Learn More About Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Diversity and Inclusion Matters by
Expert guidance and step-by-step instruction for building a successful diversity, equity, and inclusion initiative from scratch In Diversity and Inclusion Matters: Tactics and Tools to Inspire Equity and Game-Changing Performance, award-winning diversity, equity, and inclusion (DE&I) expert Jason R. Thompson delivers a practical and engaging handbook for implementing a DE&I program in your organization. The CAPE technique, developed by the author, gives you a clear blueprint and the tools you'll need to make your diversity program a success. In this book, you'll learn how to achieve early and significant wins to create the necessary and long term organizational change needed for successful DE&I programs. Find out what data you need to collect, how to analyze it, and choose the right goals for your organization. In addition, the CAPE technique will show your progress and ROI. You will learn to: Manage and lead a diversity council and implement diversity initiatives in the correct order Get early buy-in and long-term commitment from a Chief Executive Officer by knowing what to ask for and when Set appropriate and realistic expectations for a DE&I program with the executive leadership team Perfect for diversity and inclusion professionals, human resources leaders, founders, business owners, and executives, Diversity and Inclusion Matters will also earn a place in the libraries of students of human resources, leadership, management, and finance.
Caste by
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * "An instant American classic and almost certainly the keynote nonfiction book of the American century thus far."--Dwight Garner, The New York Times The Pulitzer Prize-winning, bestselling author of The Warmth of Other Suns examines the unspoken caste system that has shaped America and shows how our lives today are still defined by a hierarchy of human divisions. #1 NONFICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR: Time ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Boston Globe, O: The Oprah Magazine, NPR, Bloomberg, The Christian Science Monitor, New York Post, The New York Public Library, Fortune, Smithsonian Magazine, Marie Claire, Slate, Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews Winner of the Carl Sandberg Literary Award * Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize * National Book Award Longlist * National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist * Dayton Literary Peace Prize Finalist * PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction Finalist * PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Longlist * Kirkus Prize Finalist "As we go about our daily lives, caste is the wordless usher in a darkened theater, flashlight cast down in the aisles, guiding us to our assigned seats for a performance. The hierarchy of caste is not about feelings or morality. It is about power--which groups have it and which do not." In this brilliant book, Isabel Wilkerson gives us a masterful portrait of an unseen phenomenon in America as she explores, through an immersive, deeply researched, and beautifully written narrative and stories about real people, how America today and throughout its history has been shaped by a hidden caste system, a rigid hierarchy of human rankings. Beyond race, class, or other factors, there is a powerful caste system that influences people's lives and behavior and the nation's fate. Linking the caste systems of America, India, and Nazi Germany, Wilkerson explores eight pillars that underlie caste systems across civilizations, including divine will, bloodlines, stigma, and more. Using riveting stories about people--including Martin Luther King, Jr., baseball's Satchel Paige, a single father and his toddler son, Wilkerson herself, and many others--she shows the ways that the insidious undertow of caste is experienced every day. She documents how the Nazis studied the racial systems in America to plan their outcasting of the Jews; she discusses why the cruel logic of caste requires that there be a bottom rung for those in the middle to measure themselves against; she writes about the surprising health costs of caste, in depression and life expectancy, and the effects of this hierarchy on our culture and politics. Finally, she points forward to ways America can move beyond the artificial and destructive separations of human divisions, toward hope in our common humanity. Original and revealing, Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents is an eye-opening story of people and history, and a reexamination of what lies under the surface of ordinary lives and of American life today.
