- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Business and Economics
- Business and Economics Resources
Business and Economics
The field of study concerned with production, distibution, and consumption of goods and services
Definition
Business is an inclusive term but specifically designates the activities of those engaged in the purchase or sale of commodities or in related financial transactions.
Business. (2014). Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved from http://www.britannica.com.proxy.devry.edu/bps/dictionary?query=business
Economics is the modern field of study concerned with production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services.
Economics. (2002). Greenwood encyclopedia of international relations. Retrieved from http://proxy.devry.edu/login?qurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.credoreference.com.proxy.devry.edu%2Fcontent%2Fentry%2Fabcintrel%2Feconomics%2F0
Keywords
business, business cycles, business enterprises, businessmen, capitalism, commerce, ecommerce, econometrics, economics, entrepreneurship, management, macroeconomics, microeconomics
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window "This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots".
- Business Plans Handbook This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Includes a business plan template, two fictional business plans, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants
- Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window A special search tool or finding business information in Ebscohost databases
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- Gale Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window "Detailed company and industry profiles, thousands of company histories and industry essays, business news, and more."
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Percipio This link opens in a new window Percipio delivers engaging content curated into nearly 700 learning channels. Choose from courses, videos, audiobooks, and learning paths on a variety of IT, engineering, and science topics, including certification prep
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window More than 75 regional publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Recommended Websites
- Bankrate Bankrate provides information on mortgage, credit card, and saving interest rates.
- Bplans Bplans provides access to sample business plans and information on starting up a business, including information on funding resources, blog posts, and articles.
- CEOExpress CEOExpress is a directory of business web resources covering news, magazines, research, and surveys in all aspects of business.
- EDGAR Corporate reports filed with the US Security and Exchange Commission in a searchable database. Reports include 10-K and Annual for all publicly owned US companies.
- Federal Reserve Economic Data This internet site provides access to economic data collected and used by the Federal Reserve System.
- Federal Reserve System Federal Reserve System internet site provides information on government regulations, policy, and research on the United States economy.
- Fortune Global 500 This is Fortune Magazine’s annual ranking of the world's largest companies with revenue and profit information, including CEOs, fastest growing companies, and brief company descriptions
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Covers all aspects of employment and economics in the United States of America including inflation, pay, benefits, unemployment, and prices.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Business & Industry Access to statistics concerning economic indicators and national economic data for the United States.
- U.S. Small Business Administration The SBA provides information on finance, laws, regulations, training, and advocacy related to small businesses.
Recommended eJournals
- B>Quest Publishes academic and practical articles from various schools of thought.
- Business Research "Business Research publishes high-quality articles covering both traditional fields of business administration and cross-functional, multidisciplinary research that reflects the complex character of business problems."
- International Journal of Business Science & Applied Management "The mission of the International Journal of Business Science and Applied Management is to enhance the dissemination of knowledge across the business and management community. The key disciplines are e-business, general management, international business, strategy, marketing, supply chain management, organization studies, entrepreneurship, enterprise, innovation, and human resource management."
- International Journal of Management and Economics "IJME is a platform for scientific discussion and knowledge sharing open for all researchers worldwide. IJME aims to enhance the body of knowledge in a variety of economic disciplines, such as economy, management, business administration, finance, marketing, logistics, entrepreneurship, etc."
- Management and Economics Research Journal "Management and Economics Research Journal (MERJ) publishes open-access peer-reviewed research papers, reviews, case studies and research notes."
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Business Ethics by
The Business and Society (BAS) 360 book series is an annual publication targeting cutting-edge developments in the broad business and society field, such as stakeholder management, corporate social responsibility and citizenship, business ethics, sustainability, corporate governance and others. Each volume will feature a comprehensive discussion and review of the current 'state' of the research and theoretical developments in a specific business and society area. As business and society is an inherently multi-disciplinary scholarly area, the book series will draw from work in areas outside of business and management, such as psychology, sociology, philosophy, religious studies, economics and other related fields, as well as the natural sciences, education and other professional areas of study. This volume focuses on research drawn from work grounded in 'Business Ethics.' Scholars known in this discipline contribute to a 360-degree evaluation of the theory, including cross-discipline research, empirical explorations, cross-cultural studies, literature critiques and meta-analysis projects. The book should appeal to a wide range of readers; from emerging and senior business school educators researching and teaching in the business and society field, to doctoral and masters level students across the business, social sciences and natural sciences seeking to learn about this multi-discipline and sustained field of management study. Business executives and managers could benefit from reading how the business and society field began, the path it has taken and the new, emerging directions that scholars envision for the field.
