Intersectionality: Home
What is Intersectionality?
Intersectionality is a term coined by law professor Kimberlé Crenshaw in 1989 to explain the different experiences, particularly of discrimination faced by Black women. Black women are not treated either like Black men or like white women and thus laws designed to address discrimination against those two groups have left out Black women. Crenshaw built on decades of understanding of the interconnectedness of identity from the work of Black feminist thinkers. For example, when speaking at Harvard University in February 1982, Audre Lorde said, “There is no such thing as a single-issue struggle because we do not live single-issue lives” (see the ebook Sister Outsider. “Learning from the 60s.” page 131).
Importantly, the seminal work of 1970s queer Black feminists in the Combahee River Collective Statement defines their work as “actively committed to struggling against racial, sexual, heterosexual, and class oppression, and see as our particular task the development of integrated analysis and practice based upon the fact that the major systems of oppression are interlocking.” Thus, it is critical to understand that intersectionality and its precursors are not about oppression being additive but about the distinct ways experiences of oppression and domination are both unique among individuals and shared by groups based on their marginalized and privileged identities. The resources below explore these particularities and what we can do to make our society inclusive and equitable.
Overviews of Intersectionality
Introduction to Intersectionality by Assemble You Limited (9 minute audio explainer)
https://learning-oreilly-com.devry.idm.oclc.org/videos/introduction-to-intersectionality/125078AYPOD/
Intersectionality by
A 2017 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Intersectionality intervenes in the field of intersectionality studies: the integrative examination of the effects of racial, gendered, and class power on people's lives. While "intersectionality" circulates as a buzzword, Anna Carastathis joins other critical voices to urge a more careful reading. Challenging the narratives of arrival that surround it, Carastathis argues that intersectionality is a horizon, illuminating ways of thinking that have yet to be realized; consequently, calls to "go beyond" intersectionality are premature. A provisional interpretation of intersectionality can disorient habits of essentialism, categorial purity, and prototypicality and overcome dynamics of segregation and subordination in political movements. Through a close reading of critical race theorist Kimberlé Williams Crenshaw's germinal texts, published more than twenty-five years ago, Carastathis urges analytic clarity, contextual rigor, and a politicized, historicized understanding of this widely traveling concept. Intersectionality's roots in social justice movements and critical intellectual projects--specifically Black feminism--must be retraced and synthesized with a decolonial analysis so its radical potential to actualize coalitions can be enacted.
ISBN: 9780803285552Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Read This to Get Smarter by
An approachable guide tobeingan informed, compassionate, and socially conscious person today-from discussions ofrace, gender, and sexual orientation to disability, class, and beyond-from critically acclaimed historian, educator,and author Blair Imani. "Blair answers the questions that so many of us are asking."-Layla F. Saad, author of Me and White Supremacy We live in a time where it has never been more important to be knowledgeable about a host of social issues, and to be confident and appropriate in how to talk about them. What's the best way to ask someone what their pronouns are? How do you talk about racism with someone who doesn't seem to get it? What is intersectionality, and why do you need to understand it? While it can seem intimidating or overwhelming to learn and talk about such issues, it's never been easier thanks to educator and historian Blair Imani, creator of the viral sensation Smarter in Seconds videos. Accessible to learners of all levels-from those just getting started on the journey to those already versed in social justice-Read This to Get Smarter covers a range of topics, including race, gender, class, disability, relationships, family, power dynamics, oppression, and beyond. This essential guide is a radical but warm and non-judgmental call to arms, structured in such a way that you can read it cover to cover or start with any topic you want to learn more about. With Blair Imani as your teacher, you'll "get smarter" in no time, and be equipped to intelligently and empathetically process, discuss, and educate others on the crucial issues we must tackle to achieve a liberated, equitable world.
ISBN: 9781984860545Publication Date: 2021-10-26
Navigating Intersectionality: How Race, Class, and Gender Overlap by
In an era of political and cultural turmoil, it seems like the United States is more divided than ever along lines of identity. How are our experiences shaped by our race, gender, and class? How do these identities intersect? This textbook will give students in grades 7 to 12 a framework for navigating intersectionality, and understanding how we can use this concept to enrich our understanding of identity, power, and justice in society.
ISBN: 9781978504653Publication Date: 2018-12-30
Inclusive Communities by
The term "Inclusive Communities" has increasingly featured in recent years, at policy, practice and theoretical levels, drawing from different disciplinary standpoints. Much of this has been spurred by efforts at understanding the exclusions confronted by certain populations, to develop the notion of and mechanisms by which communities can include those who are marginalised and/or oppressed, and in some contexts to 'bring back' community as something real or imagined. In spite of this, this deceptive term remains shrouded in epistemological darkness, conveniently endorsed but often little theorised and less understood. This text provides an exciting introductory textbook, drawing academics, policy makers and activists from various fields to theorise, create new and innovative conceptual platforms and develop further the hybrid idea of inclusive communities.
ISBN: 9789460918476Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Intersectionality’s Origins in Black Feminist Thought
How We Get Free by
"If Black women were free, it would mean that everyone else would have to be free." --Combahee River Collective Statement Winner of the 2018 Lambda Literary Award for LGBTQ Nonfiction The Combahee River Collective, a path-breaking group of radical black feminists, was one of the most important organizations to develop out of the antiracist and women's liberation movements of the 1960s and 70s. In this collection of essays and interviews edited by activist-scholar Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor, founding members of the organization and contemporary activists reflect on the legacy of its contributions to Black feminism and its impact on today's struggles. Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor writes on Black politics, social movements, and racial inequality in the United States. Her book From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation won the 2016 Lannan Cultural Freedom Award for an Especially Notable Book. Her articles have been published in Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture and Society, Jacobin, New Politics, The Guardian, In These Times, Black Agenda Report, Ms., International Socialist Review, and other publications. Taylor is Assistant Professor in the Department of African American Studies at Princeton University.
