- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- MATH533
- MATH 533 Resources
MATH533
Applied Managerial Statistics- Applied Managerial Statistics (MATH533) stresses the practical use of statistics in the collecting, organizing, analyzing, interpreting, and presenting of data.
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new windowProvides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 500 full-text journals and more than 200 educational reports.
Recommended Websites
- Math.com Math.com is dedicated to providing revolutionary ways for students, parents, teachers, and everyone to learn math. Combining educationally sound principles with proprietary technology, Math.com offers a unique experience that quickly guides the user to the solutions they need and the products they want. These solutions include assessment, on-demand modular courses that target key math concepts, 24/7 live online tutoring, and expert answers to math questions.
- Wolfram Alpha We aim to collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. Our goal is to build on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Business Statistics for Dummies by
Score higher in your business statistics course? Easy. Business statistics is a common course for business majors and MBA candidates. It examines common data sets and the proper way to use such information when conducting research and producing informational reports such as profit and loss statements, customer satisfaction surveys, and peer comparisons. Business Statistics For Dummies tracks to a typical business statistics course offered at the undergraduate and graduate levels and provides clear, practical explanations of business statistical ideas, techniques, formulas, and calculations, with lots of examples that shows you how these concepts apply to the world of global business and economics. Shows you how to use statistical data to get an informed and unbiased picture of the market Serves as an excellent supplement to classroom learning Helps you score your highest in your Business Statistics course If you're studying business at the university level or you're a professional looking for a desk reference on this complicated topic, Business Statistics For Dummies has you covered.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9781118630693Publication Date: 2013-11-18
Statistics Essentials for Dummies by
Statistics Essentials For Dummies not only provides students enrolled in Statistics I with an excellent high-level overview of key concepts, but it also serves as a reference or refresher for students in upper-level statistics courses. Free of review and ramp-up material, Statistics Essentials For Dummies sticks to the point, with content focused on key course topics only. It provides discrete explanations of essential concepts taught in a typical first semester college-level statistics course, from odds and error margins to confidence intervals and conclusions. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical statistics concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780470618394Publication Date: 2010-05-17
Statistics for the Utterly Confused by
Statistics for the Utterly Confused, Second Edition When it comes to understanding statistics, even good students can be confused. Perfect for students in any introductory non-calculus-based statistics course, and equally useful to professionals working in the world, Statistics for the Utterly Confused is your ticket to success. Statistical concepts are explained step-by-step and applied to such diverse fields as business, economics, finance, and more. The message of Statistics for the Utterly Confused is simple: you don't have to be confused anymore. Updated and expanded to give you the latest changes in the field, this up-to-the-minute edition includes many new examples of Excel output, the most widely used of all statistics programs; a new chapter on Analysis of Variance (ANOVA); and 200 additions to the 700 self-testing questions and answers. The expert author's Web site also gives you tons of fresh examples, practice problems, and strategies--so you can go from utterly confused to totally prepared in no time! Inside, you'll discover how to: Grasp the meaning of everyday statistical concepts Find out what's probable and what isn't Read, understand, and solve statistics problems Improve your scores on exams Use your skills in any field
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780071461931Publication Date: 2006-01-12
Using Statistics by
IF YOU'RE ENCOUNTERING STATISTICS FOR THE FIRST TIME, AND WANT A READABLE, SUPPORTIVE INTRODUCTION, THEN THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. There are plenty of excellent stats books in the world, but very few of them are entertaining reading. One result is that many students are deterred by stats. But this book is different. Written in an informal style, it guides the reader gently through the field from the simplest descriptive statistics to multidimensional approaches. It's written in an accessible way, with few calculations and fewer equations, for readers from a broad set of academic disciplines ranging from archaeology to zoology. There are numerous illustrative examples that guide the reader through: How to answer various types of research question How to use different forms of analysis The strengths and weaknesses of particular methods Methods that may be useful but that don't usually appear in statistics books In this way, the book's emphasis is on understanding how statistics can be used to help answer research questions, rather than on the minute details of particular statistical tests. Using Statistics is key reading for students who are looking for help with quantitative projects, but would like a qualitative introduction that takes them gently through the process.
Call Number: Ebook CentralISBN: 9780335222186Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Other Materials
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283