Building a Culture of Inclusivity by
Diversity, equality and inclusion (DEI) have never been so important in organizations and yet many feel inadequately prepared. In this guide, the authors combine their expert knowledge to provide a practical approach to bridge this skills and knowledge gap for those delivering Internal Communications. Navigating DEI language can be difficult, but Building a Culture of Inclusivity will help Internal Communication professionals, HR and business leaders engage employees in driving culture change to ensure everyone feels valued and like they belong. This book provides a roadmap to manage tangible change consistently throughout the year and techniques that avoid inauthenticity. It also explains how to identify and move away from performative tokenistic actions and biases to help develop effective deliverables that help every colleague in their organization feel included. This book offers support for conversations with leaders to help them drive the diversity agenda and understand the importance of cultivating a culture of inclusivity across their workforce through their internal communications. Inherently practical, Building a Culture of Inclusivity provides case studies of exemplar DEI communications, exercises for self-assessment and templates to complete to identify goals and strategies. Written by two experienced Internal Communication Professionals, this book will help you understand how to construct and sustain an inclusive workplace where progress leads to results.
The Key to Inclusion by
Recognising the importance of diversity, belonging and equity is not enough. This book has the practical guidance needed to think differently and make true inclusion a reality.Edited by Stephen Frost, a leading voice in the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) space, this book is a must-have for all those who know that achieving inclusion at work is important but don't know where to start. It covers how to be more inclusive as an individual by changing your mindset and building your cultural intelligence as well as how to develop more inclusive teams by adapting management practice and environments whatever the size or structure of your business. The Key to Inclusion also provides tools, strategies and advice on inclusion at an organizational level through inclusive strategy, leadership, governance, data, systems and processes. Supported by real-world examples, interviews and case studies from BBC, the UK National Health Service (NHS), AstraZeneca and LinkedIn, this book looks beyond inclusion in the present to examine inclusion in the future and particularly in tech, financial services and TV. With chapters from a diverse group of expert voices, this book is crucial reading for all HR professionals and business leaders who are looking to deliver true inclusion as individuals, in their teams, in their organizations and communities.
Implementing Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Management in Organizational Change Initiatives by
The social and political changes of this era have created a climate change and fundamental shift in how businesses view the impact of diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIB) in the workplace. It is essential to understand how leaders make significant, sustainable changes utilizing communication abilities, envisioning, conflict management skills, and innovative DEIB initiatives. However, leaders must be careful not to rely on anecdotal evidence as it does not always reflect DEIB realities. Implementing Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Management in Organizational Change Initiatives analyzes how leaders implement DEIB organizational change initiatives. It provides an interdisciplinary perspective of how issues and challenges pertaining to DEIB management affect organization performance. Covering topics such as inclusive organizational identity, socio-intercultural entrepreneurship, and supplier diversity programs, this book is an indispensable resource for business leaders, managers, entrepreneurs, academic administration, students and educators of higher education, government officials, researchers, and academicians.
Impactful Inclusion Toolkit by
Practical, hands-on strategies to increase inclusion, diversity, and equity in your workplace In Impactful Inclusion Toolkit: 52 Activities to Help You Learn and Practice Inclusion Every Day in the Workplace, accomplished diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) strategist and leader Yvette Steele delivers a collection of practical and hands-on exercises that encourage and promote inclusion in the workplace. The exercises emphasize the development of key inclusive behaviors, including self-knowledge, connecting with others, creating new habits, and experiencing other cultures. In the book, you'll find: 52 behaviors to practice during the year that will empower you to be more inclusive in the real world Concrete instructions regarding how to become more inclusive, rather than just high-level information about inclusivity generally Actionable strategies to help drive change in your organization and manage the discomfort that sometimes exists around DEI issues An effective and practical resource for anyone who wants to be more inclusive. Frontline and knowledge workers can empower themselves to drive change with weekly activities and resources. DEI and HR professionals, company founders, owners, managers, and other business leaders can better support staff on their inclusion journey. The Impactful Inclusion Toolkit is an essential addition to DEI strategies of any organization whether they are active or aspire to be more inclusive.