ISBN: 9781608468553Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Black Feminist Thought by
In spite of the double burden of racial and gender discrimination, African-American women have developed a rich intellectual tradition that is not widely known. In Black Feminist Thought, Patricia Hill Collins explores the words and ideas of Black feminist intellectuals as well as those African-American women outside academe. She provides an interpretive framework for the work of such prominent Black feminist thinkers as Angela Davis, bell hooks, Alice Walker, and Audre Lorde. The result is a superbly crafted book that provides the first synthetic overview of Black feminist thought.
ISBN: 9780415924832Publication Date: 1999-12-09
But Some of Us Are Brave by
Published in 1982, But Some of Us Are Brave was the first-ever Black women's studies reader and a foundational text of contemporary feminism. Featuring writing from eminent scholars, activists, teachers, and writers, such as the Combahee River Collective and Alice Walker, All the Women Are White, All the Blacks Are Men, But Some of Us Are Bravechallenges the absence of Black feminist thought in women's studies, confronts racism, and investigates the mythology surrounding Black women in the social sciences. As the first comprehensive collection of Black feminist scholarship, But Some of Us Are Brave was recognized by Audre Lorde as "the beginning of a new era, where the 'women' in women's studies will no longer mean 'white.'" Coeditors Akasha (Gloria T.) Hull, Patricia Bell-Scott, and Barbara Smith are authors and former women's studies professors. Brittney C. Cooper is a professor of Women's and Gender Studies and Africana Studies at Rutgers University. She is the author of several books, including Eloquent Rage, named by Emma Watson as an Our Shared Shelf read for November/December 2018.
ISBN: 9781558618985Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Black Women's Intellectual Traditions by
An astonishing wealth of literary and intellectual work by nineteenth-century black women is being rediscovered and restored to print in scholarly and popular editions. In Kristin Waters's and Carol B. Conaway's landmark edited collection, Black Women's Intellectual Traditions: Speaking Their Minds, sophisticated commentary on this rich body of work chronicles a powerful and interwoven legacy of activism based in social and political theories that helped shape the history of North America. The book meticulously reclaims this American legacy, providing a collection of critical analyses of the primary sources and their vital traditions. Written by leading scholars, Black Women's Intellectual Traditions is particularly powerful in its exploration of the pioneering thought and action of the nineteenth-century black woman lecturer and essayist Maria W. Stewart, abolitionist Sojourner Truth, novelist and poet Frances Ellen Watkins Harper, educator Anna Julia Cooper, newspaper editor Mary Ann Shadd Cary, and activist Ida B. Wells. The distinguished contributors are Hazel V. Carby, Patricia Hill Collins, Karen Baker-Fletcher, Kristin Waters, R. Dianne Bartlow, Carol B. Conaway, Olga Idriss Davis, Vanessa Holford Diana, Evelyn Simien, Janice W. Fernheimer, Michelle N. Garfield, Joy James, Valerie Palmer-Mehta, Carla L. Peterson, Marilyn Richardson, Evelyn M. Simien, Ebony A. Utley, Mary Helen Washington, Melina Abdullah, and Lena Ampadu. The volume will interest scholars and readers of African-American and women's studies, history, rhetoric, literature, poetry, sociology, political science, and philosophy.
ISBN: 9781584656340Publication Date: 2007-04-30
Black Women Writers at Work by
"Black women writers and critics are acting on the old adage that one must speak for oneself if one wishes to be heard." --Claudia Tate, from the introduction Long out of print, Black Women Writers at Work is a vital contribution to Black literature in the 20th century. Through candid interviews with Maya Angelou, Toni Cade Bambara, Gwendolyn Brooks, Alexis De Veaux, Nikki Giovanni, Kristin Hunter, Gayl Jones, Audre Lorde, Toni Morrison, Sonia Sanchez, Ntozake Shange, Alice Walker, Margaret Walker, and Sherley Anne Williams, the book highlights the practices and critical linkages between the work and lived experiences of Black women writers whose work laid the foundation for many who have come after. Responding to questions about why and for whom they write, and how they perceive their responsibility to their work, to others, and to society, the featured playwrights, poets, novelists, and essayists provide a window into the connections between their lives and their art. Finally available for a new generation, this classic work has an urgent message for readers and writers today.
ISBN: 9781642598407Publication Date: 2023-01-10
Sister Outsider by
Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. "[Lorde's] works will be important to those truly interested in growing up sensitive, intelligent, and aware."--The New York Times In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change. Her prose is incisive, unflinching, and lyrical, reflecting struggle but ultimately offering messages of hope. This commemorative edition includes a new foreword by Lorde-scholar and poet Cheryl Clarke, who celebrates the ways in which Lorde's philosophies resonate more than twenty years after they were first published. These landmark writings are, in Lorde's own words, a call to "never close our eyes to the terror, to the chaos which is Black which is creative which is female which is dark which is rejected which is messy which is . . . "
ISBN: 9781580911863Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Women, Race and Class by
From one of our most important scholars and civil rights activist icon, a powerful study of the women's liberation movement and the tangled knot of oppression facing Black women. "Angela Davis is herself a woman of undeniable courage. She should be heard."--The New York Times Angela Davis provides a powerful history of the social and political influence of whiteness and elitism in feminism, from abolitionist days to the present, and demonstrates how the racist and classist biases of its leaders inevitably hampered any collective ambitions. While Black women were aided by some activists like Sarah and Angelina Grimke and the suffrage cause found unwavering support in Frederick Douglass, many women played on the fears of white supremacists for political gain rather than take an intersectional approach to liberation. Here, Davis not only contextualizes the legacy and pitfalls of civil and women's rights activists, but also discusses Communist women, the murder of Emmitt Till, and Margaret Sanger's racism. Davis shows readers how the inequalities between Black and white women influence the contemporary issues of rape, reproductive freedom, housework and child care in this bold and indispensable work.
