- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- CEIS101
- CEIS101 Library Resources
CEIS101
Introduction to Technology and Information Systems
Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new window Journal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Percipio This link opens in a new window Percipio delivers engaging content curated into nearly 700 learning channels. Choose from courses, videos, audiobooks, and learning paths on a variety of IT, engineering, and science topics, including certification prep
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window "ProQuest Telecommunications™ is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology."
Recommended Websites
- Arduino - Home The official homepage for Arduino - contains links for downloading Arduino IDE as well as tutorials and a language reference
- Learn C++ - Free Interactive C++ Tutorial Free, online tutorial in basic C++ concepts
- Learn C - Free Interactive C Tutorial Free, online tutorials on basic C programming conceps
- Securing the Internet of Things - Homeland Security DHS' overview of strategic principles and fact sheet on securing IoT
Video Tutorial
eBooks
Complete Electronics Self-Teaching Guide with Projects by
An all-in-one resource on everything electronics-related! For almost 30 years, this book has been a classic text for electronics enthusiasts. Now completely updated for today′s technology, this latest version combines concepts, self-tests, and hands-on projects to offer you a completely repackaged and revised resource. This unique self-teaching guide features easy-to-understand explanations that are presented in a user-friendly format to help you learn the essentials you need to work with electronic circuits. All you need is a general understanding of electronics concepts such as Ohm′s law and current flow, and an acquaintance with first-year algebra. The question-and-answer format, illustrative experiments, and self-tests at the end of each chapter make it easy for you to learn at your own speed. Boasts a companion website that includes more than twenty full-color, step-by-step projects Shares hands-on practice opportunities and conceptual background information to enhance your learning process Targets electronics enthusiasts who already have a basic knowledge of electronics but are interested in learning more about this fascinating topic on their own Features projects that work with the multimeter, breadboard, function generator, oscilloscope, bandpass filter, transistor amplifier, oscillator, rectifier, and more You′re sure to get a charge out of the vast coverage included in Complete Electronics Self-Teaching Guide with Projects!
ISBN: 9781118217320Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Discovering the Internet of Things (IoT) : technology and business process management, inside and outside the innovative firms by
The Internet of Things (IoT) is a disruptive technology increasingly influencing the daily life, the business world and even the global economy. In a nutshell, the IoT can be considered a family of technologies whose purpose is to make any type of object, even without a digital "nature", a device connected to the Internet, likely to take advantage of all the features owned by the objects born to use the network, like the functionality for monitoring and control. Beyond the attention the IoT applications are receiving for consumers and end users (such as the monitoring of personal health, fitness devices or automation), it is reasonable to expect that most of the value materializes in B2B, especially in the manufacture, distribution, infrastructure management and resources. Finally it results in new consumer products and services available to citizens, but the justification of investment in IoT are found mainly in the industrial environment.This e-book took inspiration from the observation of this scenario. Its primary research goal has been to investigate both the impact and the role of the IoT on the business process management in terms of promotion of knowledge flow, innovation and competitiveness. Furthermore, the papers selected for this volume aimed at understanding how the IoT fosters innovation within organizations and which implication this phenomenon can have on the competitiveness of the firms and on its business process management.
ISBN: 9781786352989Publication Date: 2016
IoT Security Issues by
IoT Security Issues looks at the burgeoning growth of devices of all kinds controlled over the Internet of all varieties, where product comes first and security second. In this case, security trails badly. This book examines the issues surrounding these problems, vulnerabilities, what can be done to solve the problem, investigating the stack for the roots of the problems and how programming and attention to good security practice can combat the problems today that are a result of lax security processes on the Internet of Things. This book is for people interested in understanding the vulnerabilities on the Internet of Things, such as programmers who have not yet been focusing on the IoT, security professionals and a wide array of interested hackers and makers. This book assumes little experience or knowledge of the Internet of Things. To fully appreciate the book, limited programming background would be helpful for some of the chapters later in the book, though the basic content is explained. The author, Alasdair Gilchrist, has spent 25 years as a company director in the fields of IT, Data Communications, Mobile Telecoms and latterly Cloud/SDN/NFV technologies, as a professional technician, support manager, network and security architect. He has project-managed both agile SDLC software development as well as technical network architecture design. He has experience in the deployment and integration of systems in enterprise, cloud, fixed/mobile telecoms, and service provider networks. He is therefore knowledgeable in a wide range of technologies and has written a number of books in related fields.
ISBN: 9781501514746Publication Date: 2017-01-23
Iot Technical Challenges and Solutions by
This practical resource highlights the systematic problems Internet of Things is encountering on its journey to mass adoption. Professionals are offered solutions to key questions about IoT systems today, including potential network scalability issues, storage, and computing. Security and privacy are explored and the value of sensor-collected data is explained. Costs of deployment and transformation are covered and the model-driven deployment of IoT systems is explored.
ISBN: 9781630811112Publication Date: 2016-11-30
Internet of Things (IoT): Principles, Paradigms and Applications of IoT by
Providing a systematic source of reference for all aspects of IoT, this book offers a sound understanding of the IoT concepts, architecture, and applications, and improves the awareness of readers about IoT technologies and application areas.
ISBN: 9789389423365Publication Date: 2020
Think Like a Programmer by
Rewire your brain! Examples in this book are written in C++, but will improve your ability to think like a programmer in any language. The real challenge of programming isn't learning a language's syntax—it's learning to creatively solve problems so you can build something great. In this one-of-a-kind text, author V. Anton Spraul breaks down the ways that programmers solve problems and teaches you what other introductory books often ignore: how to Think Like a Programmer. Each chapter tackles a single programming concept, like classes, pointers, and recursion, and open-ended exercises throughout challenge you to apply your knowledge. You'll also learn how to: Split problems into discrete components to make them easier to solve Make the most of code reuse with functions, classes, and libraries Pick the perfect data structure for a particular job Master more advanced programming tools like recursion and dynamic memory Organize your thoughts and develop strategies to tackle particular types of problems Although the book's examples are written in C++, the creative problem-solving concepts they illustrate go beyond any particular language; in fact, they often reach outside the realm of computer science. As the most skillful programmers know, writing great code is a creative art—and the first step in creating your masterpiece is learning to Think Like a Programmer.
ISBN: 9781593274245Publication Date: 2012-08-11
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283