Unbias by
Let the CEO of Rework Work help you understand diversity, equity, and inclusion concepts to actively remove bias from the workplace Dismantling unhealthy workplaces involves much more than talking about it, and more than charts, graphs, and statistics--it requires action. Although it's increasingly common for businesses of all shapes and sizes to appreciate the importance of diversity and inclusion in the workplace, many are often unaware of bias in the cultures they've created. Others might know there's a problem, but don't know how to properly address it. UNBIAS: Addressing Unconscious Bias At Work helps you understand concepts of workplace diversity, equity, and inclusion, shows you how to identify bias, and provides you with the tools for actively removing barriers and ensuring equity throughout your organization. Written by Stacey Gordon--CEO of Rework Work, a company on a mission to reduce bias in global talent acquisition and management--this real-world handbook offers step-by-step guidance on creating workplace cultures where employees feel they belong. UNBIAS teaches you to: Identify and address bias in the workplace Understand what you can do to be more inclusive Handle potentially uncomfortable conversations Discuss race in an authentic and meaningful way Use workplace-proven tools that make concepts of diversity and equity actionable Help your employee resource groups without giving them extra work Place accountability on organizational policies that allow biased behavior UNBIAS is a must-have resource for all employers, managers, and HR professionals seeking to create and sustain healthy, inclusive, and equitable workplace environments.
The Equity Mindset by
Learn to implement the intentional practices and make the hard decisions that true equity demands In The Equity Mindset, celebrated researcher, attorney, and activist Ifeomasinachi Ike delivers a moving and impactful exploration of why equity is so important, the shortcomings of institutional diversity and inclusion (D&I) initiatives, and how we creatively and boldly design cultures centering the expertise of those who know first-hand how inequity has shaped work culture. The book examines the dynamics of normalized institutional oppression, offers real-world case studies, and provides readers with new practices, key performance indicators (KPIs), and milestones for measuring the success of modern DEI efforts. At its core, The Equity Mindset is about adopting a problem-solving mentality to address social inequities to ensure we all thrive. This nuanced treatment of principles, practices, and production also includes: Practitioner interviews with guidance on how each person, regardless of industry, can advance equity personally and professionally Strategies for addressing organizational bias, inequity, and lack of representation Tools for leaders and decisionmakers seeking concrete steps to create safer cultures for communities historically marginalized A can't-miss resource for managers, executives, board members, and other business leaders, The Equity Mindset is for those with and without traditional authority who seek to advance the movement for equitable treatment in every environment.
Diversity and Inclusion Matters by
Expert guidance and step-by-step instruction for building a successful diversity, equity, and inclusion initiative from scratch In Diversity and Inclusion Matters: Tactics and Tools to Inspire Equity and Game-Changing Performance, award-winning diversity, equity, and inclusion (DE&I) expert Jason R. Thompson delivers a practical and engaging handbook for implementing a DE&I program in your organization. The CAPE technique, developed by the author, gives you a clear blueprint and the tools you'll need to make your diversity program a success. In this book, you'll learn how to achieve early and significant wins to create the necessary and long term organizational change needed for successful DE&I programs. Find out what data you need to collect, how to analyze it, and choose the right goals for your organization. In addition, the CAPE technique will show your progress and ROI. You will learn to: Manage and lead a diversity council and implement diversity initiatives in the correct order Get early buy-in and long-term commitment from a Chief Executive Officer by knowing what to ask for and when Set appropriate and realistic expectations for a DE&I program with the executive leadership team Perfect for diversity and inclusion professionals, human resources leaders, founders, business owners, and executives, Diversity and Inclusion Matters will also earn a place in the libraries of students of human resources, leadership, management, and finance.