ISBN: 9780394713519Publication Date: 1983-02-12
Writing Beyond Race by
What are the conditions needed for our nation to bridge cultural and racial divides? By "writing beyond race," noted cultural critic bell hooks models the constructive ways scholars, activists, and readers can challenge and change systems of domination. In the spirit of previous classics like Outlaw Culture and Reel to Real, this new collection of compelling essays interrogates contemporary cultural notions of race, gender, and class. From the films Precious and Crash to recent biographies of Malcolm X and Henrietta Lacks, hooks offers provocative insights into the way race is being talked about in this "post-racial" era.
ISBN: 9780415539142Publication Date: 2012-10-25
Freedom Is a Constant Struggle by
In these newly collected essays, interviews, and speeches, world-renowned activist and scholar Angela Y. Davis illuminates the connections between struggles against state violence and oppression throughout history and around the world.Reflecting on the importance of black feminism, intersectionality, and prison abolitionism for today's struggles, Davis discusses the legacies of previous liberation struggles-from the black freedom movement to the South African antiapartheid movement. She highlights connections and analyzes today's struggles against state terror, from Ferguson to Palestine.Facing a world of outrageous injustice, Davis challenges us to imagine and build the movement for human liberation. And in doing so, she reminds us that "freedom is a constant struggle."
ISBN: 9781515978350Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Theories of Intersectionality
Black Intersectionalities by
Black Intersectionalities: A Critique for the 21st Century explores the complex interrelationships between race, gender, and sex as these are conceptualised within contemporary thought. Markers of identity are too often isolated and presented as definitive, then examined and theorised, a process that further naturalises their absoluteness; thus socially generated constructs become socialising categories that assume coercive power. The resulting set of oppositions isolate and delimit: male or female, black or white, straight or gay. A new kind of intervention is needed, an intervention that recognises the validity of the researcher's own self-reflexivity. Focusing on the way identity is both constructed and constructive, the collection examines the frameworks and practices that deny transgressive possibilities. It seeks to engage in a consciousness raising exercise that documents the damaging nature of assigned social positions and either/or identity constructions. It seeks to progress beyond the socially prescribed categories of race, gender and sex, recognising the need to combine intellectualization and feeling, rationality and affectivity, abstraction and emotion, consciousness and desire. It seeks to develop new types of transdisciplinary frameworks where subjective and political spaces can be universalized while remaining particular, leaving texts open so that identity remains imagined, plural, and continuously shifting. Such an approach restores the complexity of what it means to be human.
ISBN: 9781846319389Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Bridging by
The inspirational writings of cultural theorist and social justice activist Gloria Anzaldúa have empowered generations of women and men throughout the world. Charting the multiplicity of Anzaldúa's impact within and beyond academic disciplines, community trenches, and international borders, Bridging presents more than thirty reflections on her work and her life, examining vibrant facets in surprising new ways and inviting readers to engage with these intimate, heartfelt contributions. Bridging is divided into five sections: The New Mestizas: "transitions and transformations"; Exposing the Wounds: "You gave me permission to fly in the dark"; Border Crossings: Inner Struggles, Outer Change; Bridging Theories: Intellectual Activism with/in Borders; and "Todas somos nos/otras": Toward a "politics of openness." Contributors, who include Norma Elia Cantú, Elisa Facio, Shelley Fisher Fishkin, Aída Hurtado, Andrea Lunsford, Denise Segura, Gloria Steinem, and Mohammad Tamdgidi, represent a broad range of generations, professions, academic disciplines, and national backgrounds. Critically engaging with Anzaldúa's theories and building on her work, they use virtual diaries, transformational theory, poetry, empirical research, autobiographical narrative, and other genres to creatively explore and boldly enact future directions for Anzaldúan studies. A book whose form and content reflect Anzaldúa's diverse audience, Bridging perpetuates Anzaldúa's spirit through groundbreaking praxis and visionary insights into culture, gender, sexuality, religion, aesthetics, and politics. This is a collection whose span is as broad and dazzling as Anzaldúa herself.
ISBN: 9780292725553Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Chicana Feminist Thought by
Chicana Feminist Thoughtbrings together the voices of Chicana poets, writers, and activists who reflect upon the Chicana Feminist Movement that began in the late 1960s. With energy and passion, this anthology of writings documents the personal and collective political struggles of Chicana feminists.
ISBN: 9780415918008Publication Date: 1997-09-24
Chicana Without Apology by
By approaching Chicana/o issues from the frames of feminism, social activism, and cultural studies, and by considering both lived experience and the latest research, Torres offers a more comprehensive understanding of current Chicana life. Through compelling prose, Torres masterfully weaves her own story as a first-generation Mexican American with interviews with activists and other Mexican-American women to document the present fight for social justice and the struggles of living between two worlds.
