- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ENGL216
- ENGL216 Resources
ENGL216
Technical Writing- The course builds on basic composition principles and focuses on common technical and workplace documents including descriptions, instructions, procedures, reports, proposals, analyses, and other types of applied writing.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Contains more than 375,000 records covering all aspects of human impact to the environment (with full text for over 4,500 records).
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
- Green Business Network Green businesses adopt principles, policies and practices that improve the quality of life for their customers, employees, communities, and the planet. The members of the Green Business Network are changing the way America does business.
- National Resource Defense Council NRDC's staff and 1.3 million members and online activists work with businesses and other partners to protect public health and our natural environment. Whether assisting international corporations, local businesses or professional sports teams, NRDC is helping them reduce their environmental impacts and share their successes with their peers.
- O'Net Online Use this site to search for information on Technical Writers.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook - Technical Writers Provides occupational information about technical writers (communicators) including statistics.
- SBA Green Business Practices From changing a light bulb and using recyclable products to installing energy efficient equipment and systems, every business can make simple changes that save energy costs and natural resources. The following resources will help you Green Your Business!
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
The 7 Hidden Reasons Employees Leave by
People are four times more likely to leave a job because of something going on in the office than for an outside opportunity. Yet most managers blame employee turnover on the lure of other companies. . . even when the real factors are well within their control. Based on research performed by the prestigious Saratoga Institute, The 7 Hidden Reasons Employees Leave provides readers with real solutions for the costly problem of employee turnover. Now incorporating the results of the author's "Decision to Leave' post-exit survey, the second edition features new research in employee engagement as well as innovative best practices for engaging and retaining in a down economy. Readers will learn how to align employee expectations with the realities of the position, avoid job-person mismatches, and provide feedback and coaching that breed employee confidence. The book examines factors such as manager relationships, lack of trust in senior leadership, company culture and integrity, salary and benefits, and more-revealing what can be done to hold on to the people who provide the most value to the organization. "
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780814417584Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Cruise Tourism in Polar Regions by
Cruises are the primary form of tourism in the Polar Regions and cruise ship tourism in both the Arctic and Antarctic is expanding rapidly. The industry has moved beyond its infancy, and is now entering a maturing phase with increased numbers and types of vessels, more demanding routes, and more regular and predictable patterns of activity. The increase in cruise activities, and the associated risks of accidents, as well as the potential and actual impacts of the large numbers of tourists in the polar regions bring with it management challenges for sustainable use of these regions.This book discusses critically the issues around environmental and social sustainability of the cruise industry in Polar Regions. Authors from Canada, USA, Europe, Australia and New Zealand are experts in their respective fields and take an innovative, critical and at times controversial approach to the subject.
ISBN: 9781849776394Publication Date: 2010-09-23
The Diversity Code by
The best organizations have struck a balance between reconciling differences and valuing them to promote genuine, cross-cultural teams. Based on years of experience as a diversity expert and attorney, author Michelle T. Johnson uses a healthy mix of humor and blunt honesty to show professionals and their employers why fostering true workplace diversity is a must for any successful business. The Diversity Code does this by answering many of the toughest questions people are often afraid to ask, including: How do you define diversity?; Am I "safe" simply following the law?; Can't we just acknowledge that we are the same and different--and get on with our work?; How do I handle diversity problems on my staff--or worse, with people who outrank me?; What do I do if I'm accused of something?; and How do I institute change without ticking people off? Each chapter begins with one of these challenging questions, guides readers through thoughts and ideas relating to it, and concludes with a real-world scenario and a chance for readers to test themselves on the cultural competency knowledge they've gained.The most diligent compliance with laws and regulations can't foster true workplace diversity. By equipping professionals and employers with the tools and knowledge to navigate--and appreciate--new workplace diversity initiatives, The Diversity Code reveals the key to increased innovation, collaboration--and respectful working relationships.
