Definition
The preparation of a formalized sequence of instructions that can be recognized and implemented by a computer.
NASA. (n. d.). Scope and subject category guide. Retrieved from http://sti.nasa.gov/sscg/61.html
Keywords
coding theory, electronic data processing, internet programming, object-oriented programming, structured programming, or specific programming languages, such as: C#, C++, Java, ASP, HTML, SQL, ActionScript, Flash
Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window
Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.
Recommended Websites
- Code.org "Code.org® is a non-profit dedicated to expanding access to computer science and increasing participation by women and underrepresented minorities." Includes tutorials on coding.
- Codeacademy "Learn to code interactively, for free."
- CodingBat "CodingBat is a free site of live coding problems to build coding skill in Java and Python."
- Cprogramming.com Cprogramming.com is "focused on helping newbie programmers get started programming as well as helping more advanced programmers find the specific information they're looking for. "
- DevX.com The site contains articles, discussion groups, downloads, news, and tips on various programming languages including C++, HTML5, Java, SQL, VBXML and Windows code.
- FILExt FILExt is a database of file extensions and the various programs that use them.
- Free Programming Books "An uncategorized list of online programming books available for free download"
- GitHub Collaborative version control repository and internet hosting service
- HTML.com Online tutorials on HTML
- The Java Tutorials Oracle-sponsored tutorials with information on the Java programming language. Beginners can follow the "Trails Covering the Basics" links, while more experienced programmers can find information on advanced topics such as security, graphics, and applications development.
- Microsoft Developer Network Library Use this resource to find information on programming tools and languages such as ASP.NET, JavaScript, and C#. Also includes information on cloud and mobile applications programming.
- MDN Web Docs "Web technology for developers" by Mozilla and individual contributors
- Python.org The official website
- Ruby Programming Language The official website
- Stack Overflow An "online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers"
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Beginning Java Programming by
A comprehensive Java guide, with samples, exercises, case studies, and step-by-step instruction Beginning Java Programming: The Object Oriented Approach is a straightforward resource for getting started with one of the world's most enduringly popular programming languages. Based on classes taught by the authors, the book starts with the basics and gradually builds into more advanced concepts. The approach utilizes an integrated development environment that allows readers to immediately apply what they learn, and includes step-by-step instruction with plenty of sample programs. Each chapter contains exercises based on real-world business and educational scenarios, and the final chapter uses case studies to combine several concepts and put readers' new skills to the test. Beginning Java Programming: The Object Oriented Approach provides both the information and the tools beginners need to develop Java skills, from the general concepts of object-oriented programming. Learn to: Understand the Java language and object-oriented concept implementation Use Java to access and manipulate external data Make applications accessible to users with GUIs Streamline workflow with object-oriented patterns The book is geared for those who want to use Java in an applied environment while learning at the same time. Useful as either a course text or a stand-alone self-study program, Beginning Java Programming is a thorough, comprehensive guide.
ISBN: 9781118739495Publication Date: 2015-03-02
Beginning Programming All-In-One for Dummies by
Let there be code! Beginning Programming All-in-One For Dummies offers one guide packed with 7 books to teach you programming across multiple languages. Coding can seem complex and convoluted, but Dummies makes it simple and easy to understand. You'll learn all about the principles of programming, algorithms, data structures, debugging programs, unique applications of programming and more while learning about some of the most popular programming languages used today. Move confidently forward in your computer science coursework or straight into the workforce. You'll come away with a rock-solid foundation in the programming basics, using data, coding for the web, and building killer apps. Learn the basics of coding, including writing and compiling code, using algorithms, and data structures Get comfortable with the syntax of several different programming languages Wrap your mind around interesting programming opportunities such as conducting biological experiments within a computer or programming a video game engine Develop cross-platform applications for desktop and mobile devices This essential guide takes the complexity and convolution out of programming for beginners and arms you with the knowledge you need to follow where the code takes you.
ISBN: 9781119884408Publication Date: 2022-06-21
C# 24-Hour Trainer by
Quickly learn to program in C# programming with this unique book and video package C# 24-Hour Trainer, 2nd Edition is your quick and easy guide to programming in C#, even if you have no programming experience at all. Updated to align with the latest C# standard, this book is your comprehensive beginner's guide, with each lesson supplemented by a video, for over ten hours of video training. Each chapter focuses on a specific concept or technique, with detailed, easy-to-follow explanation followed by a hands-on exercise. The goals of each exercise are outlined in advance to help you understand what you're working toward, and step-by-step instructions walk you through the operation from start to finish. Complex areas are clarified with specifically highlighted pointers that head off confusion, and additional exercises are provided so you can practice your new skills. Full instructor ancillaries are included to make this guide classroom ready, and the author's own website offers ongoing support. C# has become one of the most popular programming languages in the world, with millions of lines of code used in businesses and applications of all types and sizes. This book helps you dive right in so you can start programming right away. Start right in with the latest C# standard Learn at your own pace, with hands-on practice Clear up confusion and work around common obstacles Build your own Windows, .NET, and mobile applications C# has become a increasingly popular and in-demand programming skillsets. If you've decided to learn C#, this 24-Hour Trainer is your ultimate guide.
ISBN: 9781119065661Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Raspberry Pi Cookbook by
With millions of new users and several new models, the Raspberry Pi ecosystem continues to expand--along with a lot of new questions about the Pi's capabilities. The second edition of this popular cookbook provides more than 240 hands-on recipes for running this tiny low-cost computer with Linux, programming it with Python, and hooking up sensors, motors, and other hardware--including Arduino and the Internet of Things. Prolific hacker and author Simon Monk also teaches basic principles to help you use new technologies with Raspberry Pi as its ecosystem continues to develop. This cookbook is ideal for programmers and hobbyists familiar with the Pi through resources, including Getting Started with Raspberry Pi (O'Reilly). Python and other code examples from the book are available on GitHub. Set up your Raspberry Pi and connect to a network Work with its Linux-based operating system Program Raspberry Pi with Python Give your Pi "eyes" with computer vision Control hardware through the GPIO connector Use Raspberry Pi to run different types of motors Work with switches, keypads, and other digital inputs Use sensors to measure temperature, light, and distance Connect to IoT devices in various ways Create dynamic projects with Arduino
ISBN: 9781491939109Publication Date: 2016-06-12
Programming the Raspberry Pi, Second Edition: Getting Started with Python by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An updated guide to programming your own Raspberry Pi projects Learn to create inventive programs and fun games on your powerful Raspberry Pi--with no programming experience required. This practical book has been revised to fully cover the new Raspberry Pi 2, including upgrades to the Raspbian operating system. Discover how to configure hardware and software, write Python scripts, create user-friendly GUIs, and control external electronics. DIY projects include a hangman game, RGB LED controller, digital clock, and RasPiRobot complete with an ultrasonic rangefinder. Updated for Raspberry Pi 2 Set up your Raspberry Pi and explore its features Navigate files, folders, and menus Write Python programs using the IDLE editor Use strings, lists, functions, and dictionaries Work with modules, classes, and methods Create user-friendly games using Pygame Build intuitive user interfaces with Tkinter Attach external electronics through the GPIO port Add powerful Web features to your projects
ISBN: 9781259587405Publication Date: 2015-10-05
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283