ISBN: 9780415935050Publication Date: 2003-09-19
Disability in the Global South by
This first-of-its kind volume spans the breadth of disability research and practice specifically focusing on the global South. Established and emerging scholars alongside advocates adopt a critical and interdisciplinary stance to probe, challenge and shift common held social understandings of disability in established discourses, epistemologies and practices, including those in prominent areas such as global health, disability studies and international development. Motivated by decolonizing approaches, contributors carefully weave the lived and embodied experiences of disabled people, families and communities through contextual, cultural, spatial, racial, economic, identity and geopolitical complexities and heterogeneities. Dispatches from Ghana, Lebanon, Sri Lanka, Cambodia, Venezuela among many others spotlight the complex uncertainties of modern geopolitics of coloniality; emergent forms of governance including neoliberal globalization, war and conflicts; the interstices of gender, race, ethnicity, space and religion; structural barriers to redistribution and realization of rights; and processes of disability representation. This handbook examines in rigorous depth, established practices and discourses in disability including those on development, rights, policies and practices, opening a space for critical debate on hegemonic and often unquestioned terrains.Highlights of the coverage include: Critical issues in conceptualizing disability across cultures, time and space The challenges of disability models, metrics and statistics Disability, poverty and livelihoods in urban and rural contexts Disability interstices with migration, race, ethnicity, ge nder and sexuality Disabilit y, religion and customary societies and practice · The UNCRPD, disability rights orientations and instrumentalitie · Redistributive systems including budgeting, cash transfer systems and programming. · Global South-North partnerships: intercultural methodologies in disability research. This much awaited handbook provides students, academics, practitioners and policymakers with an authoritative framework for critical thinking and debate about disability, while pushing theoretical and practical frontiers in unprecedented ways.
ISBN: 9783319424866Publication Date: 2016-11-17
Emerging Intersections by
The United States is known as a "melting pot" yet this mix tends to be volatile and contributes to a long history of oppression, racism, and bigotry. Emerging Intersections, an anthology of ten previously unpublished essays, looks at the problems of inequality and oppression from new angles and promotes intersectionality as an interpretive tool that can be utilized to better understand the ways in which race, class, gender, ethnicity, and other dimensions of difference shape our lives today. The book showcases innovative contributions that expand our understanding of how inequality affects people of color, demonstrates the ways public policies reinforce existing systems of inequality, and shows how research and teaching using an intersectional perspective compels scholars to become agents of change within institutions. By offering practical applications for using intersectional knowledge, Emerging Intersections will help bring us one step closer to achieving positive institutional change and social justice.
ISBN: 9780813544540Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Feminism Is Queer by
Feminism is Queer is an introduction to the intimately related disciplines of gender and queer theory. Whilst guiding the reader through complex theory, the author develops the original position of queer feminism, which presents queer theory as continuous with feminist theory. Whilst there have been significant conceptual tensions between second wave feminism and traditional lesbian and gay studies, queer theory offers a paradigm for understanding gender, sex and sexuality that avoids the conflict in order to develop solidarity among those interested in feminist theory and those interested in lesbian and gay rights. An essential guide to anyone with an interest in gender or sexuality, this accessible and comprehensive textbook carefully explains nuanced theoretical terminology and provides extensive suggested further reading to provide the reader with full and thorough understanding of both disciplines.
ISBN: 9781848134751Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Feminist Pedagogy in Higher Education by
In this new collection, contributors from a variety of disciplines provide a critical context for the relationship between feminist pedagogy and academic feminism by exploring the complex ways that critical perspectives can be brought into the classroom. This book discusses the processes employed to engage learners by challenging them to ask tough questions and craft complex answers, wrestle with timely problems and posit innovative solutions, and grapple with ethical dilemmas for which they seek just resolutions. Diverse experiences, interests, and perspectives--together with the various teaching and learning styles that participants bring to twenty-first-century universities--necessitate inventive and evolving pedagogical approaches, and these are explored from a critical perspective. The contributors collectively consider the implications of the theory/practice divide, which remains central within academic feminism's role as both a site of social and gender justice and as a part of the academy, and map out some of the ways in which academic feminism is located within the academy today.
ISBN: 9781771121149Publication Date: 2015-08-30
Identity Poetics by
"Queer theory," asserts Linda Garber, "alternately buries and vilifies lesbian feminism, missing its valuable insights and ignoring its rich contributions." Rejecting the either/or choice between lesbianism and queer theory, she favors an inclusive approach that defies current factionalism. In an eloquent challenge to the privileging of queer theory in the academy, Garber calls for recognition of the historical--and intellectually significant--role of lesbian poets as theorists of lesbian identity and activism. The connections, Garber shows, are most clearly seen when looking at the pivotal work of working-class lesbians/lesbians of color whose articulations of multiple, simultaneous identity positions and activist politics both belong to lesbian feminism and presage queer theory. Identity Poetics includes a critical overview of recent historical writing about the women's and lesbian-feminist movements of the 1970s; discussions of the works of Judy Grahn, Pat Parker, Audre Lorde, Adrienne Rich, and Gloria Anzaldúa; and, finally, a chapter on the rise and hegemony of queer theory within lesbigay studies.