ISBN: 9781789736847Publication Date: 2019-06-07
Business Problem-Solving and Strategy by
A FUN AND APPROACHABLE WAY TO LEARN IMPORTANT BUSINESS PRINCIPLES Do you want to improve your business performance? Or are you looking for a basic understanding of business strategy? Whatever your reason for picking up this book, Business Problem-Solving and Strategy: Manga For Success makes business strategy concepts easy to understand using practical examples and situations. You'll read about: Important business analysis tools like SWOT analysis and issue analysis Strategic option assessment Developing and executing a strategy for any business situation The story follows Kazumi who takes over operations at her father's confectionery company. With the help of her mentor, Business Planning Manager Takeda, she formulates a viable plan for turning the business around, building trust among key stakeholders, and successfully convincing the CEO to implement the plan companywide. With this approachable book, you'll quickly grasp business analysis topics and have fun learning how to apply them in the real world. Find out why the Manga For Success series--now available in English for the first time--is so popular in Japan, Korea, and beyond.
ISBN: 9781394176175Publication Date: 2023-04-25
Human Resource Management by
Human Resource Management: People and Organisations provides thorough coverage of key HR topics and their context to enable students to excel in their academic studies and begin a successful career as a people professional. Now fully updated for a third edition, Human Resource Management: People and Organisations covers everything from essential UK employment law and managing the employment relationship through to resourcing and workforce planning, employee engagement and reward management. There is also expert discussion on organisation design and development as well as advice on how to improve organisational performance. This edition now includes brand new chapters on people management in an international context, wellbeing at work and equity, diversity and inclusion This book is fully supported by a range of pedagogical features including learning outcomes to summarise the content that will be covered in each chapter and track progress, reflective activities to consolidate learning and further reading suggestions to aid wider engagement with areas of particular interest. Case studies throughout also help students understand how the theory applies in practice. It is ideal reading for anyone studying the CIPD Associate Diploma in People Management as well as those in the early stages of their career in HR.. Online resources include PowerPoint slides, a lecturer guide and annotated web links.
ISBN: 9781398606944Publication Date: 2022-09-03
International Business by
Leveraging their extensive background filled with real-world experiences in a variety of countries at major corporations, authors Shad Morris and James Oldroyd provide a product that is clear, concise, and effective. Their inspiration to write was their desire to create an international business course that truly prepares the students to embark in the global business market and do so in a way that is easy for the instructors to use AND engaging for the students.
ISBN: 9781119244837Publication Date: 2021
Learn Small Business Start-Up in 7 Days by
The practical guide to learning the essentials of starting your own business in just one week Thinking about starting a business? Then Learn Small Business Startup in 7 Days is the book for you. Guiding you through the key aspects of getting a new business up and running, from a self assessment about whether you are really prepared, through to finance, marketing, and legal issues, highly sought-after small business commentator Heather Smith covers it all. Carefully explaining everything you need to know to efficiently and effectively start a business, the book comprehensively covers the basics in 7 chapters, one for every day it will take you to get ready to leave the rat race and live your small business dream. Covers everything you need to know to start and prosper as a small business owner Helps you gauge whether running a small business is right for you Offers expert advice from a highly-respected small-business specialist While running a small business allows you to turn your passion into your livelihood, it is also often very demanding on your time, your cash reserves, and your sanity. With this book in hand, you have everything you need to lay a solid foundation for small business success.
ISBN: 9780730378235Publication Date: 2013-04-22
Macroeconomics, Third Edition by
This book brings these theories together under one methodological roof, where the choices made by economic agents depend on their varying perceptions of the economic constraints they face, combining new classical principles, under which the economy operates at full employment, with theories that allow for extended periods of underemployment brought about by mixed signals from workers and employers. The task of macroeconomics is to provide the tools for understanding the performance of the aggregate economy, as measured by production, employment, inflation, and other economic indicators. Most books on this topic compare different theories of macroeconomic performance, under alternative assumptions about how individual consumers, workers and investors adjust to the economic environment in which they find themselves. This book brings these theories together under one methodological roof, where the choices made by economic agents depend on their varying perceptions of the economic constraints they face, combining new classical principles, under which the economy operates at full employment, with theories that allow for extended periods of underemployment brought about by mixed signals from workers and employers. The book takes up modern monetary theory and its bearing on the massive deficits run up the federal government over the ongoing 'corona contraction' and the earlier 'great contraction'. The author also reviews the policy interventions undertaken by the federal government during these contractions, with a view toward assessing their effectiveness.
