- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- CARD205/405
- Card 205/405 Resources
CARD205/405
Career Development- Career planning strategies and resources are explored to prepare students for a successful job search and to maximize their potential for advancement and long-term professional growth.
CARD205/405Library Resources Tutorial
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
Recommended Websites
- Career OneStop Career resources including occupation profiles, training resources, job search planning and tools and links to American job centers by state.
- Career Perfect Includes sample resumes and cover letters illustrating resume writing style, example resume phrasing and treatment strategies. Samples show a few of the many resume formats / layouts utilized by CareerPerfect's professional resume writing services.
- LinkedIn Professional networking site to make connections in your field and industry.
- O'Net OnLine O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of occupations for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students and researchers. Career Exploration tools assist job seekers in assessing new or changing careers.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook U.S. Government Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational handbook features browsing of occupational groups and searching for individual job profiles. Profiles include critical information such as salaries, trends in occupational growth and specifics of work environment.
- The Princeton Review: Career Search A day in the life of your career. Includes required job credentials and experience, as well as 5 and 10-year future job prospectuses.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Tackling Tough Interview Questions in A Week: Job Interview Questions Made Easy in Seven Simple Steps by ISBN: 9781444159035Publication Date: 2016
Interviewing in a Changing World by
Interviewing in a Changing World offers students the broadest coverage of interviewing available today by including several unique interview situations. Students begin to develop a better understanding of how to utilize strong interviewing skills in several different settings, as this text demonstrates that interviewing techniques differ in accordance with varying situations and contexts. The Second Edition covers employment contexts such as job interviews, persuasive interviews, performance and appraisal interviews, as well as media interviews on radio, television, newspapers, and political reporting. There are two full chapters on research, including interviewing skills needed for both qualitative and quantitative research. The book covers several unique interviewing situations that are on the cutting edge of communication research with an interview with a professional from the field and multiple sidebars on related theoretical and applied issues within each chapter.
ISBN: 9781138080959Publication Date: 2018-01-24
Ultimate Interview by
Are you preparing for an upcoming interview? Are you nervous about making a good impression or want to practise for difficult questions? From the bestselling Ultimate series, Ultimate Interview will give you all the guidance you need when preparing to ace the interview for your dream job. Renowned careers expert, Lynn Williams, will give you the edge on: understanding your interviewer and what they are looking for, highlighting the evidence that you are the perfect candidate through skills and industry knowledge, standing out from the competition, answering questions professionally, navigating the beginning of the interview, coping with difficult questions, dealing with off-the-wall questions, looking the part and knowing how to behave in telephone, video, panel and assessment centre interviews. Ultimate Interview, now in its 5th edition, is a must-have for all serious job-seekers. It contains 100s of sample interview questions, with answer examples, tailored by industry experts to give you a personalized resource. It covers jobs in management, sales and marketing, administration, customer relations, technical industries, practical industries and creative industries. About the series: The Ultimate series contains practical advice on essential job search skills to give you the best chance of getting the job you want. Taking you all the way from starting your job search to completing an interview, it includes guidance on CV or résumé and cover letter writing, practice questions for passing aptitude, psychometric and other employment tests, and reliable advice for interviewing.
ISBN: 9780749481384Publication Date: 2018-07-28
Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting, and Orienting New Employees by
A genuine classic, Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employees is a practical guide to the employment process. Extensively revised, it contains forms, guidelines, and ready-to-use interview questions as well as advice on reference checking, interview methods, documentation issues, orientation programs, and applicant testing. From recruitment to orientation, this updated and accessible guide covers it all. Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employees has long been the go-to reference on every aspect of the employment process. Packed with forms, checklists, guidelines, and ready-to-use interview questions, the revised and updated edition provides readers with practical information on topics including interview methods, documentation issues, reference checking, orientation programs, and applicant testing. This updated edition has been brought completely up to date, addressing new legislation on FMLA, immigration, record keeping, I-9 compliance, and much more. Full of insights on the latest staffing challenges, this comprehensive guide explores changes in technology, such as virtual interviews and recruitment, web-based orientations, and the use of electronic files and social media. Nothing is more important to the productivity of an organization than its hiring program. Recruiting, Interviewing, Selecting & Orienting New Employees provides readers with the tools they need to get employees on board and ready for long-term success.