ISBN: 9780231110334Publication Date: 2001-10-17
Thickening Fat by
Thickening Fat: Fat Bodies, Intersectionality, and Social Justice seeks to explore the multiple, variable, and embodied experiences of fat oppression and fat activisms. Moving beyond an analysis of fat oppression as singular, this book will aim to unpack the volatility of fat--the mutability of fat embodiments as they correlate with other embodied subjectivities, and the threshold where fat begins to be reviled, celebrated, or amended. In addition, Thickening Fat explores the full range of intersectional and liminal analyses that push beyond the simple addition of two or more subjectivities, looking instead at the complex alchemy of layered and unstable markers of difference and privilege. Cognizant that the concept of intersectionality has been filled out in a plurality of ways, Thickening Fat poses critical questions around how to render analysis of fatness intersectional and to thicken up intersectionality, where intersectionality is attenuated to the shifting and composite and material dimensions to identity, rather than reduced to an "add difference and stir" approach. The chapters in this collection ask what happens when we operationalize intersectionality in fat scholarship and politics, and we position difference at the centre and start of inquiry.
ISBN: 9781138580022Publication Date: 2019-09-16
Thinking Queerly by
Queer theory and the gay rights movement historically have been in tension, with the former critiquing precisely the identity politics on which the latter relies. Yet neither queer theory, in its predominately poststructuralist form, nor the gay rights movement, with its conservative "inclusionary" aspirations, has adequately addressed questions of identity or the political struggles against normativity that mark the lives of so many queer people. Taking on issues of race, sex, gender, and what he calls "the ethics of identity," Fryer offers a new take on queer theory-one rooted in phenomenology rather than poststructuralism-that seeks to put postnormative thinking at its center. This provocative book gives us a glimpse of what "thinking queer" can look like in our "posthumanist age."
ISBN: 9781594513596Publication Date: 2010-07-30
Intersectionality in the Workplace
Inclusion, Inc by
Design systemic equity and diversity into your organization Inclusion, Inc: How to Design Intersectional Equity into the Workplace moves beyond having tough conversations to deliver an innovative and proven approach to organizational diversity. Eschewing the "mindset-first" approach taken by many diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) programs, author and GEN founder Sara Sanford focuses on countering the systemic barriers that abet inequity by adjusting "cultural levers" to facilitate organization-wide change. Inclusion, Inc offers sustainable and cost-effective solutions that yield real, measurable returns, supported by: Data from thousands of surveys and interviews with executive-level changemakers. Case studies from GEN-certified organizations. Innovations drawn directly from the latest in behavioral economics and design-centered thinking. Perfect for business leaders, human resources and DEI professionals, and scholars and students of business, Inclusion, Inc will also prove invaluable to underrepresented employees and their allies seeking real, evidence-based solutions to the dilemma they frequently face: assimilate, or leave.
ISBN: 9781119849766Publication Date: 2022-05-03
Corporations Compassion Culture [audiobook] by
Provides guidance on creating a sustainable, inclusive, equitable, and compassionate business model that will thrive in businesses globally Diversity, equity, and inclusion programs are a must for today's corporations, yet many corporations worldwide have failed to establish real equality in an actionable, measurable way. Corporations Compassion Culture: Leading Your Business toward Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion takes a new and more effective approach to driving equity and inclusion in the corporate world, focusing on how a culture of compassion can lead to more vibrant, higher performing teams. You'll learn how many standard corporate activities actually damage employees' well-being and engagement--and how to dismantle those practices. You'll also learn how to build a new and better corporate environment that responds to all employees' needs and meets shareholders' demands for stability and risk mitigation. Author Keesa Schreane delivers insight into what it takes for businesses to drive real social and corporate change toward inclusion and equity, while sharing her personal story about the challenges of being a woman of color in today's corporate environment. Through hard work, talent, and--you guessed it--compassion, she has risen to become one of today's luminaries in the area of responsible leadership in global corporations. Business executives, HR directors, diversity and inclusion professionals, and sustainability leaders will value her direct, no-nonsense approach. Learn to: Identify behaviors, practices, and activities that may be damaging your employees' well-being, engagement, and productivity Measure and continuously evolve culture promoting risk mitigation, reputation preservation, employee retention, customer satisfaction, and profit generation. Adopt new approaches to treat employees, customers, and shareholders compassionately and equally, and dismantle the old ways Retain the best talent and survive new realities, all while creating tremendous loyalty, innovation, and financial payoff This book will enable you to create strategies and tactics for integrating racial, cultural and gender equity, inclusion, and compassion into businesses in a way that enriches society, employees, and the corporate entity itself.
ISBN: 9781119780588Publication Date: 2021-03-09
Inclusive Conversations by
"What is impressive is not only how Winters builds a case for the urgency and need for bold, inclusive conversations but that she also gives specific strategies and competencies to turn her theory into practice." --Dr. Sheila Robinson, publisher and CEO, Diversity Woman Media Effective dialogue across different dimensions of diversity, such as race, gender, age, religion, or sexual orientation, fosters a sense of belonging and inclusion, which in turn leads to greater productivity, performance, and innovation. Whether in the workplace, faith communities, or educational settings, our differences can tear us apart rather than bring us together if we do not know how to communicate. Recognizing our collective responsibility to earnestly address our differences and increase understanding and empathy will not only enhance organizational goals but will also lead to a healthier, kinder, and more compassionate world. Award-winning diversity, equity, and inclusion consultant Mary-Frances Winters has been leading workshops on what she calls Bold, Inclusive Conversations for years. In this book she offers specific dialogue strategies to foster greater understanding on the following topics- . Recognizing the importance of creating equity and sharing power . Dealing with the "fragility" of dominant groups--their discomfort in engaging with historically subordinated groups . Addressing the exhaustion historically marginalized groups feel from constantly explaining their different lived experience . Exploring how to build trust and create psychologically safe spaces for dialogue This guide is comprehensive for anyone who wants to break down the barriers that separate us and facilitate discussions on potentially polarizing topics.