ISBN: 9781953349255Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Maximum Performance by
Based on twelve years involvement with more two thousand MBAs, managers and professionals, Maximum Performance is a comprehensive analysis of leading and managing people set against a backdrop of accelerating organizational, business and technological change. It covers traditional topics - such as personal performance and stress management, employee motivation and performance, power and politics, communication skills and leading and managing change, as well as more contemporary issues, such as business ethics in a global economy and leadership in high-tech and virtual organizations. It also looks at how leaders and managers can create cultures to promote essential modern organizational competencies such as creativity and innovation, the effective dissemination and use of knowledge and intellectual capital, and creating systemic intelligent learning capabilities amongst employees. Maximum Performance represents a distillation of the best practical ideas about leadership and people management of recent times, condensed into a form that busy managers and professionals can assimilate and make immediate use of at work in large, medium-sized or small organizations, and in the public or private sector.
ISBN: 9781845420000Publication Date: 2005-01-27
Methods and Applications of Statistics in Business, Finance, and Management Science by
Inspired by the Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, Second Edition, this volume presents the tools and techniques that are essential for carrying out best practices in the modern business world The collection and analysis of quantitative data drives some of the most important conclusions that are drawn in today's business world, such as the preferences of a customer base, the quality of manufactured products, the marketing of products, and the availability of financial resources. As a result, it is essential for individuals working in this environment to have the knowledge and skills to interpret and use statistical techniques in various scenarios. Addressing this need, Methods and Applications of Statistics in Business, Finance, and Management Science serves as a single, one-of-a-kind resource that guides readers through the use of common statistical practices by presenting real-world applications from the fields of business, economics, finance, operations research, and management science. Uniting established literature with the latest research, this volume features classic articles from the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences, Second Edition along with brand-new contributions written by today's leading academics and practitioners. The result is a compilation that explores classic methodology and new topics, including: Analytical methods for risk management Statistical modeling for online auctions Ranking and selection in mutual funds Uses of Black-Scholes formula in finance Data mining in prediction markets From auditing and marketing to stock market price indices and banking, the presented literature sheds light on the use of quantitative methods in research relating to common financial applications. In addition, the book supplies insight on common uses of statistical techniques such as Bayesian methods, optimization, simulation, forecasting, mathematical modeling, financial time series, and data mining in modern research. Providing a blend of traditional methodology and the latest research, Methods and Applications of Statistics in Business, Finance, and Management Science is an excellent reference for researchers, managers, consultants, and students in the fields of business, management science, operations research, supply chain management, mathematical finance, and economics who must understand statistical literature and carry out quantitative practices to make smart business decisions in their everyday work.
ISBN: 9780470405109Publication Date: 2010-07-13
Organizational Behavior by
Our goal with this 13th Edition is to keep this first mainline organizational behavior text up-todate with the latest and relevant theory building, basic and applied research, and the best-practice applications. We give special recognition of this scientific foundation by our subtitle¬--An Evidence-Based Approach. As emphasized in the introductory chapter, the time has come to help narrow the theory/research-effective application/practice gap. This has been the mission from the beginning of this text. As "hard evidence" for this theory/research based text, we can say unequivocally that no other organizational behavior text has close to the number of footnote references. For example, whereas a few texts may have up to 40 or even 50 references for a few chapters, all the chapters of this text average more than twice that amount. This edition continues the tradition by incorporating recent breakthrough research to provide and add to the evidence on the theories and techniques presented throughout. Two distinguishing features that no other organizational behavior textbook can claim are the following: 1) We are committed at this stage of development of the field of OB to a comprehensive theoretical framework to structure our text. Instead of the typical potpourri of chapters and topics, there is now the opportunity to have a sound conceptual framework to present our now credible (evidence-based) body of knowledge. We use the widely recognized, very comprehensive social cognitive theory to structure this text. We present the background and theory building of this framework in the introductory chapter and also provide a specific model (Figure 1.5) that fits in all 14 chapters. Importantly, the logic of this conceptual framework requires two chapters not found in other texts and the rearrangement and combination of several others. For example, in the opening organizational context part there is Chapter 4, "Reward Systems," and in the cognitive processes second part, Chapter 7, "Positive Organizational Behavior and Psychological Capital," that no other text contains. 2) The second unique feature reflects our continuing basic research program over the years. Chapter 7 contains our most recent work on what we have termed "Positive Organizational Behavior" and "Psychological Capital" (or PsyCap). The three of us introduced the term "Psychological Capital" in our joint article in 2004]. To meet the inclusion criteria (positive; theory and research based; valid measurement; open to development; and manage for performance improvement), for the first time the topics of optimism, hope, happiness/subjective well-being, resiliency, emotional intelligence, selfefficacy, and our overall core construct of psychological capital have been given chapter status. Just as real-world management can no longer afford to evolve slowly, neither can the academic side of the field. With the uncertain, very turbulent environment most organizations face today, drastically new ideas, approaches, and techniques are needed both in the practice of management and in the way we study and apply the field of organizational behavior. This text mirrors these needed changes. Social Cognitive Conceptual Framework. The book contains 14 chapters in four major parts. Social cognitive theory explains organizational behavior in terms of both environmental, contextual events and internal cognitive factors, as well as the dynamics and outcomes of the organizational behavior itself. Thus, Part One provides the evidence-based and organizational context for the study and application of organizational behavior.
