Statistics
Polling Data and Public Opinion
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowAn eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new windowIndustry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Crossref Search the Metadata of over 100 million journal articles, books, standards, datasets and more.
NonProfit Web Resources
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Nonprofit Fundraising 101 by
Raise more money for your cause! Based on expert advice and insights from a variety of respected industry experts, Nonprofit Fundraising 101 is an essential text for nonprofit professionals, volunteers, activists, and social entrepreneurs who want to leverage best practices to promote their cause. Built upon the success of the best-selling Nonprofit Management 101, this easy to digest book provides practical, comprehensive guidance for nonprofit fundraising around the globe. With tips and tools, expert advice, and real-world insights from almost fifty industry leaders, this robust resource addresses the entire spectrum of fundraising for nonprofits, including: Planning, hiring, and tracking progress Individual donors, major gifts, events, and direct mail Board and volunteer engagement Foundation and government grants Corporate partnerships Online and email fundraising Social media and mobile crowdfunding Earned income and social enterprise Written by and for front line practitioners and geared towards a global audience of emerging and established leaders, this field guide offers step-by-step formulas for success. Nonprofit Fundraising 101 features a foreword by fundraising guru and Soul of Money author Lynne Twist, insights from notable non-profit professionals such as CNN's Van Jones, and an afterword by Kiva.org Co-Founder & President Premal Shah. This book also provides indispensible ideas and diverse case studies ranging from grassroots efforts to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and advice for organizations of all sizes and focus. Chapters are brief and easily digestible, featuring extensive resources for additional learning, concrete best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. Enjoy this must-read manual to learn tried and true ways to raise more money for your cause, nonprofit, or charity.
ISBN: 9781119100560Publication Date: 2015-12-29
21st Century Skills for Non-Profit Managers by
Over the last 30 years nonprofit organizations have grown massively in capacity, scope, and authority across the world. With growing demand for services, there are numerous opportunities for nonprofits to respond innovatively and sustainably. Any experienced nonprofit manager knows the role is sometimes frustrating but always exhilarating, working with people and empowering them. Severe funding cuts make this more testing, but new prospects are appearing. If you are new to management or the sector, you need a book describing good practice to inform and guide you. Managing a small nonprofit, requires you to multitask, manage your time and prioritize tasks, while taking on extra responsibilities, you need new skills such as fundraising, all covered in this book. This book covers essential aspects (staffing, communications, charity governance, donations, corporate social responsibility, crowdfunding). With useful case studies, resources and links, it avoids jargon and intellectualizing. Topics include effective business planning, empowering staff and clients, writing successful fundraising applications and preparing government tenders for the U.S. and UK. Don used his experience as a nonprofit manager, volunteer, staffer, fundraiser, community fund overseer, trustee and consultant to make the book relevant, topical and helpful.
ISBN: 9781947098190Publication Date: 2017-10-26
Governance and Performance in Public and Non-Profit Organizations by
Studies in Public and Non-Profit Governance (SPNPG) publishes double-blind peer reviewed articles in a growing area of governance research. The series focuses on the 'micro' level of governance in public and non-profit sector. Compared to the wider debate on corporate governance in the private sector and to the literature on the 'macro' and 'meso' levels of governance in the public sector, the organizational (micro) level of governance remains a neglected area of governance in the public and non-profit sector. Therefore, governance systems, mechanisms and roles are primarily investigated at organizational level. SPNPG allows for the establishment of an engaged community of researchers very active in the field. It aims to contribute to the definition of the theoretical components that assign an innovation role to governance systems in public and non profit organizations. It also highlights the opportunity for a deeper analysis of governance mechanisms in their relationships with both the external (stakeholders) actors and the internal (management) actors and address the conditions which enable governance mechanisms to effectively cover their own roles.
ISBN: 9781786351074Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Impact and Excellence by
Learn to identify, capture, and utilize impactful data for organizational transformation Impact & Excellence is the culmination of a four year research study into the most successful data-driven strategies for today's non-profit and government organizations. The book focuses on five strategic elements to success based on proven principles, with solutions that are easy to implement and often lead to sweeping change. Each chapter includes discussion questions and action items to help leaders implement key concepts in their own organizations. Included with purchase is access to the Measurement Culture Survey, which, will allow readers to access a free benchmark report. Learn to implement a measurement culture that emphasizes strong performance and measurable outcomes Read vivid case studies from successful organizations that do things differently Learn to utilize and leverage data to take decisive actions within your organization Avoid common barriers to developing a measurement culture and learn ways to overcome limitations The book utilizes a series of experiences and templates to help leaders develop a unique action plan tailored to their organization's particular circumstances. Filled with real success stories to inspire readers and with full study results available in the appendix, Impact & Excellence is a crucial resource for leaders to enable their social sector organizations to prosper and compete in today's economy.
ISBN: 9781118911198Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Entrepreneurial Finance by
Featuring key topics within finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship to develop and maintain prosperous business ventures With a comprehensive and organized approach to fundamental financial theories, tools, and management techniques, Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business equips readers with the necessary fundamental knowledge and advanced skills to succeed in small firm and business settings. With a unique combination of topics from finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship, the book prepares readers for the challenges of today's economy. Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business begins with key concepts of small business management and entrepreneurship, including management tools and techniques needed to establish, run, and lead business ventures. The book then delves into how small businesses are operated, managed, and controlled. General finance skills and methods are integrated throughout, and the book also features: Numerous practical examples and scenarios that provide a real-world perspective on entrepreneurship and small business management A brief summary, list of key concepts, and ten discussion questions at the end of each chapter to prepare readers for the challenges of today's economy A practical guide to the complete life of a small business, from establishing a new venture to training and developing young entrepreneurs tasked with maintaining and developing a prosperous economy An in-depth discussion of the entire process of writing a successful business plan, including the rationale, significance, and requirements Techniques needed to solidify the free enterprise tradition, develop entrepreneurial strategies, and grow small businesses Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business is an ideal textbook for upper-undergraduate and first-year graduate courses in entrepreneurial finance within business, economics, management science, and public administration departments. The book is also useful for MBA-level courses as well as for business and management PhD majors as a resource in methodology. The book is also an idea reference for entrepreneurs, business managers, market analysts, and decision makers who require information about the theoretical and quantitative aspects of entrepreneurial finance.
ISBN: 9781118691649Publication Date: 2014-12-16
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283