- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Solar and Renewable Energy
- Solar and Renewable Energy Home
Solar and Renewable Energy
Unlike fossil fuels, which are exhaustible, renewable energy sources regenerate and can be sustained indefinitely. US Energy Information Administration. (2013, September 27). Renewable energy sources-energy explained-your guide to understanding energy.
Definition of Solar & Renewable Energy Sources
Renewable energy (sources) or RES capture their energy from existing flows of energy, from on-going natural processes, such as sunshine, wind, wave power, flowing water (hydropower), biological processes such as anaerobic digestion, and geothermal heat flow.
The most common definition is that renewable energy is from an energy resource that is replaced by a natural process at a rate that is equal to or faster than the rate at which that resource is being consumed. Renewable energy is a subset of sustainable energy.
From Nordic Folkecenter for Renewable Energy. (n.d.). http://www.folkecenter.net/gb/overview/definitions/
Terms to Search
alternative energy, alternative fuel, biodiesel fuel, biomass energy, CO2, carbon dioxide, clean technology, climate change, climatic change, electric power production, electric utilities, electricity, electricity distribution, electricity generation, emission control, emissions, energy conservation, energy conversion, energy consumption, energy development, energy efficiency, energy industries, energy policy, energy resources, environmental impact, environmental policy, environmental protection, environmental regulations, ethanol as fuel, fossil fuels, global warming, green buildings, green energy, greenhouse gases, hydroelectric plants, nuclear energy, nuclear power, petroleum industry, photovoltaic cells, photovoltaic power systems, power plants, power resources, public utilities, renewable energy, renewable energy industry, renewable energy sources, renewable natural resources, renewable resources, solar energy, solar radiation, sustainable development, sustainable engineering, sustainability, turbines, water power, wind power, wind turbines
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Contains more than 375,000 records covering all aspects of human impact to the environment (with full text for over 4,500 records).
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
Recommended Websites
- Home Energy Audits This website outlines some different ways to do home energy audits.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory This is the website for the National Renewable Energy Lab where the government conducts research and development on renewable energy.
- Renewable Energy World This website gives a good overview of each of the renewable energy sources.
- Science Daily This is an excellent publication that provides the latest news and developments in the science community.
- Sustainability/Renewable Energy Search Engine This search engine will search all of the sites listed here simultaneously-or you may choose to select specific site(s) to explore as needed.
- US Department of Energy: Fossil Fuels Provides basic information on all fossil fuels
eJournals
Interdisciplinarity in Engineering
International Journal of Renewable Energy Research
Journal of Natural Resources and Development
Journal of Power Technologies
Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy
Journal of Sustainable Energy
Materials for Renewable and Sustainable Energy
Mechatronics, Electrical Power, and Vehicular Technology
E-Books
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Energy... beyond Oil by
Both the forthcoming depletion of oil reserves and the urgent need to arrest global warming caused by the combustion of fossil fuels necessitates new thinking from individuals and governments alike. This book will consider a global, long-term matrix of solutions to the energy problem as a necessary condition for a sustainable future existence on this planet. -;As the Earth's oil supply runs out, and the effects of climate change threaten nations and their populations, the search for carbon-neutral sources of energy becomes more important and increasingly urgent. This book focuses on solutions to the energy problem, and not just the problem itself. It describes the major energy-generation technologies currently under development, and provides an authoritative summary of the current status of each one. It stresses the need for a balanced. portfolio of alternative energy technologies. Certain solutions will be more appropriate than others in particular locations, due to the differences in availability of natural resources such as solar, wind, wave, tidal and geothermal. In addition, nuclear options (both fission and fusion), as well. as technologies such as fuel cells, photovoltaics, artificial photosynthesis and hydrogen (as an energy carrier), all have a potential role to play. A state-of-the-art critique of energy efficiency in building design is also included. Each chapter is written by an acknowledged international expert and provides a non-technical overview of the competing and complementary approaches to energy generation. Broad in scope and comprehensive in treatment, Energy..beyond Oil provides an authoritative synthesis of the scientific and technological issues which are essential to the survival of the human race in the near future. The book will be of interest and use to graduate students and researchers in all areas of energy studies, and will also be highly useful for policy-makers and professionals in the environmental sector as well as a more general readership who wish to learn more about this. extremely topical subject. -;I know more about 'Energy...Beyond Oil' because of this book. When questions occur, I know where to look for answers. -;This book provides a comprehensive non-technical snapshot of the current situation in energy research, and will be particularly useful for researchers and policy-makers wishing to update their knowledge of the status of these technologies. Physics World, March 2008 -
Call Number: eBooks from EBSCOhostISBN: 9780191526183Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Organic Photovoltaics by
Providing complementary viewpoints from academia as well as technology companies, this book covers the three most important aspects of successful device design: materials, device physics, and manufacturing technologies. It also offers an insight into commercialization concerns, such as packaging technologies, system integration, reel-to-reel large scale manufacturing issues and production costs. With an introduction by Nobel Laureate Alan Heeger.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9783527316755Publication Date: 2008-08-05
Profiting from Clean Energy by
With <i>Profiting from Clean Energy,</i> respected investment analyst Richard Asplund provides an in-depth explanation of the technology and industry structure behind various sectors of this field and in the process identifies more than 150 stocks related to clean energy. Along the way, Asplund discusses exactly what it takes to effectively invest in clean energy whether it be through buying individual stocks, investing in green exchange-traded funds or mutual funds, or trading the biofuel and carbon credit markets.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780470117996Publication Date: 2008-03-03
Renewable Energy by
This volume is a true shelf reference, providing a thorough overview of the entire renewable energy sphere, while still functioning as a go-to information source for professionals and students when they need answers about a specific technical issue. Crafted over the last 15 years into a problem-solving tool for engineers, researchers, consultants and planners currently working in the field, as well as a detailed map of the renewables universe for those looking to expand into new technological specialties, Renewable Energy by Sorensen offers the most comprehensive coverage of the subject available. The book has been structured around three parts in order to assist readers in focusing on the issues that impact them the most for a given project or question. PART I covers the basic scientific principles behind all major renewable energy resources, such as solar, wind and biomass. PART II provides in-depth information about how these raw renewable sources can actually be converted into useful forms, transmitted into the grid and stored for future utilization. Finally, PART III undertakes the aspects of energy planning, environmental impacts and socio-economic issues on regional and global levels. In this fourth edition update, new material includes expanded coverage of biofuels, solar conversion, biomass and fuel cells, storage and transmission, and a new chapter on integrated technologies to introduce the hybrid systems now being explored. New surveys and the most recent research findings are included throughout. *New, thoroughly updated fourth edition of the authoritative field guide to the entire Renewable Energy universe *The only books to scientific principles and implementation methods, technologies and socio-economics, environmental impacts and cutting-edge advances, all in one volume. *New material includes expanded coverage of biofuels, solar conversion, biomass and fuel cells, storage and transmission, and a new chapter on integrated systems.