ISBN: 9781681231198Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Principles of Economics in a Nutshell by
Principles of Economics in a Nutshell provides a succinct overview of contemporary economic theory. This key text introduces economics as a social science, presenting the discipline as an evolving field shaped within historical context rather than a fixed set of ideas. Chapters on microeconomics introduce concepts of scarcity and tradeoffs, market analysis (the Marshallian cross of supply and demand) and the theory of the firm and market structure. Chapters on macroeconomics begin with an explanation of national income accounting, followed by discussions of macroeconomic theory in the goods market and in the money market from both a Keynesian and Classical view. The text concludes with examples of how to expand upon core material, introducing the perspectives of feminist and ecological economics. This book will be of great importance to students new to economics and is ideal for use on single-semester Principles courses or as a primer on economics courses in other settings. The text is fully supported by online resources, which include a set of analytical questions and suggestions for further reading for each chapter.
ISBN: 9781000043730Publication Date: 2020-04-03
The Rise and Fall of American Growth by
In the century after the Civil War, an economic revolution improved the American standard of living in ways previously unimaginable. Electric lighting, indoor plumbing, motor vehicles, air travel, and television transformed households and workplaces. But has that era of unprecedented growth come to an end? Weaving together a vivid narrative, historical anecdotes, and economic analysis, The Rise and Fall of American Growth challenges the view that economic growth will continue unabated, and demonstrates that the life-altering scale of innovations between 1870 and 1970 cannot be repeated. Gordon contends that the nation's productivity growth will be further held back by the headwinds of rising inequality, stagnating education, an aging population, and the rising debt of college students and the federal government, and that we must find new solutions. A critical voice in the most pressing debates of our time, The Rise and Fall of American Growth is at once a tribute to a century of radical change and a harbinger of tougher times to come.
ISBN: 9780691147727Publication Date: 2016-01-12
Statistics for Business by
Statistics for Business is meant as a textbook for students in business, computer science, bioengineering, environmental technology, and mathematics. In recent years, business statistics is used widely for decision making in business endeavours. It emphasizes statistical applications, statistical model building, and determining the manual solution methods. Special Features: This text is prepared based on "self-taught" method. For most of the methods, the required algorithm is clearly explained using flow-charting methodology. More than 200 solved problems provided. More than 175 end-of-chapter exercises with answers are provided. This allows teachers ample flexibility in adopting the textbook to their individual class plans. This textbook is meant to for beginners and advanced learners as a text in Statistics for Business or Applied Statistics for undergraduate and graduate students.
ISBN: 9780429811500Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Total Quality Management by
Total Quality Management: Key Concepts and Case Studies provides the full range of management principles and practices that govern the quality function. The book covers the fundamentals and background needed, as well as industry case studies and comprehensive topic coverage, making it an invaluable reference to both the novice and the more experienced individual. Aspects of quality control that are widely utilized in practice are combined with those that are commonly referred to on University courses, and the latest developments in quality concepts are also presented. This book is an ideal quick reference for any manager, designer, engineer, or researcher interested in quality. Features two chapters on the latest ISO standards Includes an introduction to statistics to help the reader fully grasp content on statistical quality control Contains case studies that explore many TQM themes in real life situations
ISBN: 9780128110355Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283