- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ETHC232
- Library Resources
ETHC232
Ethical & Legal Issues in the Professions- This course provides a framework for decision-making in professional practice. Ethical principles, social responsibility, legal and regulatory requirements, and professional codes of conduct are explored.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of 400 journals on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics by
The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics provides clear, concise and highly informative definitions and explanations of the key concepts in one of the most important fields in contemporary business.
ISBN: 9780631210801Publication Date: 1999-02-02
Professional Ethics and Etiquette by
Developing professional habits and manners is more important now than ever before. ""Professional Ethics and Etiquette, Third Edition"" demonstrates how a professional is characterized not only by his or her technical skills, but also by the way in which he or she interacts with others. This new edition shows students how to determine different personality types (including their own) and how cultivating qualities such as fairness, attentiveness, modesty, and mutual respect in communication leads to productive and professional relationships. New to this edition are true-or-false quizzes in every chapter as well as a new appendix of helpful Web sites. The chapters include: Developing Self-Knowledge; Recognize Your Values and Ethics; Becoming More Reliable and Responsible; Achieving Professional Excellence; Be Aggressively Nice; Be a Learner; Improve Your Time-Management, Goal-Setting, and Memory Skills; and, Maintain Balance to Succeed in the Workplace.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780816077724Publication Date: 2009-07-01
The Moral Leader by
Successful leaders at any level and in any arena are inevitably presented with moral and ethical choices. This unique and innovative textbook is designed to encourage students and managers to confront those fundamental moral challenges, to develop skills in moral analysis and judgment, and to come to terms with their own definition of moral leadership and how it can be translated into action. Drawing on the inspiration of major literary and historical figures such as Machiavelli, Conrad, Shackleton and Achebe, and based upon an impressive array of literary sources, including novels, plays, history and biography, the book centers on four questions implicitly asked of all leaders: What is the nature of a moral challenge? How do people 'reason morally'? How do leaders contend with the moral choices they face? How is moral leadership different from leadership in general? The Moral Leader is based upon the renowned course of the same name taught at Harvard Business School for over two decades. With an emphasis on decision-making and action, students learn to identify moral problems, to address them systematically, and to develop skills that aid them throughout their studies and their professional lives. At times challenging, insightful, and always illuminating, this book is essential reading for all serious students of leadership, management, business ethics or policy. Visit the companion website at www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415400640"
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780203940648Publication Date: 2007-09-14
Normative Theory and Business Ethics by
Since its inception thirty years ago, business ethics has benefited from the interdisciplinary contributions by management, political theory, sociology, and, of course, philosophy. This volume provides an updated examination of the role that moral and political philosophy can play in addressing problems in business ethics. The essays contained within its pages represent the work of new scholars and address a wide array of foundational issues such as distributive justice within firms, human rights, ethical challenges of international business, the role of virtue in business management, entrepreneurship and the relationship of markets and market actors with democratic institutions. In an important sense, this collection traces where philosophy has been and where it is headed within business ethics. Each of the contributions represent new work that, at once, strengthens the theoretical foundations of normative business ethics and provides practical insight for non-philosophers working in the field.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780742548411Publication Date: 2008-10-23
Working Ethics: How to Be Fair in a Culturally Complex World by
Working Ethics sets out an ethical foundation for professionals and for the professions in a modern, culturally complex society. This book will be of interest to anyone who takes seriously their obligations to society as a whole and to the individuals with whom they work.Richard Rowson puts forward an ethical framework comprising four basic elements - fairness, respect for autonomy, integrity, and seeking the most beneficial and least harmful consequences. The three parts of the book explore:* sources of ethical guidance such as laws, social conventions, professional codes of conduct and religious beliefs, identifying the ethical values integral to the professions* the obligations these values give to members of the professions, and the ethical issues which arise when they are concerned to produce benefits and prevent harm, treat people fairly, respect others and act with integrity* how these values might be incorporated into professional practice. The book ends with a brief guide to dealing with blame in a professional context and claims about rights.At the end of each chapter, key questions encourage readers to think through the issues discussed. Rowson shows how this ethical framework can enable professionals to work more effectively, earn trust, mutual support and respect, and how it can foster democratic ideals in the workplace and community.This book will be essential reading for professionals in the public and private sector - including teachers, civil servants, police personnel, nurses, doctors, lawyers, accountants and engineers.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781846424816Publication Date: 2006-02-08
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283