- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HIST410
- HIST410 Resources
HIST410
Contemporary History- This course examines the general trends and the complex interrelationships of global political, social, economic, and technological developments of the 20th century, as related to current events in the 21st century.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access to more than 850 full-text newspapers, and over 850,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Recommended Websites
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Cold War by
The most comprehensive and up-to-date student reference on the Cold War, offering expert coverage of all aspects of the conflict in a richly designed format, fully illustrated to give students a vivid sense of life in all countries affected by the war. * 1,099 entries covering all facets of the Cold War from its origins to its aftermath, including political, diplomatic, military, social, and economic topics, as well as the lives of everyday citizens caught up in the conflict in countries around the world * Over 200 internationally recognized contributors from around the world, many writing about events and issues from the perspective of their country of origin * Over 175 original documents (each with its own introduction)—a collection that draws heavily on recently opened files from archives in China, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union, and includes documents that reflect social and cultural life during the Cold War as well as political, military, and diplomatic issues * 700 images of important persons, places, events, and artifacts, plus 50 carefully crafted tables and graphs that make important data clear and meaningful * 47 maps detailing major military operations, from the Berlin Airlift to the battlefields of Vietnam * A special resource area helps early researchers develop sound information literacy skills with a "how to use" section on using primary sources, reading maps, and how to use tables and charts
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781851098477Publication Date: 2007-09-10
Humanity by
A study of history and morality in the twentieth century, this text examines the psychology which made possible Hiroshima, the Nazi genocide, the Gulag, the Chinese Cultural Revolution, Pol Pot's Cambodia, Rwanda and Bosnia.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780300087154Publication Date: 2001-08-11
Reading the Twentieth Century by
The focus of Reading the Twentieth Century is on the role of the United States in the world in the twentieth century, after the nation became a major world player. Readings include public documents, memoirs, and media comments, many of which have never been published before. The book is structured in such a way that portions can be assigned to students, and the order of presentation is such that instructors can assign sections chronologically or thematically. Though highly informative, the editor's chapter introductions and the document head notes are brief, designed only to introduce the subjects so that the documents can speak for themselves.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780742564763Publication Date: 2009-08-16
Reading the Twentieth Century by
The focus of Reading the Twentieth Century is on the role of the United States in the world in the twentieth century, after the nation became a major world player. Readings include public documents, memoirs, and media comments, many of which have never been published before. The book is structured in such a way that portions can be assigned to students, and the order of presentation is such that instructors can assign sections chronologically or thematically. Though highly informative, the editor's chapter introductions and the document head notes are brief, designed only to introduce the subjects so that the documents can speak for themselves.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780742564770Publication Date: 2009-08-16
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283