- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Digital Forensics
- Digital Forensics Resources
Digital Forensics
Definition
The application of science to the identification, collection, examination, and analysis of data while preserving the integrity of the information and maintaining a strict chain of custody for the data.
National Institute of Standards and Technology. (2006). Guide to integrating forensic techniques into incident response. Retrieved from http://csrc.nist.gov/publications/nistpubs/800-86/SP800-86.pdf
Terms to search
computer crimes, computer hackers, computer networks--decurity measures, computer security, cryptography, data protection, electronic discovery (law), electronics in criminal investigation, forensic sciences--data processing, hacking (computer security)
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Business Source Utlimate This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of business-related journals, includes Harvard Business Review case studies.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new window Journal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Access to over 300 full-text periodicals with current news about all branches of the military and government.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
- Computer Emergency Response Team CERT Mission: Anticipating and Solving the Nation’s Cybersecurity Challenges
- Computer Forensics Tool Testing (CFTT) Project A project at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to establish specifications, procedures, criteria, sets, and hardware for computer forensics tools.
- Computer Forensics World A portal to computer forensics resources.
- CrimeSolutions.gov The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services.
- Cyber Security and Information Systems Information Analysis Center The CSIAC is chartered to leverage best practices and expertise from government, industry, and academia on cyber security and information technology. The CSIAC’s mission is to provide the DoD with a central point of access for Information Assurance and Cybersecurity to include emerging technologies in system vulnerabilities, R&D, models, and analysis to support the development and implementation of effective defense against information warfare attacks.
- FBI Cyber Crime Lead the national effort to investigate high-tech crimes, including cyber-based terrorism, espionage, computer intrusions, and major cyber fraud.
- Incident Management The Incident Management Program combines multiple Departmental incident-related services into a joint capability that focuses on threat information sharing, critical infrastructure protection, active defense and incident preparedness.
- Information Assurance Technology Center (IATAC) Security response publications.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Our mission: to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- National Institute of Justice Reports from the research, development and evaluation arm of the US Department of Justice.
- National Institute of Justice--Digital Evidence and Forensics A clearing house for development of tools for assisting law enforcement in fighting e-crime and collecting digital evidence.
- SANS Forensic White Papers A collection of whitepapers authored by forensic practitioners seeking GCFA, GCFE, and GREM Gold
eJournals
- International Journal of Cyber Criminology A peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the study of cyber-crime deterrence.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Cyber Security and Digital Forensics by
CYBER SECURITY AND DIGITAL FORENSICS Cyber security is an incredibly important issue that is constantly changing, with new methods, processes, and technologies coming online all the time. Books like this are invaluable to professionals working in this area, to stay abreast of all of these changes. Current cyber threats are getting more complicated and advanced with the rapid evolution of adversarial techniques. Networked computing and portable electronic devices have broadened the role of digital forensics beyond traditional investigations into computer crime. The overall increase in the use of computers as a way of storing and retrieving high-security information requires appropriate security measures to protect the entire computing and communication scenario worldwide. Further, with the introduction of the internet and its underlying technology, facets of information security are becoming a primary concern to protect networks and cyber infrastructures from various threats. This groundbreaking new volume, written and edited by a wide range of professionals in this area, covers broad technical and socio-economic perspectives for the utilization of information and communication technologies and the development of practical solutions in cyber security and digital forensics. Not just for the professional working in the field, but also for the student or academic on the university level, this is a must-have for any library. Audience: Practitioners, consultants, engineers, academics, and other professionals working in the areas of cyber analysis, cyber security, homeland security, national defense, the protection of national critical infrastructures, cyber-crime, cyber vulnerabilities, cyber-attacks related to network systems, cyber threat reduction planning, and those who provide leadership in cyber security management both in public and private sectors
ISBN: 9781119795636Publication Date: 2022-03-02
Digital Forensics for Handheld Devices by
Approximately 80 percent of the world's population now owns a cell phone, which can hold evidence or contain logs about communications concerning a crime. Cameras, PDAs, and GPS devices can also contain information related to corporate policy infractions and crimes. Aimed to prepare investigators in the public and private sectors, Digital Forensics for Handheld Devices examines both the theoretical and practical aspects of investigating handheld digital devices. This book touches on all areas of mobile device forensics, including topics from the legal, technical, academic, and social aspects of the discipline. It provides guidance on how to seize data, examine it, and prepare it as evidence for court. This includes the use of chain of custody forms for seized evidence and Faraday Bags for digital devices to prevent further connectivity and tampering of evidence. Emphasizing the policies required in the work environment, the author provides readers with a clear understanding of the differences between a corporate investigation and a criminal investigation. The book also: Offers best practices for establishing an incident response policy and seizing data from company or privately owned digital devices Provides guidance in establishing dedicated examinations free of viruses, spyware, and connections to other devices that could taint evidence Supplies guidance on determining protocols for complicated crime scenes with external media and devices that may have connected with the handheld device Considering important privacy issues and the Fourth Amendment, this book facilitates an understanding of how to use digital forensic tools to investigate the complete range of available digital devices, including flash drives, cell phones, PDAs, digital cameras, and netbooks. It includes examples of commercially available digital forensic tools and ends with a discussion of the education and certifications required for various careers in mobile device forensics.
ISBN: 9781439898772Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Hands-On Incident Response and Digital Forensics by
Incident response and digital forensics require a balancing act to get right, but both are essential when an information security incident occurs.In this practical guide, the relationship between incident response and digital forensics is explored and you will learn how to undertake each and balance them to meet the needs of an organisation in the event of an information security incident. Best practice tips and real-life examples are included throughout.
ISBN: 9781780174204Publication Date: 2018-07-12
Hunting Cyber Criminals by
The skills and tools for collecting, verifying and correlating information from different types of systems is an essential skill when tracking down hackers. This book explores Open Source Intelligence Gathering (OSINT) inside out from multiple perspectives, including those of hackers and seasoned intelligence experts. OSINT refers to the techniques and tools required to harvest publicly available data concerning a person or an organization. With several years of experience of tracking hackers with OSINT, the author whips up a classical plot-line involving a hunt for a threat actor. While taking the audience through the thrilling investigative drama, the author immerses the audience with in-depth knowledge of state-of-the-art OSINT tools and techniques. Technical users will want a basic understanding of the Linux command line in order to follow the examples. But a person with no Linux or programming experience can still gain a lot from this book through the commentaries. This book's unique digital investigation proposition is a combination of story-telling, tutorials, and case studies. The book explores digital investigation from multiple angles: Through the eyes of the author who has several years of experience in the subject. Through the mind of the hacker who collects massive amounts of data from multiple online sources to identify targets as well as ways to hit the targets. Through the eyes of industry leaders. This book is ideal for: Investigation professionals, forensic analysts, and CISO/CIO and other executives wanting to understand the mindset of a hacker and how seemingly harmless information can be used to target their organization. Security analysts, forensic investigators, and SOC teams looking for new approaches on digital investigations from the perspective of collecting and parsing publicly available information. CISOs and defense teams will find this book useful because it takes the perspective of infiltrating an organization from the mindset of a hacker. The commentary provided by outside experts will also provide them with ideas to further protect their organization's data.
ISBN: 9781119540922Publication Date: 2020-02-11
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283