ISBN: 9780814416327Publication Date: 2010-09-08
Friends with Benefits by
The rules of marketing have changed. Savvy marketing professionals know that they must engage with individuals directly on the Web, and smart businesses know that customers can become friends—with benefits. Friends With Benefits shows you how to get into the online marketing game. A guide filled with tips, tricks, and real-world case studies, Friends With Benefits shows how you can increase your company's online visibility and Web traffic and win over online influencers. Friends With Benefits explains how to: Connect with potential customers and join their conversations Tweak your website to support your social media marketing campaigns Promote your products or brand and manage the toughest negative online feedback Track marketing campaigns, monitor discussions, and measure success With viral videos racking up millions of views and Twitter mavens influencing thousands of their friends, social media marketing is an essential new tool for every marketer's toolbox. The expert authors of Friend With Benefits guide you through the social media landscape, where authenticity and connections are more important than the size of your marketing budget, and real results can be just a few clicks away.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781593271992Publication Date: 2009-12-02
Going Green by
The Lessons Learned Series Wondering how the most accomplished leaders from around the globe have tackled their toughest challenges? Now you can find out--with Lessons Learned. Concise and engaging, each volume in this new series offers twelve to fourteen insightful essays by top leaders in business, the public sector, and academia on the most pressing issues they've faced. A crucial resource for today's busy executive, Lessons Learned gives you instant access to the wisdom and expertise of the world's most talented leaders. Featuring interviews with: Christina Page, Yahoo! Inc. Jean Sweeney, 3M Tod Arbogast, Dell Inc. Peter Seligmann, Conservation International And many other top business leaders
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781422126431Publication Date: 2009-02-17
Keeping the People Who Keep You in Business by
A war rages in today's workplace, pitting company against company in the fight to find and keep good employees. The losses are high, and battle-weary managers are desperate for talented reinforcements. They've learned that bonuses, stock options, and other financial rewards aren't enough. To win this ""war for talent,"" they need more. Help has arrived in the form of Keeping the People Who Keep You in Business.This compelling new book gives readers a battle-plan for victory, offering 24 strategies for retaining valuable people. The strategies are grouped in four basic ""keys"": 1) Be a company people want to work for 2) Select the right person in the first place 3) Manage the joining-up process 4) Coach to maintain commitment. These practices will help readers: Make their organization an ""employer of choice"" * Clearly definethe talent needed * Make new employees feel welcomed, valued, prepared, and challenged * Facilitate employees' career growth and advancement, and more. Keeping the People Who Keep You in Business is also loaded with specific examples, how-to guidelines, models, and planning aids - proven tools from an expert who knows that money alone won't keep the employees you can't afford to lose." "
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780814405970Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Perfectly Able by
More than 22 million of the almost 173 million working-age individuals in the United States have one or more disabilities.Perfectly Able offers practical guidance for companies large and small on how to hire and retain talented and motivated people from within this largely untapped pool of potential employees. Illustrated with enlightening personal stories, this one-of-a-kind book provides insight into what it's like to seek employment as an individual with a disability. Readers will discover how to: * Evaluate how suited their workplace environment is for disabled or different employees and what needs to be changed * Improve and sustain their workforce by hiring the best people, regardless of any disability or diversity issue * Effectively recruit, place, and develop individuals with disabilities who can contribute to their company's success * Embrace the differences among their workforce to add value to the organization
ISBN: 9780814415641Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Social Media Marketing for Dummies® by
Get the last word on the most up-to-date social media marketing techniques If you're not tweeting, Facebooking, or blogging by now, your business is getting left behind. Social media marketing is a highly effective way to engage with your customers. It's an easy, inexpensive way to enlarge your audience, add customers, and build your business. This guide provides an indispensable resource for small businesses and start-ups looking for low-cost online marketing strategies, as well as for marketers in larger companies who want to be more involved with social media. Learn which social media sites best fit your business and how to take full advantage of them. Explore the many aspects of social media, including reviewing sites, monitoring competitors, and fitting social into your current marketing plans Launch a campaign, develop a voice, reach your audience on key and niche platforms, and embrace the influencers Identify social media sites that appeal to your target audience and learn which social platform works best for which objectives Learn to monitor results and assess your program's effectiveness This straightforward guide is exactly what busy marketers and entrepreneurs need to help them get up and running!
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781118065143Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283