- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- ECON545
- ECON545 Resources
ECON545
Business Economics- Business Economics provides a basic understanding of managerial economics and the impact of the economic environment on business decision making.
Journals related to ECON course topics
Two Library databases EBSCOhost and ProQuest offer full text access to many publications. Read through a few to keep current on trends and topics in the news.
On the library website you can search a publication name in the "A to Z List" on the home page
When you log into ProQuest you can use the "Publications" link to the top of the page.
This list is a sampling of title available in ProQuest:
Advertising Age
Barron's
Business Week
Economic Indicators
Forbes
Wall Street Journal
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Use Advanced search and ALL databases to search for journal and newspaper article on a company, industry, or individual.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Use this resource to learn about a company. Researchers from Business Source Complete often provide supporting research to the page left. This may include SWOT analysis information.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Use Advanced search and ALL databases to search for journal and newspaper article on a company, industry, or individual.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Additional insight on an Industry. Links to related associations and job postings.
eJournals
- Econ Journal Watch EJW watches the journals for inappropriate assumptions, weak chains of argument, phony claims of relevance, omissions of pertinent truths, and irreplicability—EJW welcomes replication studies. EJW is an outlet for pointed, constructive criticism of professional economics. Articles appearing in EJW frequently apply theories of failure—market, government, organizational, intellectual, moral—to the practices and institutions of economists. An editorial conversation about publishing in EJW is found here.
- The Journal of Entrepreneurial Finance The Journal of Entrepreneurial Finance (JEF) was established in 1991 and is a premier source of academic research related to small business finance and entrepreneurship. The journal's audience, both as authors and as readers, includes academicians and practitioners in the field everywhere. Relevance, originality, rigor, timeliness, and quality are among the key criteria used for making decisions on submitted manuscripts.
- Research in Business and Economics Journal The Research in Business and Economics Journal (RBEJ) publishes original, unpublished manuscripts focused on business or economics research.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Corporate Sustainability by
Invaluable guidance for complete integration of sustainability into reporting and performance management systems Global businesses are under close scrutiny from lawmakers, regulators, and their diverse stakeholders to focus on sustainability and accept responsibility for their multiple bottom line performance. Business Sustainability and Accountability examines business sustainability and accountability reporting and their integration into strategy, governance, risk assessment, performance management and the reporting process. This book also highlights how people, business and resources collaborate in a business sustainability and accountability model. Looks at business sustainability and accountability reporting and assurance and their incorporation into the reporting process Focuses on how the business sustainability and accountability model are impacted by the collaboration of people, business, and resources Presents laws, rules, regulations, standards and best practices relevant to business sustainability performance, reporting and assurance Organizations worldwide recognize the importance of all five EGSEE dimensions of sustainability performance and accountability reporting. However, how to actually assess sustainability risk, implement sustainability reporting, and obtain sustainability assurance remain a major challenge and best practices are evolving. Straightforward and comprehensive Business Sustainability and Accountability hits on all of the hottest topics around sustainability including multiple bottom line (EGSEE) performance and reporting, related financial and non-financial key performance indicators (KPIs), business social responsibility and environmental reporting.
Call Number: In ebooks by EBSCOISBN: 9781118122365Publication Date: 2012-11-06
Handbook of the Economics of Finance by
This two-volume set of 23 articles authoritatively describes recent scholarship in corporate finance and asset pricing. Volume 1 concentrates on corporate finance, encompassing topics such as financial innovation and securitization, dynamic security design, and family firms. Volume 2 focuses on asset pricing with articles on market liquidity, credit derivatives, and asset pricing theory, among others. Both volumes present scholarship about the 2008 financial crisis in contexts that highlight both continuity and divergence in research. For those who seek insightful perspectives and important details, they demonstrate how corporate finance studies have interpreted recent events and incorporated their lessons. Covers core and newly-developing fields Explains how the 2008 financial crises affected theoretical and empirical research Exposes readers to a wide range of subjects described and analyzed by the best scholars
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780444594167Publication Date: 2012-12-24
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283
Course Description
Business Economics provides a fundamental understanding of managerial economics and the impact of the economic environment on business decision making. The course develops micro- and macroeconomic topics, with particular emphasis on applying economic principles to business situations.