These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Engagement Design by Nelson ZagaloInteractive media designers have been discussing modes to optimize interaction design beyond mere usability. With the arrival of Emotional Design followed by the success of the User Experience (UX) approaches, the discussion continued and augmented. Experience has become a complex buzzword, which is more about the subject's experience than the product, and this is why it's difficult, or even impossible, to define it in a concise manner. We propose to move the discussion from Experience towards Engagement, to emphasize the design of the relationship between artefacts, contexts and users. Engagement asks for a more concrete type of experience, with specific needs, motives, skills and competences, which can be more clearly worked into the design of artefacts. Engagement also differs from other concepts e.g. fun, enjoyment, happiness or well-being and is open enough to grant freedom to designers in creating their personal world views. To push this new approach, we offer in this book a full model for the design of engagement in interactive media, still believing it can be applied beyond that. The model is arranged around what we call the three engagement streams: Progression, Expression and Relation.
Publication Date: 2020-03-18
The Gamification of Learning and Instruction Fieldbook by Karl M. KappFollowing Karl Kapp's earlier book The Gamification of Learning and Instruction, this Fieldbook provides a step-by-step approach to implementing the concepts from the Gamification book with examples, tips, tricks, and worksheets to help a learning professional or faculty member put the ideas into practice. The Online Workbook, designed largely for students using the original book as a textbook, includes quizzes, worksheets and fill-in-the-blank areas that will help a student to better understand the ideas, concepts and elements of incorporating gamification into learning.
Call Number: Books 24x7
Publication Date: 2013-11-11
Engaged Research and Practice by Penny A. Pasque (Editor); John C. Burkhardt (Editor); Tony Chambers (Foreword by); Betty Overton (Editor)What practices can researchers use to gain a more nuanced understanding of educational issues in the community and be part of the solution to those issues? Engaged Research and Practiceis about two prevailing and complementary ideas that have surfaced in the higher education arena: engaged research and higher education for the public good. Engaged research is scholarship that not only attempts to open up new knowledge, but it does so with a sense that the new knowledge, insight and directions have a direct relationship to needs and problems within our communities, institutions, and policy arenas. Engaged, actionable, or participatory research and scholarship attempts to tackle the identified issues of our communities and society. This handbook offers important insights and tangible examples of how higher education leaders may work directly with communities and in policy settings to understand the deeper meanings often lost in conversations about educational opportunity. Each chapter addresses the ways in which faculty, community and administrative leaders may connect research and practice through unique research projects. The authors offer clear explanations of "how" their engaged research was conducted to illustrate explicit pathways for practitioners. This book also includes short narratives where authors involved with this research reflect on their experiences and the lessons they have learned while immersed in community and policy related work.
Designing the Online Learning Experience by Simone C. O. Conceição; Les HowlesThis book provides instructors with a holistic way of thinking about learners, learning, and online course design. The distinctive strategies derived from an integrated framework for designing the online learning experience help create an experience that is more personalized, engaging, and meaningful for online learners. The focus of this book is on the learners and the design of their online learning experiences. The authors refer to learning design instead of instructional design - which focuses on instruction and places the instructor at the center stage of the process. Therefore, the focus is on approaching a learner's online course experience as a journey consisting of a combination of learning interactions with content, instructor, and other learners. In most online courses, instructors and learners are separated in time and space and depend on technology to facilitate interactions that often lack a strong personal dimension. As online learning continues to proliferate and mature, the emphasis on simply making content available to students online is no longer acceptable. Creating online courses now requires a new way of thinking that incorporates new design ideas and approaches from a variety of fields; it also requires a new set of learning design skills for instructors and course designers. Organized into eight chapters, this volume focuses on enhancing online learning experiences for each of the major aspects of an online course, providing evidence-based principles and strategies to promote learner engagement and deep learning. The concluding chapter provides an example illustrating a real-world application of the principles and strategies covered in the book, using Design Thinking to create learning experiences. This book provides strategies for approaching the learning experience from an integrative perspective for both experienced online instructors and those new to online course design. These strategies are based on evidence-based learning design principles and encourage the reader to adopt an empathic mindset focused on the experience of the learner.
Publication Date: 2020-12-17
Leadership in Higher Education by James M. Kouzes; Barry Z. PosnerDrawing on the same vital research that formed the foundation of their classic bestseller The Leadership Challenge, Jim Kouzes and Barry Posner offer higher education professionals a set of leadership skills and practices that are available to everyone, not just a charismatic few. Kouzes and Posner identify Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership and provide case examples of real people on college and university campuses who demonstrate each practice- * model the way * inspire a shared vision * challenge the process * enable others to act * encourage the heart Anyone in higher education who wants to transform values into actions, visions into realities, obstacles into innovations, segments into solidarity, and risks into rewards must read this book.
