Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Websites
- Research Methods: The Basics Nichols Walliman's comprehensive book on research method in eBook format
- Research Methodology: a Step-by-Step Guide for Beginners A detailed guide to research methods in eBook format
Introduction
"Research methods are a group of methodologies or formalized instructions on how to conduct research. Research methods provide a set of recipes for the scientist.... As a whole, research methods are designed so that scientists can identify patterns and relationships, test and redefine theories, make predictions, interpret culturally or historically significant events, explore diversity, give voice, and advance new theories".
Research methods. (2001). In J. M. Palmisano (Ed.), World of sociology, Gale. Farmington, MI: Gale. Retrieved from http://proxy.devry.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/worldsocs/research_methods/0?institutionId=2985
eBooks
A Gentle Guide to Research Methods by
Provides an overview of research methods, including research design, data collection methods, statistics, and academic writing. This book also includes a coverage of data collection methods - from interviews to indirect observation to card sorts.
ISBN: 9780335230198Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Business Research by
Knowledge of business research is necessary for any business student, as all postgraduate business programmes and business-related disciplines require it. Business Research is a groundbreaking book for student researchers who need to conceive, conduct and complete a new research project for the first time. It concentrates on the business organization and gives invaluable practical advice on going out into the field and conducting interviews, researching problems and learning about organizations. Through its conversational, accessible style and its adoption of a student's perspective, this book will make the process of learning about research enjoyable and the resulting research project outstanding. Business Research is essential reading for students who are studying for one or more modules in research methods for a postgraduate qualification in business and management; students who have a methodological component to one of their modules (eg a module in organizational behaviour); and students who have to conduct an investigation in a business and management field, for a dissertation or project report, and need guidance and assistance on how to approach, conduct and report every aspect of their project.
ISBN: 9780749468958Publication Date: 2013-11-28
Case Study Research Methods by
More people than ever are using case studies in research, yet there is very little guidance on how to construct case studies effectively. Drawing on his vast experience of teaching and mentoring researchers, Bill Gillham here provides a comprehensive guide to this popular method of research.Using real-life examples throughout, Case Study Research Methods guides the reader through all the stages of a case study, from initial design to the processing and writing up of findings. Especially detailed guidance offered on observation techniques, using documentary and electronic sources and physical artifacts, conducting interviews and analyzing and writing up case-study data.
ISBN: 9781441159069Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods by
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods This user-friendly textbook teaches students to understand and apply procedural steps in completing quantitative studies. It explains statistics while progressing through the steps of the hypothesis-testing process from hypothesis to results. The research problems used in the book reflect statistical applications related to interesting and important topics. In addition, the book provides a Research Analysis and Interpretation Guide to help students analyze research articles. Designed as a hands-on resource, each chapter covers a single research problem and offers directions for implementing the research method from start to finish. Readers will learn how to: Pinpoint research questions and hypotheses Identify, classify, and operationally define the study variables Choose appropriate research designs Conduct power analysis Select an appropriate statistic for the problem Use a data set Conduct data screening and analyses using SPSS Interpret the statistics Write the results related to the problem Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods allows students to immediately, independently, and successfully apply quantitative methods to their own research projects.
ISBN: 9781118220757Publication Date: 2012-07-09
