Recommended Databases
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- Biology Database This link opens in a new window Journal and magazine articles in science and biology
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window "This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more."
- Science Database This link opens in a new window "This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences."
Recommended Websites
- Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals and is committed to improving the nation's health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.
- Amadeo: The Medical Literature Guide AMEDEO has been created to serve the needs of healthcare professionals, including physicians, nurses, pharmacists, administrators, other members of the health professions, and patients and their friends. They can easily access timely, relevant information within their respective fields. AMEDEO�s core components include weekly emails with bibliographic lists about new scientific publications, personal Web pages for one-time download of available abstracts (see example), and an overview of the medical literature published in relevant journals over the past 12 to 24 months.
- American Association for the Advancement of Science The American Association for the Advancement of Science is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science for the benefit of all people.
- American College of Sports Medicine An organization dedicated to "advancing health through science, education and medicine" Check the Public Information section for information on exercise, nutrition, and health
- American Institute of Biological Sciences The American Institute of Biological Sciences is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) scientific association dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society. The website provides limited access to articles from the journal Bioscience.
- BIO BIO is the world's largest trade association representing biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers, and related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other nations.
- BioInteractive The BioInteractive.org site offers award-winning free resources for science educators and students. Here you'll find lectures, classroom activities, illustrations, animations, and much more, courtesy of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
- BioMed Central BioMed Central publishes open access, online and peer-reviewed articles in the areas of biology, science, technology, and medicine.
- BioMed Search BioMedSearch is a biomedical search engine that contains NIH/PubMed documents, a large collection of theses, dissertations, and other proprietary publications not found anywhere else for free, making it one of the most comprehensive and powerful free biomedical searches.
- Cells Alive! Interactive film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for educational use and medical research.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Information on health and safety topics, such as diseases, healthy living, environmental health. Gateway to related CDC organizations.
- Choose My Plate USDA website providing tools for nutrition information, weight management, physical activity, healthy eating tips.
- Environmental Protection Agency Environmental issues, such as air, climate, green living, health and safety, pesticides, etc. Science and Technology section features research on environmental issues, followed by laws and research on those issues.
- Mayo Clinic Non-profit hospital known for treating difficult medical problems, the Clinic's website features information on patient care, health information, Mayo Clinic research.
- Medline Plus: Anatomy Videos Animated videos illustrate the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them. Requires QuickTime plug-in.
- National Institutes of Health The National Institute of Health site highlights the latest science and health news, medical research initiatives and is the gateway to the 27 institutes and centers, which focus their research on specifics diseases or body systems.
- National Science Foundation The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..."
- Nutrition.gov Nutrition.gov is a USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices.
- PubMed A digital archive of life sciences journal literature developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. The database provides access to books, journals, biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.
- U.S. Food & Drug Administration Website features information for consumer, health professional, scientists and researchers and industry providers. Featured topics include nutrition, drugs, medical devices and regulatory information.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Clinical Nutrition for Dummies by
Get up to date on clinical nutrition for school, work, or yourown health From the proper function of the major organs and the role thatproper nutrition plays in their functioning, to a breakdown ofcarbs, proteins, fats, vitamins, and minerals, ClinicalNutrition For Dummies provides you with the easy-to-read guideyou need to immerse yourself in the subject! Written in the funstyle that the For Dummies series has become known for, thebook is perfect for students in the wide variety of fields thatrequire an in-depth understanding of clinical nutrition, or forthose who want to improve their own lives through betternutrition. Dive right into the book for an exploration of the chemical andfunctional components of food, how to properly assess yournutritional intake, the changing face of nutrition throughout thehuman lifespan, and so much more! This handy resource offers awealth of information, and specifically addresses the growingobesity and diabetes epidemics that promise to make the study ofclinical nutrition more important than ever. Includes a completebreakdown of the relationship between nutrition and chronicdiseases. Explores the nutritional requirements at various life stages,from pediatric through geriatric Features information on the importance of proper nutritionduring pregnancy Shares tips for modifying dietary intake and health behaviortheory, along with properly communicating health information Clinical Nutrition For Dummies is your complete, funguide to the topic of nutrition?dive in today to get startedon the pathway to mastering this increasingly importantsubject.
ISBN: 9781118665466Publication Date: 2014-03-10
Biology by
* A complete course, from cells to the circulatory system * Hundreds of questions and many review tests * Key concepts and terms defined and explained Master key concepts. Answer challenging questions. Prepare for exams. Learn at your own pace. Are viruses living? How does photosynthesis occur? Is cloning a form of sexual or asexual reproduction? What is Anton van Leeuwenhoek known for? With Biology: A Self-Teaching Guide, Second Edition, you'll discover the answers to these questions and many more. Steven Garber explains all the major biological concepts and terms in this newly revised edition, including the origin of life, evolution, cell biology, reproduction, physiology, and botany. The step-by-step, clearly structured format of Biology makes it fully accessible to all levels of students, providing an easily understood, comprehensive treatment of all aspects of life science. Like all Self-Teaching Guides, Biology allows you to build gradually on what you have learned-at your own pace. Questions and self-tests reinforce the information in each chapter and allow you to skip ahead or focus on specific areas of concern. Packed with useful, up-to-date information, this clear, concise volume is a valuable learning tool and reference source for anyone who needs to master the science of life.
ISBN: 9780471223306Publication Date: 2002-08-19
Ecological Methods by
4th edition of this classic Ecology text Computational methods have largely been replaced by descriptions of the available software Includes procedure information for R software and other freely available software systems Now includes web references for equipment, software and detailed methodologies
ISBN: 9781118895276Publication Date: 2016-04-04
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by
Describes and illustrates the important aspects of anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology.
ISBN: 9780803615465Publication Date: 2006-10-03
Genetics, Health, and Society by
This volume focuses on critical issues surrounding the intersection of genetics, health, and society. It provides a critical examination of sociological and biomedical approaches to genomics, including strengths and limitations of each perspective.
ISBN: 9781783505685Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Genomes, Evolution, and Culture by
This book combines recent information and discoveries in the field of human molecular biology and human molecular evolution. It provides an interdisciplinary approach drawing together data from various diverse disciplines to address both the more classical anthropological content and the current more contemporary molecular focus of courses. Chapters include a history of human evolutionary genetics; the human genome structure and function; population structure and variability; gene and genomic dynamics; culture; health and disease; bioethics; future.
ISBN: 9781118876404Publication Date: 2016-05-02
Introduction to Biology by
This book introduces the reader to the field of Biology
ISBN: 9788132319832Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Scientific Bases of Human Anatomy by
As medical schools struggle to fit ever more material into a fixed amount of time, students need to approach the study of anatomy through a succinct, integrative overview. Rather than setting forth an overwhelming list of facts to be memorized, this book engages readers with a fascinating account of the connections between human anatomy and a wide array of scientific disciplines, weaving in the latest advances in developmental and evolutionary biology, comparative morphology, and biological engineering. Logically organized around a few key concepts, The Scientific Bases of Human Anatomy presents them in clear, memorable prose, concise tabular material, and a host of striking photographs and original diagrams.
ISBN: 9780471235996Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283