- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- HUMN303
- HUMN303 Resources
HUMN303
Course Project- This course introduces vital areas of the humanities, such as the visual and performing arts, literature, history and philosophy.
Brainshark Tutorial
Background Sources
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window Over 450,000 full-text biographies accessible by name, occupation, nationality, or genre
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Voice of the Shuttle Website rich with sources for researching the arts and humanities. Organized for research and learning.
- Art History Resources Art and history categorized by periods and cultures.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Literary Reference Center PLUS This link opens in a new window Combines information from over 1,200 reference works, 200 literary journals, study guides and videos.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,700 full-text, multi-disciplinary periodicals dating back to 1975; includes over 500 reference books and an image collection.
eJournals
- Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE) Originally derived from DOAJ, this database now aggregates other open access peer-reviewed journals that are in English from around the world.
- JURN A database of at least partial coverage for over 4,000 free open access journals, reviews, book chapters, and scholarly publications in the arts and humanities.
eBooks
The 20th Century, 1901-1940 by
This six-volume set profiles 1,037 of the most important events during the early years of the 20th century, including World War I, the Russian Revolution, and the rise of the Nazi party.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781587653247Publication Date: 2007-03-01
The Amadeus Book of the Violin by
This encyclopedia of the violin covers the mechanics of its construction through its history and evolution to its literature and performing traditions, with details and anecdotes. From the great violin makers of Cremona to the influence of key composers and virtuosos on the violin's development, every facet of the subject is exposed.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9781574670387Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Bebop by
Presents a history of bebop from its roots in the late 1930s; describes the musicians, bands, and composers who contributed to this style of jazz; and evaluates key bebop recordings.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780879306083Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Black African Cinema by
From the proselytizing lantern slides of early Christian missionaries to contemporary films that look at Africa through an African lens, N. Frank Ukadike explores the development of black African cinema. He examines the impact of culture and history, and of technology and co-production, on filmmaking throughout Africa. Every aspect of African contact with and contribution to cinematic practices receives attention: British colonial cinema; the thematic and stylistic diversity of the pioneering "francophone" films; the effects of television on the motion picture industry; and patterns of television documentary filmmaking in "anglophone" regions. Ukadike gives special attention to the growth of independent production in Ghana and Nigeria, the unique Yoruba theater-film tradition, and the militant liberationist tendencies of "lusophone" filmmakers. He offers a lucid discussion of oral tradition as a creative matrix and the relationship between cinema and other forms of popular culture. And, by contrasting "new" African films with those based on the traditional paradigm, he explores the trends emerging from the eighties and nineties. Clearly written and accessible to specialist and general reader alike, Black African Cinema's analysis of key films and issues--the most comprehensive in English--is unique. The book's pan-Africanist vision heralds important new strategies for appraising a cinema that increasingly attracts the attention of film students and Africanists.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780520077485Publication Date: 1994-08-29
California Soul by
This new series, co-sponsored with The Center for Black Music Research of Columbia College, seeks to increase our understanding of black music genres and their importance to the cultures of the Atlantic world, including their influence on African musical styles. Books in the series will examine the wide-ranging music of the African diaspora--including the folk-derived musical styles of the Americas as well as European-influenced concert hall music of the entire black Atlantic world--by analyzing issues critical to our interpretation of the music itself and exploring the relationships between music and the other black expressive arts. Focusing on blues, jazz, gospel, rhythm and blues, and soul music, California Soul is one of the first books to explore the rich musical heritage of African Americans in California. The contributors describe in detail the individual artists, locales, groups, musical styles, and regional qualities, and the result is an important book that lays the groundwork for a whole new field of study. The essays draw from oral histories, music recordings, newspaper articles and advertisements, as well as population statistics to provide insightful discussions of topics like the California urban milieu's influence on gospel music, the development of the West Coast blues style, and the significance of Los Angeles's Central Avenue in the early days of jazz. Other essays offer perspectives on how individual musicians have been shaped by their African American heritage, and on the role of the record industry and radio in the making of music. In addition to the diverse range of essays, the book includes the most comprehensive bibliography now available on African American music and culture in California.
ISBN: 9780520206281Publication Date: 1998-05-12
Deeper Than Reason by
Deeper than Reason takes the insights of modern scientific research on the emotions and uses them to illuminate questions about our emotional involvement with the arts. Robinson begins by laying out a theory of emotion, one that is supported by the best evidence from current empirical work, and then in the light of this theory examines some of the ways in which the emotions function in the arts. Written in a clear and engaging style, her book will make fascinating reading for anyone interested in the emotions and how they work, as well as anyone engaged with the arts and aesthetics, especially with questions about emotional expression in the arts, emotional experience of art forms, and, more generally, artistic interpretation.
ISBN: 9780199263653Publication Date: 2005-06-02
Religious Pluralism, Globalization, and World Politics by
Globalization has spawned more active transnational religious communities, creating a powerful force in world affairs. Religious Pluralism, Globalization and World Politics, an incisive new collection of essays, explores the patterns of cooperation and conflict that mark this new religious pluralism. Shifting religious identities have encouraged interreligious dialogue and greater political engagement around global challenges including international development, conflict resolution, transitional justice, and bioethics. At the same time, interreligious competition has contributed to political conflict and running controversy over the meaning and scope of religious freedom. In this volume, leading scholars from a variety of disciplines examine how the forces of religious pluralism and globalization are playing out on the world stage.
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOHostISBN: 9780195323405Publication Date: 2008-11-26
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283