ISBN: 9780814439920Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Acing the Interview by
At some point, most people have been caught off guard by tough interview questions. This book helps readers take charge of the situation! In Acing the Interview, the employment expert Dr. Phil called "the best of the best" gives job seekers candid advice for answering even the most unexpected questions, including: You really don't have as much experience as we would like--why should we hire you? * How many hours in your previous jobs did you have to work each week to get everything done? * What do you consider most valuable--a high salary, job recognition, or advancement? The book also arms readers with questions to ask prospective employers that could prevent their making a big job mistake: What would you say are the worst parts of this job? * What are the major problems facing the company and this department? * Why aren't you promoting from within? Taking readers through the entire process, from the initial interview to evaluating a job offer, and even into salary negotiation, Acing the Interview is a no-nonsense, take-no-prisoners guide to interview success.
ISBN: 9780814401613Publication Date: 2008-01-23
Surviving the Whiteboard Interview by
The industry standard whiteboard interview can be daunting for developers. Let's face it: it combines the worst aspects of a typical interview, on-the-spot public speaking, a quiz show, and a dinner party full of strangers judging you--all at once. Brilliant developers can let their nerves get the best of them and completely bomb a whiteboard interview, while inexperienced developers who excel in soft skills can breeze through them. In Surviving the Whiteboard Interview, author William Gant uses his real-world knowledge and expertise to guide you through the psychological roadblocks of a coding test while also providing you with a sample coding challenge. With enough preparation, information, and assured confidence, you can survive a whiteboard interview at any organization. In addition to the benefits listed above, Gant helps you explore how you can create a good soft skills impression that will last beyond the whiteboard test by showing your work ethic, positive attitude, and ability to take and implement criticism effectively. These assets will unequivocally serve other parts of your life outside of an interview context, as well. While Gant does not promise that you will ever truly enjoy interviewing, he does promise to arm you with the proper preparation techniques and knowledge needed to tame the common fears and dread that come along with it. Maximize your career potential and get inspired with Surviving the Whiteboard Interview. The steps to your dream role just might be closer than you think. What You Will Learn Practice both hard and soft skills required to succeed at a whiteboard interview, covering coding tests as well as psychological preparation Learn how to make other aspects of your interview stronger, so you can create a great impression Master solving common whiteboard problems in different programming languages Who This Book is For This book is primarily for aspiring software developers who are looking for a job in the field. However, it will also be helpful for more seasoned developers who find interviewing painful and want to improve their skills.
ISBN: 9781484250068Publication Date: 2019-08-02
Resumes for Dummies by
Polish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing! Write effective resumes that will stand out in a crowd Understand Applicant Tracking Systems and how to adapt your resume Keep your resume up with the current culture Position a layoff or other career change and challenge with a positive spin Leverage tips and tricks that give your resume visual power In order to put your best foot forward and stand out in a pile of papers, it's important to have an excellent and effective resume--and now you can.
ISBN: 9781119539285Publication Date: 2019-03-19
LinkedIn Profile Optimization for Dummies by
Optimize your LinkedIn profile--and get results Your LinkedIn profile is essentially a platform to shape how others see you, highlight your abilities, products, or services, and explain how your work impacts lives. Yet many people simply copy and paste their resume and expect job offers and networking opportunities to start rolling in--but that isn't how it works. LinkedIn Profile Optimization For Dummies shows you how to create a profile that enhances your personal brand, controls how others see you, and shapes a successful future for your career. Whether your goal is job search, branding, reputation management, or sales, people are Googling you--and your LinkedIn profile is more often than not their first point of contact. With a focus on who you are, the value you deliver, and the culture you cultivate, the profile you'll create with the help of this guide will make that first connection a positive one--giving you a better chance to see results. Create a powerful LinkedIn profile Discover your personal keywords Showcase your experience and accomplishments Be seen on the world's largest professional social network You never get a second chance to make a great first impression, and LinkedIn Profile Optimization For Dummies helps to ensure you're presenting yourself in the best possible light.
ISBN: 9781119287087Publication Date: 2016-12-27
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283