Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new window Journal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Full-text periodicals covering "all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as...performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and...thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world".
Web Resources
- Microsoft Support SiteSearch the Microsoft Knowledge Base for ACCESS support answers.
- Microsoft Access TutorialsThe goal of these tutorials is to provide you with sufficient skills to build a simple database application.
- Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN) LibraryThe Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN) is a set of online services designed to help developers write applications using Microsoft products and technologies.
- What you need to know about databases and SQL.For a simple explanation of what a database really is, read this! Look for the print article link at the bottom. This article also provides some SQL information on a beginner level.
- SQL Tutorial with online SQL interpreterThis is an introductory SQL tutorial that allows you to practice SQL commands interactively online.
eBooks
Access 2019 Bible by
Master database creation and management Access 2019 Bible is your, comprehensive reference to the world's most popular database management tool. With clear guidance toward everything from the basics to the advanced, this go-to reference helps you take advantage of everything Access 2019 has to offer. Whether you're new to Access or getting started with Access 2019, you'll find everything you need to know to create the database solution perfectly tailored to your needs, with expert guidance every step of the way. The companion website features all examples and databases used in the book, plus trial software and a special offer from Database Creations. Start from the beginning for a complete tutorial, or dip in and grab what you need when you need it. Access enables database novices and programmers to store, organize, view, analyze, and share data, as well as build powerful, integrable, custom database solutions -- but databases can be complex, and difficult to navigate. This book helps you harness the power of the database with a solid understanding of their purpose, construction, and application. Understand database objects and design systems objects Build forms, create tables, manipulate datasheets, and add data validation Use Visual Basic automation and XML Data Access Page design Exchange data with other Office applications, including Word, Excel, and more From database fundamentals and terminology to XML and Web services, this book has everything you need to maximize Access 2019 and build the database you need.
ISBN: 9781119514756Publication Date: 2018-10-23
Access in Easy Steps by
Access in easy steps has an easy-to-follow style that will appeal to anyone who wants to get more from the Microsoft Access app. Whether you're using Access in the Office 365 suite or standalone Office product, you can use this guide to learn the key features and get more out of Access. Learn how to: Optimize database design for efficiency Create Tables to store data Use handy templates and get a head start Make queries to extract specific data Produce user-friendly Forms for data entry Explore basic SQL for advanced queries Construct informative Reports quickly Import and export data to Excel and Word Securely share your well-designed database and reports that'll impress your colleagues! Access in easy steps contains separate chapters on the major features of the Access app. There are complete examples that demonstrate each aspect of Access, together with screenshots that illustrate the actual output. This book neatly demonstrates the important functions of Microsoft Access in a clear and concise manner, so you can get going quickly with this popular database application. Illustrated using Access 2019.
ISBN: 9781840788235Publication Date: 2019-06-25
Pro SQL Server on Microsoft Azure by
Learn the basics of Microsoft Azure and see how SQL Server on Azure VMs (Infrastructure-as-a-Service) and Azure SQL Databases (Platform-as-a-Service) work. This concise book shows you how to deploy, operate, and maintain your data using any one or a combination of these offerings along with your on-premise environment. Pro SQL Server on Microsoft Azure is a quintessential book for any IT professional who is planning to host their data on Microsoft Azure. This book will not only equip you with the tips, tricks, and tools to manage SQL Server offerings on Azure, but will also help you in deciding between PaaS, IaaS, or hybrid. In the ever-changing world of operations, IT administrators and SQL Server DBAs often find that the biggest challenges occur once they've deployed to the cloud. This is precisely why Pro SQL Server on Microsoft Azure was written; it will help you master today's cloud world. What You'll Learn Understand the Microsoft Azure IaaS architecture Work with Azure Storage and Networking Deploy SQL Server on Azure VMs using best practices Apply effective security principles to SQL Azure Databases Measure and optimize the performance of SQL Server offerings on Azure Implement Business continuity and disaster recovery options with Azure SQL Databases Who This Book Is For This book is for IT admins and SQL Server DBAs who are managing or would be managing SQL Server deployments on Microsoft Azure.v>
ISBN: 9781484220825Publication Date: 2016-08-24
Microsoft Access 365 Complete: in Practice, 2019 Edition by
Microsoft® Access 365/2019: In Practice offers afresh approach to teaching today's students Microsoft® Access skills by clearly introducing skills in logical order: 1) Topic 2) Instruction and 3) Practice. Nordell's TIP approach builds a foundation for success by helping students apply what they learn, and provides transferable skills that allow students to grasp critical thinking beyond the textbook assignments. In Practice seamlessly integrates with SIMnet, McGraw-Hill Education's learning and assessment solution, which houses content to help students practice and master Microsoft® Access skills. In Practice auto-graded projects allow students to practice their skills in a live application, and upon completion receive immediate feedback and insights. The integration of the In Practice textbook series with SIMnet, helps meet the diverse needs of students and accommodate individual learning styles.
ISBN: 9781260818659Publication Date: 2019-08-27
SQL for Dummies by
Get ready to make SQL easy! Updated for the latest version of SQL, the new edition of this perennial bestseller shows programmers and web developers how to use SQL to build relational databases and get valuable information from them. Covering everything you need to know to make working with SQL easier than ever, topics include how to use SQL to structure a DBMS and implement a database design; secure a database; and retrieve information from a database; and much more. SQL is the international standard database language used to create, access, manipulate, maintain, and store information in relational database management systems (DBMS) such as Access, Oracle, SQL Server, and MySQL. SQL adds powerful data manipulation and retrieval capabilities to conventional languages--and this book shows you how to harness the core element of relational databases with ease. Server platform that gives you choices of development languages, data types, on-premises or cloud, and operating systems Find great examples on the use of temporal data Jump right in--without previous knowledge of database programming or SQL As database-driven websites continue to grow in popularity--and complexity--SQL For Dummies is the easy-to-understand, go-to resource you need to use it seamlessly.
ISBN: 9781119527077Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283