ISBN: 9781523088805Publication Date: 2020-07-28
Intersectionality and Education
Intersectionality and Urban Education by
A volume in Urban Education Studies Series Series Editors Nicholas D. Hartlep, Illinois State University, Thandeka K. Chapman, University of California, San Diego and Kenny Varner, Louisiana State University In urban education, "urban" is a floating signifier that is imbued with meaning, positive or negative by its users. "Urban" can be used to refer to both the geographical context of a city and a sense of "less than," most often in relation to race and/ or socioeconomic status (Watson, 2011). For Noblit and Pink (2007), "Urban, rather, is a generalization as much about geography as it is about the idea that urban centers have problems: problems of too many people, too much poverty, too much crime and violence, and ultimately, too little hope" (p. xv). Recently, urban education scholars such as Anyon (2005), Pink and Noblit (2007), Blanchett, Klinger and Harry (2009), and Lipman (2013) have elucidated the social construction of oppression and privilege for urban students, teachers, schools, families, and communities using intersectionality theories. Building on their work, we see the need for an edited collection that would look across the different realms of urban education-theorizing identity markers in urban education, education in urban schools and communities, thinking intersectionally in teacher education & higher education, educational policies & urban spaces-seeking to better understand each topic using an intersectional lens. Such a collection might serve to conceptually frame or provide methodological tools, or act as a reference point for scholars and educators who are trying to address urban educational issues in light of identities and power. Secondly, we argue that education questions and/or problems beg to be conceptualized and analyzed through more than one identity axis. Policies and practices that do not take into account urban students' intertwining identity markers risk reproducing patterns of privilege and oppression, perpetuating stereotypes, and failing at the task we care most deeply about: supporting all students' learning across a holistic range of academic, personal, and justice-oriented outcomes. Can educational policies and practices address the social justice issues faced in urban schools and communities today? We argue that doing intersectional research and implementing educational policies and practices guided by these frameworks can help improve the "fit." Particular attention needs to be paid to intersectionality as a lens for educational theory, policy, and practice. As urban educators we would be wise to consider the intertwining of these identity axes in order to better analyze educational issues and engage in teaching, learning, research, and policymaking that are better-tuned to the needs of diverse students, families, and communities.
ISBN: 9781623967321Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Intersectionality and Race in Education by
Education is a controversial subject in which difficult and contested discourses are the norm. Individuals in education experience multiple inequalities and have diverse identifications that cannot necessarily be captured by one theoretical perspective alone. This edited collection draws on empirical and theoretical research to examine the intersections of "race," gender and class, alongside other aspects of personhood, within education. Contributors from the fields of education and sociology seek to locate the dimensions of difference and identity within recent theoretical discourses such as Critical Race Theory, Judith Butler and 'queer' theory, post-structural approaches and multicultural models, as they analyze whiteness and the education experience of minority ethnic groups. By combining a mix of intellectually rigorous, accessible, and controversial chapters, this book presents a distinctive and engaging voice, one that seeks to broaden the understanding of education research beyond the confines of the education sphere into an arena of sociological and cultural discourse.
ISBN: 9780415888776Publication Date: 2011-09-19
Intersectionality in Action by
Colleges and universities silo diversity and inclusion by creating specific courses to address them, or programs to welcome and support people with a range of identities, whereas in reality students, faculty and staff do not encounter diversity in the fractured ways that match the organizational structures of our institutions. We all simultaneously embody a variety of identities with different saliency in different circumstances and times. This book offers models for institutions to move intentionally toward intersections - of study abroad and multiculturalism, of race and gender and religion, and of other essential aspects of our educational programs and our students' identities - to open doors to new possibilities that better prepare our students for life in a diverse world, and that allow our institutions to become more efficient and effective as we strive to not simply do things better in our own separate spheres, but to do better things by working together across difference. Each chapter offers action-oriented analysis focusing on particular campus intersections, rather than attending to specific demographic groups. Chapter authors also build on their own local expertise of doing this work on campuses that often do not have deep pockets or rich histories of such efforts. The book is organized into three sections: * Peoplefocuses on diversity broadly defined, considering questions about how we recruit and engage the students, faculty, and staff in the campus community, and how we work with governing boards and others to promote inclusive excellence. * Environmentfocuses on inclusion, including residence life, the local community, the working and learning environment, and external factors and events such as national and international news or town gown relationships. * Learningfocuses on perspective taking and learning about difference in the core curriculum, the disciplines, and the co-curriculum, as well as professional development for faculty and staff. This ground reaking book helps readers, no matter what position they occupy on campus, to develop the knowledge and capacities necessary to create inclusive classrooms and is premised on the understanding that identity, oppression, power and marginalization cannot be addressed by looking solely at single identities.
ISBN: 9781620363195Publication Date: 2016-02-12
Intersectionality in Educational Research by
The purpose of this work is to advance understanding of intersectional theory and its application to research in education. The scholars whose work appear in this volume utilize intersectional theory and research methods to work in fields and disciplines such as Education, Sociology, Women's Studies, Africana Studies, Human Development, Higher Education Administration, Leadership Studies, and Justice Studies. The book illustrates how intersectional theory can be used in both quantitative and qualitative education research on college student access and success, faculty satisfaction and professional development, and K-12 educational issues such as high school dropouts and bullying. This book is unique, as no other book ties intersectionality to the research process. Key Features: * Readers will learn the basic tenets of intersectionality and how it can be useful in education research. * Readers will learn how intersectionality can be used to analyze both quantitative (large scale survey) and qualitative (interview, participant observation, and ethnographic) data. * Lastly, readers will learn how intersectionality can be particularly useful in examining the experiences of diverse groups of students attending elementary schools, high schools, colleges and universities, and faculty working at post-secondary institutions. Intersectionality is increasingly being used in research and education. This theory holds great promise in exploring students' experiences in terms of access, success, and outcomes for marginalized groups. In essence, application of the theory promotes critical complex thinking regarding the intersectionality of race, class, and gender and their outcomes.
