Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 300 full-text periodicals with current news about all branches of the military and government.
- Military Database This link opens in a new window "The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more."
Recommended Websites
- American Red Cross "The American Red Cross prevents and alleviates human suffering in the face of emergencies by mobilizing the power of volunteers and the generosity of donors."
- Bureau of Justice Assistance - Publications Search interface to the Bureau of Justice Assistance's collection of documents
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The CDC website covers diseases and conditions as well as advice for staying healthy. The site also has a section for emergency preparedness (accessible under tabs for Emergency Preparedness and More).
- Data.gov The US Federal Government, which collects all kinds of data, is a good source of data for student reports or business or general information purposes. They are often invisible because they are buried deep in massive websites and because the government is the unique source for important research and information. Statistical data can be found across many government department websites, but it may be hard to track down with a search.
- Defense Technical Information Center This US Department of Defense agency provides essential, technical research, development, testing and evaluation (RDT&E) information rapidly, accurately and reliably to support research needs.
- Department of Health and Human Services - Public Health Emergency Provides public health and emergency medicine support at the national level.
- Disaster Information Management Research Center "The core purpose of the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) is to develop and provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery."
- Emergency Management Institute EMI "provides training to federal, state, local, tribal, volunteer, public, and private sector officials to strengthen emergency management core competencies for professional career-long training."
- Environmental Protection Agency - Emergency Management Branch of the EPA devoted to preventing accidents as well as response capabilities
- Federal Communications Commission - Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau "The FCC's Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau (PSHSB) advises, makes recommendations to, or acts for the Commission under delegated authority, in all matters pertaining to public safety, homeland security, national security, emergency management and preparedness, disaster management, and ancillary operations."
- Federal Emergency Management Agency The federal government's principal disaster assistance organization.
- Homeland Security Digital Library "The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management."
- National Weather Service Provides weather forecast, warning, and safety information.
- Natural Hazards Center The Natural Hazards Center serves "as a national and international clearinghouse of knowledge about the social science and policy aspects of disasters".
- Office of Response and Restoration "NOAA's Office of Response and Restoration (OR&R) is a center of expertise in preparing for, evaluating, and responding to threats to coastal environments, including oil and chemical spills, releases from hazardous waste sites, and marine debris."
- RAND Corporation Collection of public safety white papers produced by the RAND Corporation.
- Ready.gov Ready is a national public service advertising (PSA) campaign designed to educate and empower Americans to prepare for and respond to emergencies including natural and man-made disasters. Ready and its Spanish language version Listo (https://www.ready.gov/es) ask individuals to do three key things: (1) build an emergency supply kit, (2) make a family emergency plan and (3) be informed about the different types of emergencies that could occur and their appropriate responses.
- U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Public Health Emergency Provides public health and emergency medicine support at the US. federal government level.
- U.S. Department of Homeland Security "The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face." The website provides information and resources on a range of homeland security topics.
- U.S. Geological Survey - Natural Hazards As of 2010, the USGS incorporated Natural Hazards ranging from earthquakes and volcanoes to geomagnetism into its mission.
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Business Continuity and Risk Management by
This is the first core textbook specifically designed for senior undergraduate and graduate college courses in business continuity and risk management. Extensively classroom tested, it offers everything instructors need to start a new course or enhance the one they teach�text, test bank, PowerPoint slides, case studies, review topics, discussion questions, bibliographies, and more. The modular design of the text allows flexibility in structuring a core course with the first ten chapters; focus in greater depth on information systems or emergency management with three additional chapters; or incorporate a comprehensive risk management approach with a Risk Modeling module of four chapters. Two of the six case studies are fictional businesses that continue chapter by chapter to help students gain experience in applying each chapter¿s principles to an organization. The first ten chapters cover the fundamentals of business continuity plan development, implementation, and maintenance, including crisis communication and crisis information management systems. The text is also appropriate for corporate professional development classes.
ISBN: 9781931332545Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Crisis and Emergency Management by
More than 12 years have passed since the publication of the first edition of Crisis and Emergency Management. During that time numerous disasters--from 9/11 to massive earthquakes in Iran and China, to the giant Asian Tsunami, Hurricane Katrina, and the Fukushima Tsunami and ensuing nuclear meltdown--have changed the way we manage catastrophic events. With contributions from leading experts, this second edition features 40 new chapters that address recent worldwide crises and what we have learned from emergency responses to them. See What's New in the Second Edition: Up-to-date concepts, theories, and practices Analysis of recent disasters and their effect on emergency management Policy and managerial lessons Suggestions for capacity building in crisis and emergency management The book covers a wide range of international issues using critical, empirical, and quantitative analyses. It discusses various approaches to topics such as resolving political tension and terrorism issues, the potential use of biological weapons, and the role of public relations in crisis. The author offers insight into organizational and community resiliency development; a "surprise management" theory in practice for upgrading the knowledge and skills in managing crises and governing emergencies; and better and more effective organizational, political, social, and managerial coordination in the processes. He presents case studies that enhance and advance the future theory and practice of crisis and emergency management, while at the same time providing practical advice that can be put to use immediately. Managing crises and governing emergencies in such an age of challenges demands a different kind of knowledge, skills, and attitudes that were not available yesterday. This book gives you valuable information with applications at the macro, micro, organizational, and interorganizational levels, preparing you for emergency management in an increasingly globalized and uncertain world.
ISBN: 9780849385131Publication Date: 2014-03-25
Disaster Recovery Planning for Communications and Critical Infrastructure by
Addressing the vulnerabilities in critical infrastructure to natural disasters and terrorism, this practical book describes what public safety and other officials need to do to protect should be doing to pipelines, power plants, telecommunications, and other essential services before the unthinkable happens.
ISBN: 9781596934689Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Emergency Management: A Reference Handbook by
This work is the first nontechnical guide to the principles, practices, policies, and profession of emergency management. * Numerous primary source documents include key legislation as well as FEMA policies and publications * A chronology lists major disasters in the United States along with key emergency management developments
ISBN: 9781598841107Publication Date: 2008-01-18
The Political Economy of Hazards and Disasters by
This volume explores the ways in which economies deal with severe crises: how vulnerability is economically constructed, how production and trade practices adapt to new situations, and how political economic objectives play out in recovery efforts.
ISBN: 9780759113091Publication Date: 2009-04-16
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283