Call Number: Books 24x7ISBN: 9780123750259Publication Date: 2010-11-19
Solar Energy Projects for the Evil Genius by
FOLLOW THE SUN TO MORE EVIL FUN Let the sun shine on your evil side - and have a wicked amount of fun on your way to becoming a solar energy master In this guide, the popular Evil Genius format ramps up your understanding of powerful, important, and environmentally friendly solar energy - and shows you how to build real, practical solar energy projects you can use in your home, yard - even on the road In "Solar Energy Projects for the Evil Genius," high-tech guru Gavin Harper gives you everything you need to build more than 50 thrilling solar energy projects. You'll find complete, easy-to-follow plans, with clear diagrams and schematics, so you know exactly what's involved before you begin. Illustrated instructions and plans for 30 amazing pretested solar energy projects that assume no prior experience with energy science Explanations of the science and math behind each project Projects that progress in difficulty - from simple ones that may inspire science fair entries - all the way to converting a real home to solar energy Frustration-factor removal-needed parts are listed, along with sources-plus all the tools you'll need "Solar Energy Projects for the Evil Genius" provides you with complete plans, instructions, parts lists, and sources for: Crushed berries solar cell Solar "death ray" Solar powered hot dog cooker Solar furnace Sun-powered refrigerator Camping shower, oven, and more Hot recipes for solar cooking Water purifier Flashlight Garden lights Solar vehicle Environmentally friendly robot Much more
Call Number: eBooks by EBSCOhostISBN: 9780071509107Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Wind Energy Systems for Electric Power Generation by
Among renewable sources wind power systems have developed to prominent s- pliers of electrical energy. Since the 1980s they have seen an exponential increase, both in unit power ratings and overall capacity. While most of the systems are found on dry land, preferably in coastal regions, off-shore wind parks are expected to add signi?cantly to wind energy conversion in the future. The theory of modern wind turbines has not been established before the 20th century. Currently wind turbines with three blades and horizontal shaft prevail. The drivenelectricgeneratorsareoftheasynchronousorsynchronoustype,withorwi- out interposed gearbox. Modern systems are designed for variable speed operation which make power electronic devices play an important part in wind energy conv- sion. Manufacturing has reached the state of a high-tech industry. Countries prominent for the amount of installed wind turbine systems feeding into the grid are in Europe Denmark, Germany and Spain. Outside Europe it is the United States of America and India who stand out with large rates of increase. The market and the degree of contribution to the energy consumption in a country has been strongly in?uenced by National support schemes, such as guaranteed feed-in tariffs or tax credits. Due to the personal background of the author, the view is mainly directed on Europe, and many examples are taken from the German scene. However, the sit- tion in other continents, especially North America and Asia is also considered.
Call Number: eBooks from EBSCOhostISBN: 9783540687627Publication Date: 2008-09-09
Professional Organizations
- Solar Energy Industries Association As the national trade association in the U.S., the Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA) is the power behind solar energy. Our member companies research, manufacture, distribute, finance, and build solar projects domestically and abroad.
- American Solar Energy Society Established in 1954, the nonprofit American Solar Energy Society (ASES) is the nation’s leading association of solar professionals & advocates. ASES is the US Section of the International Solar Energy Society (ISES). Our mission is to inspire an era of energy innovation and speed the transition to a sustainable energy economy.
- U.S. Renewable Energy Association United States Renewable Energy Association, LLC., (USREA) is a renewable energy advocacy group, working to both educate and promote advanced technologies in the R.E. industry. We provide a blog and news service online, and encourage participation through knowledge posted by educational, corporate and enthusiast members alike.
- Renewable Energy Marketers Association The Renewable Energy Markets Association (REMA) is a 501(c)(6) nonprofit association dedicated to maintaining and growing strong markets for renewable energy in the United States.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283