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base search a series of commonly asked questions by topic keyword or course number
BASE—Bielefeld Academic Search EngineBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the 'Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting' (OAI-PMH). for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalises, and indexes these data. BASE provides more than 60 million documents from more than 3,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 75% of the indexed documents. The Index is continuously enhanced by integrating further OAI sources as well as local sources.
EducauseEDUCAUSE is a nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education through the use of information technology.
YovistoYovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. Furthermore, there are many other features as, e. g., tagging, adding comments, discussing uploading videos and organizing your videos, etc.
Educause ReviewEDUCAUSE Review® is the association's open-access digital and bimonthly print flagship publication for the higher education IT community. With 22,000 distributed copies, the print magazine (ISSN: 1527-6619) takes a broad look at current developments and trends in information technology, how they may affect the college/university as an institution, and what these mean for higher education and society. The online version (ISSN 1945-709X) comprises more comprehensive coverage, including the content of the print magazine plus peer-reviewed articles, practical advice and guidance, interactive elements, and multimedia about managing and using information resources in higher education. The publication has won numerous editorial and design awards including APEX Awards for Publication Excellence, Magnum Opus Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Custom Publishing, Ozzie Awards for Excellence in Magazine Design, and Tabbies Awards, as well as being named Publication of the Year by the Colorado Society of Association Executives.
Excellence in Higher EducationExcellence in Higher Education (EHE) is a sustainable research initiative established with the generous support of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) as part of its Decentralized Basic Education 2 Project in Indonesia. EHE is the first English language academic journal in the field of higher education in Indonesia and is sponsored by the Consortium of Indonesian Universities–Pittsburgh (KPTIP: Konsorsium Perguruan Tinggi Indonesia–Pittsburgh). The journal is a product of the Consortium’s continued commitment to the quality and innovation of Indonesian education. To this end the Consortium works to create sustainable national, regional, and global partnerships to meet national education reform mandates. EHE
is published by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh.
Hybrid PedagogyHybrid Pedagogy (ISSN: 2332-2098) is an open-access peer-reviewed journal that
: is not ideologically neutral;
: connects discussions of critical pedagogy, digital pedagogy, and online pedagogy;
: brings higher education and K-12 teachers into conversation with the e-learning and open education communities;
: considers our personal and professional hybridity;
: disrupts distinctions between students, teachers, and learners;
: explores the relationship between pedagogy and scholarship;
: invites its audience to participate in (and be an integral part of) the peer review process;
: and thus interrogates (and makes transparent) academic publishing practices.
International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (IJTLHE)The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (ISSN 1812-9129) provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. The IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise. The specific emphasis of IJTLHE is the dissemination of knowledge for improving higher education pedagogy. Electronic distribution of IJTLHE maximizes global availability
Journal of Curriculum and InstructionThe Journal of Curriculum and Instruction is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides a forum for the dissemination of articles focused on research, practice, and related issues relevant to teaching and learning in the PreK-12 environment.
Journal of Interactive Technoloyg & PedagogyThe mission of The Journal of Interactive Technology and Pedagogy (ISSN 2166-6245) is to promote open scholarly discourse around critical and creative uses of digital technology in teaching, learning, and research. Educational institutions have often embraced instrumentalist conceptions and market-driven implementations of technology that overdetermine its uses in academic environments. Such approaches underestimate the need for critical engagement with the integration of technological tools into pedagogical practice. The JITP will endeavor to counter these trends by recentering questions of pedagogy in our discussions of technology in higher education. The journal will also work to change what counts as scholarship—and how it is presented, disseminated, and reviewed—by allowing contributors to develop their ideas, publish their work, and engage their readers using multiple formats.
Journal of Praxis in Multicultural EducationThe Journal of Praxis in Multicultural Education is a peer-reviewed journal published once/twice a year by the Center for Multicultural Education at the University of Nevada Las Vegas. The journal is committed to publishing manuscripts written by Pre-K-16 teachers and higher education researchers that embody the true definition of praxis. The journal demonstrates teacher learning through a dialectical union of reflection and action
Journal of STEM EducationThe Journal of STEM Education: Innovations and Research is a half yearly, peer-reviewed publication for educators in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) education. The journal emphasizes real-world case studies that focus on issues that are relevant and important to STEM practitioners. These studies may showcase field research as well as secondary-sourced cases. The journal encourages case studies that cut across the different STEM areas and that cover non-technical issues such as finance, cost, management, risk, safety, etc. Case studies are typically framed around problems and issues facing a decision maker in an organization
Journal of Studies in EducationJournal of Studies in Education is a peer-reviewed online international journal, published by Macrothink Institute. It publishes scholarly articles on the topics related to education, educational administration, educational psychology, economics of education, sociology of education, etc.
Research in Higher Education JournalThe Research in Higher Education Journal (RHEJ) publishes original, unpublished higher education manuscripts. Appropriate topics for consideration in the journal include retention, assessment, accreditation, financial management in higher education, new program development, teacher education, curriculum and recruitment.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowAn eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
RefWorksThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.