing, or similar fields. Whether you're an absolute beginner, student, or professional looking to upgrade your engineering design skills, you'll find this AutoCAD book useful. No prior knowledge of CAD or AutoCAD is necessary.
ISBN: 9781789809152Publication Date: 2020-05-15
CompTIA A+ Complete Review Guide by
A comprehensive and efficient way to prepare for the A+ exam and succeed as a computer technician The newly revised Fifth Edition of the CompTIA A+ Complete Review Guide: Core 1 Exam 220-1101 and Core 2 Exam 220-1102 delivers essential and accessible exam prep material for the sought-after A+ certification. It offers full coverage of all of the A+ exam objectives covered on the latest Core 1 and Core 2 exams, ensuring you'll have the knowledge and skills you need to succeed on the test and in the real world. This book covers mobile devices, networking, hardware, virtualization and cloud computing, hardware and network troubleshooting, operating systems, security, software troubleshooting, and operational procedures. Its comprehensive discussions of all exam competencies will prepare you for your first role as a computer technician and let you hit the ground running. The book also offers: Accessible and easy-to-follow organization perfect for quick review and reinforcement of key topics Practical examples and insights drawn from the real-world experience of actual computer technicians Access to the Sybex online test bank, with chapter review questions, full-length practice exams, hundreds of electronic flashcards, and a glossary of key terms Ideal for anyone preparing for the Core 1 and Core 2 A+ exams, CompTIA A+ Complete Review Guide: Core 1 Exam 220-1101 and Core 2 Exam 220-1102 is also perfect for all aspiring and early-career computer technicians who seek to improve their performance in the field.
ISBN: 9781119861072Publication Date: 2022-04-19
CompTIA Cloud+ Study Guide by
In the newly revised Third Edition of CompTIA Cloud+ Study Guide: Exam CVO-003, expert IT Ben Piper delivers an industry leading resource for anyone preparing for the CompTIA Cloud+ certification and a career in cloud services. The book introduces candidates to the skills and the competencies critical for success in the field and on the exam. The book breaks down challenging cloud management concepts into intuitive and manageable topics, including cloud architecture and design, cloud security, deployment, operations and support, and cloud troubleshooting. It also offers practical study features, like Exam Essentials and challenging chapter review questions. Written in a concise and straightforward style that will be immediately familiar to the hundreds of thousands of readers who have successfully use other CompTIA study guides to further their careers in IT, the book offers: Efficient and effective training for a powerful certification that opens new and lucrative career opportunities Fully updated coverage for the new Cloud+ CV0-003 Exam that includes the latest in cloud architecture and design Access to the Sybex online learning center, with chapter review questions, full-length practice exams, hundreds of electronic flashcards, and a glossary of key terms Perfect for everyone preparing for the CompTIA Cloud+ Exam CV0-003 certification, this book is an ideal resource for current and aspiring cloud services professionals seeking an efficient and up-to-date resource that will dramatically improve their ability to maintain, secure, and optimize cloud environments.
ISBN: 9781119810865Publication Date: 2021-09-15CompTIA IT Fundamentals ITF+ (FCO-U61) Exam Prep Course With this video: Learn how to effectively set up, configure, and secure IT devices independently. Gain a solid understanding of PC and mobile software installation and configuration Develop the skills and confidence to pass the CompTIA ITF+ certification (FC0-U61) exam Learn how to safeguard local machines and networking devices
CompTIA Linux+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide: Exam XK0-004 by
"This comprehensive study guide delivers 100% coverage of every topic on the challenging CompTIA Linux+ exam
Get complete coverage of all the objectives included on CompTIA Linux+ exam XK0-004 from this up-to-date resource. Written by Linux experts and technology trainers, the book provides learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, exam tips, practice exam questions, and in-depth answer explanations. Designed to help you pass these challenging exams, this definitive volume also serves as an essential on-the-job reference."
ISBN: 9781260457353Publication Date: 2020-02-01
CompTIA Network+ Review Guide by
Prep for success on the Network+ N10-008 exam and for your new career in network administration with this must-have resource; In the newly updated Fifth Edition of the CompTIA Network+ Review Guide: Exam: N10-008, a leading expert in Network Operations, Jon Buhagiar, delivers a focused and concise handbook for anyone preparing for the new Network+ N10-008 exam or for a career in network administration. This guide is organized into five parts, with each part corresponding to one of the 5 objective domain areas of the Network+ exam: Fundamentals, Implementations, Operations, Security, and Troubleshooting. You'll handily learn crucial IT skills like designing and implementing functional networks, configuring and managing essential network devices, using switches and routers to segment network traffic, and securing existing networks.
ISBN: 9781119806950Publication Date: 2021-10-26
CompTIA Security+: SY0-601 Certification Guide by
Learn IT security essentials and prepare for the Security+ exam with this CompTIA exam guide, complete with additional online resources--including flashcards, PBQs, and mock exams--at securityplus.training Key Features Written by Ian Neil, one of the world's top CompTIA Security+ trainers Test your knowledge of cybersecurity jargon and acronyms with realistic exam questions Learn about cryptography, encryption, and security policies to deliver a robust infrastructure Book Description The CompTIA Security+ certification validates the fundamental knowledge required to perform core security functions and pursue a career in IT security. Authored by Ian Neil, a world-class CompTIA certification trainer, this book is a best-in-class study guide that fully covers the CompTIA Security+ 601 exam objectives. Complete with chapter review questions, realistic mock exams, and worked solutions, this guide will help you master the core concepts to pass the exam the first time you take it. With the help of relevant examples, you'll learn fundamental security concepts from certificates and encryption to identity and access management (IAM). As you progress, you'll delve into the important domains of the exam, including cloud security, threats, attacks and vulnerabilities, technologies and tools, architecture and design, risk management, cryptography, and public key infrastructure (PKI). You can access extra practice materials, including flashcards, performance-based questions, practical labs, mock exams, key terms glossary, and exam tips on the author's website at securityplus.training. By the end of this Security+ book, you'll have gained the knowledge and understanding to take the CompTIA exam with confidence. What you will learn Master cybersecurity fundamentals, from the CIA triad through to IAM Explore cloud security and techniques used in penetration testing Use different authentication methods and troubleshoot security issues Secure the devices and applications used by your company Identify and protect against various types of malware and viruses Protect yourself against social engineering and advanced attacks Understand and implement PKI concepts Delve into secure application development, deployment, and automation Who this book is for If you want to take and pass the CompTIA Security+ SY0-601 exam, even if you are not from an IT background, this book is for you. You'll also find this guide useful if you want to become a qualified security professional. This CompTIA book is also ideal for US Government and US Department of Defense personnel seeking cybersecurity certification.
ISBN: 9781800564244Publication Date: 2020-12-24
