- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- COLL148
- COLL 148 Resources
COLL148
Critical Thinking and Problem Solving- This course focuses on identifying and articulating skills needed for academic and professional success.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window "ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic."
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window Contains hundreds of trade and industry-related publications to support research on a variety of technical and vocational fields, including computers, engineering, health, technology, and business.
COLL148 Library Resources Recording
Audiobooks
Recommended Websites
- CareerOneStop Career resources including occupation profiles, training resources, job search planning and tools and links to American job centers by state.
- LinkedIn Professional networking site to make connections in your field and industry.
- O*NET OnLine O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of occupations for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students and researchers. Career Exploration tools assist job seekers in assessing new or changing careers.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook U.S. Government Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational handbook features browsing of occupational groups and searching for individual job profiles. Profiles include critical information such as salaries, trends in occupational growth and specifics of work environment.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Think Smarter by
Train your brain for better decisions, problem solving, and innovation. Think Smarter: Critical Thinking to Improve Problem-Solving and Decision-Making Skills is the comprehensive guide to training your brain to do more for you. Written by a critical thinking trainer and coach, the book presents a pragmatic set of tools to apply critical thinking techniques to everyday business issues. Think Smarter is filled with real world examples that demonstrate how the tools work in action, in addition to dozens of practice exercises applicable across industries and functions, Think Smarter is a versatile resource for individuals, managers, students, and corporate training programs. Thinking is the foundation of everything you do, but we rely largely on automatic thinking to process information, often resulting in misunderstandings and errors. Shifting over to critical thinking means thinking purposefully using a framework and toolset, enabling thought processes that lead to better decisions, faster problem solving, and creative innovation. Think Smarter provides clear, actionable steps toward improving your critical thinking skills, plus exercises that clarify complex concepts by putting theory into practice. Features include: A comprehensive critical thinking framework; Over twenty-five "tools" to help you think more critically; Critical thinking implementation for functions and activities; Examples of the real-world use of each tool. Learn what questions to ask, how to uncover the real problem to solve, and mistakes to avoid. Recognize assumptions your can rely on versus those without merit, and train your brain to tick through your mental toolbox to arrive at more innovative solutions. Critical thinking is the top skill on the wish list in the business world, and sharpening your ability can have profound affects throughout all facets of life. Think Smarter: Critical Thinking to Improve Problem-Solving and Decision-Making Skills provides a roadmap to more effective and productive thought.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781118729830Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Successful Time Management by
Successful Time Management is packed with proven tips, tools and techniques to help you review and assess your time management and adopt new work practices to improve it. This book includes great time-saving ideas, practical solutions and checklists, plus advice on: controlling paperwork, organizing your emails, delegating and working with others, prioritizing to focus on key issues, getting and staying organized. This fully updated 6th edition features even more practical exercises, useful templates and top tips to help you minimize time-wasting and interruptions, and focus on the priorities that will lead to success in your job and career. Successful Time Management will give you the tools to become more efficient and effective. The Creating Success series of books... Unlock vital skills, power up your performance and get ahead with the bestselling Creating Success series. Written by experts for new and aspiring managers and leaders, this million-selling collection of accessible and empowering guides will get you up to speed in no time. Packed with clever thinking, smart advice and the kind of winning techniques that really get results, you'll make fast progress, quickly reach your goals and create lasting success in your career.
ISBN: 9781398606197Publication Date: 2022-07-26
Time Management Ninja by
Time Management Skills Made Simple and Easy "This book will help you own your calendar, block time for what matters most and reclaim your life." --Paula Rizzo, author of Listful Living: A List-Making Journey to a Less Stressed You Own the go-to, stress reducing, uncomplicated, time management book that works! More time, stress relief, and relaxation. The world we live in is busier and changing faster than ever before. More and more things are competing for your time, and distractions are interrupting your day. You want more time―time to spend with family, time to achieve big goals, and time to simply enjoy life. Simple and practical time management tools. Time management shouldn't be difficult, and it shouldn't take up more of your precious time than it gives back! You have tried to manage your time better but have found that most time management systems and tools are too complex, or they are too unwieldy to be effective or sustainable. Author Craig Jarrow has been there. Easy tools, rules, and tactics. After spending many years testing time management tactics, tools, and systems and having written hundreds of articles on productivity, goals, and organization, Jarrow discovered a simple truth. Time management should be easy. It is only when you simplify your approach that you can rise above the busyness and chaos of our fast-paced society. In Time Management Ninja learn: The "21 Rules" that show easier and effective ways of time management How to prioritize your daily tasks The simple principles that allow you to get more done with less effort So much more! Fans of The Compound Effect by Darren Hardy, Make Time by Jake Knapp & John Zeratsky, or 12 Week Year by Brian P. Moran & Michael Lennington will love Time Management Ninja.
ISBN: 9781633538917Publication Date: 2019-09-15
The Return to Study Handbook by
Have you learned how to learn? Written especially for professional or distance learners, part-time or mature students, and formal CPD qualification candidates, The Return to Study Handbook will teach you how to study effectively, ace your ongoing education, and get the grades you need to advance in your career. Whether you need to balance your learning with full or part-time work, or overcome the 'mindset gremlins' stemming from a negative school experience, this book will empower you to effectively manage your own learning and provide you with the full range of mental and practical skills you need to succeed. Packed with practical tools, tips, exercises, case studies and strategies, plus the author's own inspirational story, The Return to Study Handbook not only covers the study skills necessary for any student to be successful - such as effective note-taking; exam technique; and essay writing - but it specifically addresses relevant topics for non-traditional students. With advice on recommended technology aids; handling procrastination and distractions; dealing with overwhelm and avoiding burnout; managing distance learning; and overcoming the mental and emotional barriers of past experiences, this book will guide you through everything you need to achieve the grades and career you want.
ISBN: 9780749496913Publication Date: 2019-09-03
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283