- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ENGL206
- Library Resources
ENGL206
Technical Communication- Students in this course apply writing skills to common business and technical correspondence such as memos, letters, and brief reports. They also adapt written materials for oral presentation and explore the research process.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Business Communication by
This work provides a comprehensive, up-to-date introduction to modern business communication, which integrates communication theory and practice and challenges many orthodox views of the communication process. Among the subjects covered are: interpersonal communication, including the use and analysis of nonverbal communication; group communication, including practical techniques to support discussion and meetings; written presentation, including the full range of paper and electronic documents; oral presentation, including the use of electronic media; and corporate communication, including strategies and media.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780415195492Publication Date: 2001-12-29
Harvard Business Review on Effective Communication by
Delivers the fundamental information professionals need to stay competitive in this world. This book includes topics such as how to run a successful meeting, change employees' behavior, and build useful management teams. It offers useful tips for business people.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781578511433Publication Date: 1999-08-25
High-Impact Public Speaking for Business and the Professions by
Communications in all its forms pervades today's business environment. Yet most business people neglect one of the most direct avenues of promoting their products, services, or organizations--public speaking. Whether you avoid public speaking out of fear or lack of experience, "High Impact Public Speaking for Business and the Professions" can help you become a comfortable, proficient, and successful speechmaker. "High Impact Public Speaking" takes you step-by-step through the speech preparation process and introduces you to the various types of speeches you may be called upon to give, including informative speeches, persuasive speeches, keynote speeches, and eulogies. Among the topics covered are the following: controlling stage fright analyzing the speaking purpose and audience researching the topic organizing the speech choosing effective language mastering the verbal and nonverbal aspects of speech delivery using visual aids The book concludes with an appendix containing ten model speeches by such skilled orators as Lee Iacocca, Bishop Desmond Tutu, and former Senator Carol Mosely Braun.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780071393386Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Improve Your Writing by
Improve Your Writing, fifth edition, presents all the elements important to turning in an excellent research paper. This book walks you through each step in the writing process, including selecting a topic, library research, developing an outline, writing from the first to the final draft, proofreading, and more. Fry provides updated and expanded information about online research, and provides a fundamental, step-by-step approach that can be applied to any kind of writing.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781401889166Publication Date: 2004-07-29
Public Speaking and Presentations Demystified by
Take the mystery out of effective, fear-free public speaking This latest book in the Demystified series takes the confusion out of preparing for and delivering speeches and presentations. Public Speaking and Presentations Demystified walks you step-by-step through the fundamentals of the subject and provides you with techniques for effective speaking, avoiding common errors, and overcoming stage fright. With these skills, you will feel confident in business and social situations when you find yourself in the spotlight.
ISBN: 9780071601221
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283