- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- BUSN460
- BUSN 460 Resources
BUSN460
Senior Project- Working individually and in teams, students apply knowledge and skills, including competencies in problem-solving, critical thinking, research, teamwork, and oral and written communication.
Video Tutorials
Tips for Successful Course Project Research
To research an industry or market, use the IBISWorld and/or the Business Market Research Collection databases from the library. IBISworld will provide detailed information on a given industry at a national level and can also be used to focus on state- and county-level industry data. The Business Market Research Collection provides similar, but complementary, industry information at a national level. In addition to providing a general overview of market conditions, these resources will help you situate your company within the larger industry.
The best place to find the regulations and legal requirements for a sole proprietorship will be state, county, or municipal websites. Links to the regulations and licensing requirements can also sometimes be found on the state or local chamber of commerce website. A tip for searching using Google: type your type of company and geographic location, for example food truck detroit, in the Google search bar, but add the following site:.gov and then run the search. This will limit your results to government websites. Your search string should look like: food truck detroit site:.gov
The Statista database and the U.S. Census website will be good sources for data on your target demographic.
The Business Market Research Collection and Statista databases will be useful for learning more about options for expansion for your company.
(See the Video Tutorials box on this page for help with using the databases and Census.gov.)
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Plans Handbook This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Includes a business plan template, two fictional business plans, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Industry reports and lead industry information statistics.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Access to more than 850 full-text newspapers, and over 850,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window More than 75 regional publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
- Statista This link opens in a new window Statista consolidates statistical data on over 8,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Reports cover trending topics, consumer preferences, industries and markets, politics and society, and much more.View the 2024 Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
- US Census Bureau Products and tools including data visualizations, mobile apps, interactive web apps and other software.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
eBooks
Business Process Change by
Business Process Change, 3rd Edition provides a balanced view of the field of business process change. Bestselling author Paul Harmon offers concepts, methods, cases for all aspects and phases of successful business process improvement. Updated and added for this edition is new material on the development of business models and business process architecture development, on integrating decision management models and business rules, on service processes and on dynamic case management, and on integrating various approaches in a broad business process management approach. New to this edition: How to develop business models and business process architecture How to integrate decision management models and business rules New material on service processes and on dynamic case management Learn to integrate various approaches in a broad business process management approach
ISBN: 9780128003879Publication Date: 2014-06-24
Startup, Scaleup, Screwup by
Real-world tools to build your venture, grow your business, and avoid mistakes Startup, Scaleup, Screwup is an expert guide for emerging and established businesses to accelerate growth, facilitate scalability, and keep pace with the rapidly changing economic landscape. The contemporary marketplace is more dynamic than ever before--increased global competition, the impact of digital transformation, and disruptive innovation factors require businesses to implement agile management and business strategies to compete and thrive. This indispensable book provides business leaders and entrepreneurs the tools and guidance to meet growth and scalability challenges head on. Equal parts motivation and practical application, this book answers the questions every business leader asks from the startup ventures to established companies. Covering topics including funding options, employee hiring, product-market validation, remote team management, agile scaling, and the business lifecycle, this essential resource provides a solid approach to grow at the right pace and stay lean. This book will enable you to: Apply 42 effective tools to sustain and accelerate your business growth Avoid the mistakes and pitfalls associated with rapid business growth or organizational change Develop a clear growth plan to integrate into your overall business model Structure your business for rapid scaling and efficient management Startup, Scaleup, Screwup: 42 Tools to Accelerate Lean & Agile Business Growth is a must-read for entrepreneurs, founders, managers, and senior executives. Author Jurgen Appelo shares his wisdom on the creative economy, agile management, innovation marketing, and organizational change to provide a comprehensive guide to business growth. Practical methods and expert advice make this book an essential addition to any business professional's library.
ISBN: 9781119526858Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Project Planning, Scheduling, and Control, Sixth Edition: the Ultimate Hands-On Guide to Bringing Projects in on Time and on Budget by
The go-to guide for getting projects done on time and on budget--revised and updated with a sophisticated image program and contemporary examples For more than 30 years, Project Planning, Scheduling and Control has been the benchmark guide for project managers seeking to increase their skills or pass the PMP exam. Providing an applications-oriented understanding of all the issues you'll face throughout your career, this new edition offers more strategies for dealing effectively with team members, clients, senior managers, and other key stakeholders--a critically important skill for project success. Written by one of today's leading experts on the topic--James P. Lewis--Project Planning, Scheduling and Control details the role of the project manager and includes the Lewis model for achieving high-performance project management using the whole-brain model of thinking. Updates include: Seven brand new chapters on popular methods and technologies for project management Thirteen fully revised chapters The technologies of project management, including the digital project office The imperative of leadership as a project management strategy Selection, evaluation, and control of projects Dealing with diverse stakeholders, such as investors, board members, and international clients Project management for managing the entire enterprise The daily practice of leading project teams Additional resources for instructors and readers available at the Lewis Institute website Lewis reinforces the Project Management Institute's recommended success strategies, from planning, implementation, and scheduling to communication, risk management, execution, and control stages. The new edition of this classic guide is a must-have for project management practitioner.
ISBN: 9781264286270Publication Date: 2022-12-26
Small Business Management by
This book gives us a holistic description of all paragons involved in small business operations during crisis years and suggest the necessary steps that need to be taken in order to help them overcome their problems. The author clearly demonstrates the crisis' implications to small business by using personal research and real life examples in addition to a big bibliography from renowned academics. The book contains useful and practical information for small business owners, entrepreneurs from all industries, business students, academics and strategists, business coaches and can be used as a road map during turbulent periods for small business in all industries. The author tries to cover the topic from different approaches, while he tries to have a birds' eye view on contemporary trends and new approaches. Several concepts like the risk management, blue ocean strategy, turnaround management have been discussed by the author in order to create a crystal clear understanding of why there is no such thing as dead end for small business, even under the worst possible situations and how they can achieve their sustainable development and grow. This book was inspired by the significant problems that small and medium enterprises faced during the last huge global financial crisis.
ISBN: 9781951527341Publication Date: 2020-02-28
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283