ISBN: 9781620360958Publication Date: 2015-07-08
The Experiences of Queer Students of Color at Historically White Institutions by
This significant text employs an intersectional analysis and considers the role of queer frameworks to understand the experiences of Queer People of Color at historically white institutions of higher education in the U.S. By presenting data from student interviews and reflection journals, the book explores what it means to hold multiple minoritized identities, and asks how such intersections are navigated, contested, and experienced on college campuses. Exploring both micro- and macro-level mappings of marginalization and power, the text reveals issues including institutional erasure, pervasive whiteness in college and LGBTQ+ communities, and institutionalized racism and heterosexism, and offers in-depth insights into the material, psychological, emotional, and social impacts on queer students of color. Ultimately, the analysis highlights the necessity of employing intersectional frameworks for addressing interlocking systems of oppression and offers recommendations for the integration and support of queer students of color at historically white institutions (HWIs). This monograph will offer invaluable insights for scholars, researchers, and graduate students working in the fields of gender and sexuality, higher education, and issues of educational equity, who wish to realize the potential of intersectionality as an analytic framework for the study of identity and development of affirming educational environments.
ISBN: 9781000216769Publication Date: 2020-10-27
The Intersectional Approach by
Intersectionality, or the consideration of race, class, and gender, is one of the prominent contemporary theoretical contributions made by scholars in the field of women's studies that now broadly extends across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Taking stock of this transformative paradigm, The Intersectional Approach guides new and established researchers to engage in a critical reflection about the broad adoption of intersectionality that constitutes what the editors call a new "social literacy" for scholars. In eighteen essays, contributors examine various topics of interest to students and researchers from a feminist perspective as well as through their respective disciplines, looking specifically at gender inequalities related to globalization, health, motherhood, sexuality, body image, and aging. Together, these essays provide a critical overview of the paradigm, highlight new theoretical and methodological advances, and make a strong case for the continued use of the intersectional approach both within the borders of women's and gender studies and beyond. Contributors: Lidia Anchisi, Gettysburg College Naomi Andre, University of Michigan Jean Ait Belkhir, Southern University at New Orleans Michele Tracy Berger, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Kia Lilly Caldwell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Elizabeth R. Cole, University of Michigan Kimberle Crenshaw, University of California, Los Angeles Bonnie Thornton Dill, University of Maryland Michelle Fine, Graduate Center, City University of New York Jennifer Fish, Old Dominion University Mako Fitts, Seattle University Kathleen Guidroz, Mount St. Mary's University Ivette Guzman-Zavala, Lebanon Valley College Kaaren Haldeman, Durham, North Carolina Catherine E. Harnois, Wake Forest University AnaLouise Keating, Texas Woman's University Rachel E. Luft, University of New Orleans Gary K. Perry, Seattle University Jennifer Rothchild, University of Minnesota, Morris Ann Russo, DePaul University Natalie J. Sabik, University of Michigan Jessica Holden Sherwood, University of Rhode Island Yvette Taylor, University of Newcastle, United Kingdom Nira Yuval-Davis, University of East London
ISBN: 9780807833346Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Intersections of Identity and Sexual Violence on Campus by
While sexual violence has been present and prevalent on campus for decades, the work of recent college student activists has made it an issue of major societal and institutional concern. This book makes an important contribution to and provides a foundation for better contextualizing and understanding sexual violence. Each chapter in this edited volume focuses on populations that are not often centered in the discourse of campus sexual violence and accounts for individuals' intersecting identities and how they interlock with larger systems of domination. Challenging dominant ideologies concerning assumptions of white women as the only victims-survivors, the racialization of aggressors, and the deleterious rape myths present in both research and practice, this book draws attention to the complexities of sexual violence on the college campus by highlighting populations that are frequently invisible in research, reporting, and practice. The book places sexual violence on campus in a historical context, centering the experiences of populations relegated to the margins, and highlighting the relationship between racism, classism, homophobia, transphobia, and other forms of domination to sexual violence. The final chapters of the book explore how critical models of intervention and prevention and a critical analysis of existing institutional policies may be implemented across college campuses to better address sexual violence for multiple populations and identities in higher education. This book will expand educators' understanding of sexual violence to inform more effective policies, procedures, practice, and research that reaches beyond preventing sexual violence and addresses the dominant systems from which sexual violence stems, in an attempt to eradicate, not just prevent, the act and the issue.
ISBN: 9781620363874Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Presumed Incompetent by
Presumed Incompetent is a pathbreaking account of the intersecting roles of race, gender, and class in the working lives of women faculty of color. Through personal narratives and qualitative empirical studies, more than 40 authors expose the daunting challenges faced by academic women of color as they navigate the often hostile terrain of higher education, including hiring, promotion, tenure, and relations with students, colleagues, and administrators. The narratives are filled with wit, wisdom, and concrete recommendations, and provide a window into the struggles of professional women in a racially stratified but increasingly multicultural America.
