- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- BIOS135
- Library Resources
BIOS135
This course is an introduction to biology and chemistry, stressing the relatedness and interdependence of biological concepts and their associated chemical features.
Recommended Databases
- Biology Database This link opens in a new window Journal and magazine articles in science and biology
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window "This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more."
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowOver 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
- Science Database This link opens in a new window "This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences."
eBooks
Biochemistry Demystified by
Learn BIOCHEMISTRY without stressing out your brain CELLS Trying to understand the chemical processes of living organisms but having trouble metabolizing the complex concepts? Here's your lifeline! Biochemistry Demystified helps synthesize your understanding of this important topic. You'll start with a review of basic chemical concepts and a look at cell structures and cell division. Next, you'll study carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, nucleic acids, nucleotides, and enzymes. Glycolysis, the citric acid cycle, oxidative phosphorylation, and the control of chemical processes round out the coverage. Hundreds of examples and illustrations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter questions and a final exam help reinforce learning. This fast and easy guide offers: Numerous figures to illustrate key concepts Details on DNA and RNA Coverage of hormones and neurotransmitters A chapter on analytical techniques and bioinformatics A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Biochemistry Demystified is your key to mastering this vital life sciences subject.
ISBN: 9780071495998Publication Date: 2008-07-17
Biology by
* A complete course, from cells to the circulatory system * Hundreds of questions and many review tests * Key concepts and terms defined and explained Master key concepts. Answer challenging questions. Prepare for exams. Learn at your own pace. Are viruses living? How does photosynthesis occur? Is cloning a form of sexual or asexual reproduction? What is Anton van Leeuwenhoek known for? With Biology: A Self-Teaching Guide, Second Edition, you'll discover the answers to these questions and many more. Steven Garber explains all the major biological concepts and terms in this newly revised edition, including the origin of life, evolution, cell biology, reproduction, physiology, and botany. The step-by-step, clearly structured format of Biology makes it fully accessible to all levels of students, providing an easily understood, comprehensive treatment of all aspects of life science. Like all Self-Teaching Guides, Biology allows you to build gradually on what you have learned-at your own pace. Questions and self-tests reinforce the information in each chapter and allow you to skip ahead or focus on specific areas of concern. Packed with useful, up-to-date information, this clear, concise volume is a valuable learning tool and reference source for anyone who needs to master the science of life.
ISBN: 9780471223306Publication Date: 2002-08-19
The Chemistry Companion by
Like the author's other companion books, The Chemistry Companionprovides-high quality information in unique one-page-per-topic presentations that do not overburden and distract with excessive details. The book offers concise summaries of general chemistry concepts, easily accessible in a convenient, reader-friendly format. Suitable as an introduction or study guide, this companion presents the minimum of what readers need to know to understand the subject. It emphasizes the physics underlying chemistry. By looking at chemistry processes from a physics point of view, readers can better appreciate what is happening from the chemical perspective that is usually found in traditional chemistry books. The author focuses on the structure of matter, chemical components and bonds, the periodic table, states of matter, thermodynamics, reaction rates, carbon chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical, ionic, and electronic equilibria. Each topic is covered in a single-page outline format with just enough detail to enable a good understanding of the subject.
ISBN: 9781439830888Publication Date: 2011-08-04
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by
The over 10,000 entries in this comprehensive Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology provide clear and concise definitions for anyone working in life sciences today. It incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology. This fourth revised edition reflects the enormous changes brought about by the explosion of new technologies, especially high throughput approaches and functional genomics. As a result, this edition is over 30% larger than the previous edition, with 3400 new entries. As with the prior edition, additions are reflective of online search queries performed by users of the dictionary. The entries in this authoritative work have been widely praised for their clarity, brevity, and accuracy throughout. The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology features numerous tables and other useful features. * Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 30% with 3400 new entries * Expanded coverage of areas greatly impacted by genomics * Includes new terms that relate to the recent elucidation of underlying mechanisms of cell cycle regulation, apoptosis, relationship between mitochondria and disease, metabolic control, and stem cell biology * Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today * Extensively cross-referenced * Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
ISBN: 9780080550343Publication Date: 2007-10-04
Introduction to Biology by
This book introduces the reader to the field of Biology
ISBN: 9788132319832Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Organic Chemistry by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time?
Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills.
This Schaum's Outline gives you:
Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge
Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field
In-depth review of practices and applications
Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores!
ISBN: 9780071625128Publication Date: 2009-08-26
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283