- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ENGL510
- Library Resources
ENGL510
Foundations of Professional Communication- This course helps improve students’ ability to communicate effectively in professional environments by enhancing their understanding and shape readers’ responses in business situations.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Winning Presentations by
Jerry Weissman, world-renowned guru of the corporate presentation and best-selling author, offers everyone, even absolute beginners, the benefit of his experience and expertise in crafting and delivering unforgettable speeches. Using the author's practical advice and step-by-step methods from his best-selling book, Presenting to Win, anyone can master the difficult task of communicating a call-to-action to others, be it a new customer, an employer, or an audience of hundreds. The key to Weissman's philosophy is discovering what in the presentation represents the "Aha!" moment for the audience. Instead of focusing on flashy PowerPoint gimmicks or crafting facts to prove a point, this book walks the reader through the entire preparation process from brainstorming ideas and creating a story to preparing the slides and delivering the speech. Using case studies from his work with companies like Yahoo!, Intel, Intuit, Cisco Systems, and Microsoft, Weissman demonstrates the techniques that have won him the respect and confidence of high-powered CEOs from around the world. After using this book to craft a high-quality message, even the most timid beginner will perform like a top-dollar, persuasive presenter with the audience feedback to prove it.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780789731210Publication Date: 2004-03-23
Front Line Guide to Communicating with Employees by
Here is a useful guide to communicating with employees, co-workers and bosses ¿ packed with advice for improving the way you communicate throughout your professional and personal activities. If you really want to become a good communicator, you can do it ¿ with this guide. And the payoff will be immediate and obvious. Written for new managers but full of insight for veterans as well, this book focuses on the communication abilities, skills and practices commonly associated with highly effective leaders. You¿ll learn good managers must go beyond simply ordering people around. They must make the effort to listen to employees and empower them with their words. And that¿s the most basic of all communication skills you¿ll be reminded of throughout this book ¿ paying attention to your people.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780874259407Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The Handbook of Communication Skills by
The Handbook of Communication Skillsis recognised as one of the core texts in the field of communication. This thoroughly revised and updated third edition arrives at a time of considerable growing interest in this area, with recent research showing the importance of communication skills for success in many walks of life. The book's core principle, that interpersonal communication can be conceptualized as a form of skilled activity, is examined in detail and a comprehensive transactional model of skilled communication is presented, which takes into account current conceptual and research perspectives. This book provides a comprehensive analysis of research, theory and practice in the key skill areas of communication, such as non-verbal communication, persuasion, leadership, assertiveness, self-disclosure, listening and negotiation. Each chapter is written by a recognised authority in that particular specialism, among them world leaders in their particular fields. In the ten years since the last edition, a large volume of research has been published and the text has been comprehensively updated by reviewing this wealth of data. In addition a new chapter on persuasion has been added - one of the areas of most rapid growth in social psychology and communication. The Handbook of Communication Skillsrepresents the most significant single contribution to the literature in this domain. It will be of continued interest to researchers and students in psychology and communication, as well as in a variety of other contexts, from vocational courses in health, business and education, to many others such as nursing and social work whose day-to-day work is dependent on effective interpersonal skills.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780415359108Publication Date: 2006-06-13
Impressive First Impressions by
This book provides systematic frameworks, insightful information, and practical tips that will help professionals and job seekers boost their first impression on others and increase their value to employers—both in the physical and virtual world. * Illustrations and photographs * A rich bibliography of nearly 150 resources cited by the authors * A comprehensive index * Numerous checklists
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780313375941Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Online Communication by
"Online Communication" provides an introduction to both the technologies of the Internet Age and their social implications. This innovative and timely textbook brings together current work in communication, political science, philosophy, popular culture, history, economics, and the humanities to present an examination of the theoretical and critical issues in the study of computer-mediated communication. Authors Andrew F. Wood and Matthew J. Smith introduce computer-mediated communication (CMC) as a subject of academic research, as well as a lens through which to examine contemporary trends in society. "Online Communication" covers such topics as online identity, mediated relationships, virtual communities, electronic commerce, the digital divide, and spaces of resistance. This text also examines how the Internet has affected contemporary culture and presents the critiques being made to those changes. This classroom resource will help students conceptualize the human uses of the Internet through an examination of emerging theories, offering explanations for what people are doing with this technology in social and communication contexts. Advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and researchers interested in the field of computer-mediated communication, as well as those studying issues of technology and culture, will find "Online Communication" to be an important step forward in studying the role of technology and mediated communication in today's society.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780805837315Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Say It with Presentations by
This is a follow on text to Say It With Charts and aims to give managers all of the tools, tips and techniques needed to give a successful, audience-friendly presentation.'
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780071354073Publication Date: 1999-12-21
Virtual Teams That Work by
Virtual Teams That Work offers a much-needed, comprehensive guidebook for business leaders and managers who want to create the organizational conditions that will help virtual teams thrive. Each chapter in this important book focuses on best practices and includes case studies and illustrative examples from a wide variety of companies, including British Petroleum, Lucent Technologies, Ramtech, SoftCo, and Whirlpool Corporation. These real-life examples demonstrate how the principles identified in the book play out within virtual teams. Virtual Teams That Work shows how organizations can put in place the structure to help team members who speak different languages and have different cultural values develop effective ways of communicating when there is little opportunity for the members to meet face-to-face. The authors also reveal how organizations can implement performance management and reward systems that will motivate team members to cooperate across multiple boundaries. And they offer the information to determine which technologies best fit a variety of virtual-team tasks and the level of information technology support needed.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781118835517Publication Date: 2003-02-04
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283