Getting Started
McArthur, R. (2022). What does it mean to be inclusive? Independent Banker, 72(7), 30-33. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/what-does-mean-be-inclusive/docview/2684620465/se-2
Challenges to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
DiTomaso, N. (2023). Rethinking “Woke” and “Integrative” Diversity Strategies: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion—and Inequality. Academy of Management Perspectives, 1–20. https://doi-org.devry.idm.oclc.org/10.5465/amp.2023.0013
Iyer, A. (2022). Understanding advantaged groups’ opposition to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) policies: The role of perceived threat. Social & Personality Psychology Compass, 16(5), 1–14. https://doi-org.devry.idm.oclc.org/10.1111/spc3.12666
Nayani, F. (2022). Overcoming The Fatigue Of Diversity, Equity And Inclusion. Leadership Excellence, 39(6), 7-9. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/overcoming-fatigue-diversity-equity-inclusion/docview/2677066046/se-2
Stevens, C. B. (2023). The Backlash Against DEI: BNH. Business NH Magazine, 40(10), 14-15. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/backlash-against-dei/docview/2883022708/se-2
DEI in Action: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Professions
Buttinger, L. (2023). Diversity, equity and inclusion: Strategies for success. Journal of Securities Operations & Custody, 15(3), 205–217. https://research-ebsco-com.devry.idm.oclc.org/linkprocessor/plink?id=7d55fe37-d08a-3076-94ba-3b7b12ed2f0e
Olusanya, E. O. E. (2023). Workplace Diversity, Equity, Inclusion. The Journal of Business Diversity, 23(4), 14-23. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/workplace-diversity-equity-inclusion/docview/2903855481/se-2
Jules, C. (2023). Leading in a Digital Era with Equity, Inclusion, and Diversity. Leader to Leader, 2023(107), 39–45. https://doi-org.devry.idm.oclc.org/10.1002/ltl.20690
Mcdonald, P. (2021). Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in CPA Practices: Is Everyone Accounted For? CPA Practice Advisor, 31(7), 24. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/diversity-equity-amp-inclusion-cpa-practices-is/docview/2561987844/se-2
Carter, J. D. (2022). Supporting Health Equity through a Focus on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Medical Regulation: The FSMB’s Initial Steps on a Critical Journey: Third in a JMR series on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Medical Regulation. Journal of Medical Regulation, 108(2), 29–31. https://doi-org.devry.idm.oclc.org/10.30770/2572-1852-108.2.29
Corbett, C. J., & Narayanan, S. (2022). Special issue of Production and Operations Management on “Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Operations and Supply Chain Management.” Production & Operations Management, 31(9), 3632–3634. https://doi-org.devry.idm.oclc.org/10.1111/poms.13844
Kenji Yoshino and David Glasgow.(November, 2023) How to productively disagree on tough topics. MIT Sloan Management Review.
https://learning-oreilly-com.devry.idm.oclc.org/library/view/how-to-productively/53863MIT65213/
Eskandari, T. (2024). The Benefits of 'Allyship' in the Workplace. Sdm, 54(1), 14. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/benefits-allyship-workplace/docview/2917339959/se-2
Mckim, J. T. (2024). DEI: Where to Start: BNH. Business NH Magazine, 41(2), 12-13. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/dei-where-start/docview/2926252727/se-2
Sekiya, D. (2023). Fostering Connections and Inclusion. Talent Development, 77(1), 22-24. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/fostering-connections-inclusion/docview/2760071642/se-2
Earl, A. (2021). Supporting activism and encouraging advocacy. Hfn, https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/supporting-activism-encouraging-advocacy/docview/2571802198/se-2
Klesner, D., & Ingram, V. (2021). Showing Up Professionally In A More DEI World. OfficePro, 81(3), 18-21. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/showing-up-professionally-more-dei-world/docview/2917622048/se-2
Hannafan, F. H. (2023). Look Inward, Serve Outward. Credit Union Management, 46(9), 16-19. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/look-inward-serve-outward/docview/2858415262/se-2
Thompson, D. (2021). Promote Allyship and Amplification in the Workplace. Talent Development, 75(12), 14. https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/promote-allyship-amplification-workplace/docview/2605308937/se-2
A faded rainbow? Allyship after Pride Month. (2023). International Financial Law Review, https://devry.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/trade-journals/faded-rainbow-allyship-after-pride-month/docview/2843652937/se-2