ISBN: 9780874218695Publication Date: 2012-09-21
Intersectional Approaches to Gender Studies
Non-Binary Lives by
LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FINALIST 'Essential reading' - THE INDEPENDENT 'Vital and insightful' - OWL FISHER What does it mean to be non-binary in the 21st Century? Our gender identity is impacted by our personal histories; the cultures, communities and countries we are born into; and the places we go and the people we meet. But the representation of contemporary non-binary identities has been limited, until now. Pushing the narrative around non-binary identities further than ever before, this powerful collection of essays represents the breadth of non-binary lives, across the boundaries of race, class, age, sexuality, faith and more. Leading non-binary people share stories of their intersecting lives; how it feels to be non-binary and neurodiverse, the challenges of being a non-binary pregnant person, what it means to be non-binary within the Quaker community, the joy of reaching gender euphoria. This thought-provoking anthology shows that there is no right or wrong way to be non-binary.
ISBN: 9781787753396Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Indigenous Feminist Narratives by
This book analyzes the literary representation of Indigenous women in Latin American letters from colonization to the twentieth century, arguing that contemporary theorization of Indigenous feminism deconstructs denigratory imagery and offers a (re)signification, (re)semantization and reinvigoration of what it means to be an Indigenous woman.
ISBN: 9781137531308Publication Date: 2015-04-29
Feminist Studies by
In this book, feminist scholar Nina Lykke highlights current issues in feminist theory, epistemology and methodology. Combining introductory overviews with cutting-edge reflections, Lykke focuses on analytical approaches to gendered power differentials intersecting with other processes of social in/exclusion based on race, class, and sexuality. Lykke confronts and contrasts classical stances in feminist epistemology with poststructuralist and postconstructionist feminisms, and also brings bodily materiality into dialogue with theories of the performativity of gender and sex. This thorough and needed analysis of the state of Feminist Studies will be a welcome addition to scholars and students in Gender and Women's Studies and Sociology.
ISBN: 9780415874847Publication Date: 2010-03-26
The Feminist Standpoint Revisited, and Other Essays by
In this book, Nancy C. M. Hartsock offers her current thinking about the development of feminist political economy, focusing on the relationships between feminist theory and activism, feminism and Marxism, and postmodernism and feminist politics.
ISBN: 9780367292133Publication Date: 2019-01-07
Feminism and Method by
Naples draws on different research topics, such as welfare, poverty, sexual identity, and sexual abuse, to illustrate some of the most salient dilemmas of feminist research: the debate over objectivity, the paradox of discourse, the dilemma of "standpoint," and the challenges of activist research. By linking important feminist theoretical debates with case studies, Naples illustrates the strategies she developed for resolving the challenges posed be postmodern, Third World, postcolonial, and queer studies.
ISBN: 9780415944489Publication Date: 2003-05-30
Analyzing Gender, Intersectionality, and Multiple Inequalities by
The papers in this volume were selected and revised from among those presented at the conference "Gender and Social Transformation: Global, Transnational, and Local Realities and Perspectives", Beijing, China in 2009. Through case studies and interview data from across the globe we see how intersectionality and inequality are contextualized shaping women's agencies, gender relations, identity, the politics of belonging, power structures, institutional arrangements, and empowerment (self and/or collective) in local communities and cultures influenced by transnational and global networks and processes. Those who experience inequality, the politics of exclusion and social injustice by virtue of gender, ethnicity and/or class and other differences are the most vulnerable in the face of new adversities, including those that occur in response to globalization. Broader theoretical and methodological contexts for these nation- and region-specific studies are provided in essays by leading gender theorists. Divisions of labor, migration, war and peace-building are among the specific topics addressed in papers from China, India, Israel, Korea, Germany, Australia, Turkey and the United States.
ISBN: 9780857247438Publication Date: 2011-06-09
From Sabotage to Support by
Feminists have been fighting for decades against the stereotypes that women are somehow hardwired to backstab, claiming that it is not true and seeking to create unity among women. Unfortunately, as we are learning, there is in fact a type of sabotage that falls along racial lines. Different from the stereotypical personal catfight, these divisions between white women, black women and other women of color are rooted in history and are more pervasive than we realize. It occurs when women of different identities unwittingly sabotage each other. This book teaches readers how to take an active approach to better understand ourselves, the biases we may be holding without realizing it, and lift up other women along the way. By pausing to reflect before acting, it is possible to make a different choice, interrupt our action, and take steps to improve our world rather than perpetuate injustices, knowingly and unknowingly. This new book frames sabotage as both a historical inheritance and contextualizes the current problem, providing practical solutions that women can start using in the workplace right away, regardless of their position.
ISBN: 9781523098477Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Intersectional Masculinity
Indigenous Men and Masculinities by
What do we know of masculinities in non-patriarchal societies? Indigenous peoples of the Americas and beyond come from traditions of gender equity, complementarity, and the sacred feminine, concepts that were unimaginable and shocking to Euro-western peoples at contact. "Indigenous Men and Masculinities", edited by Kim Anderson and Robert Alexander Innes, brings together prominent thinkers to explore the meaning of masculinities and being a man within such traditions, further examining the colonial disruption and imposition of patriarchy on Indigenous men. Building on Indigenous knowledge systems, Indigenous feminism, and queer theory, the sixteen essays by scholars and activists from Canada, the U.S., and New Zealand open pathways for the nascent field of Indigenous masculinities. The authors explore subjects of representation through art and literature, as well as Indigenous masculinities in sport, prisons, and gangs. "Indigenous Men and Masculinities" highlights voices of Indigenous male writers, traditional knowledge keepers, ex-gang members, war veterans, fathers, youth, two-spirited people, and Indigenous men working to end violence against women. It offers a refreshing vision toward equitable societies that celebrate healthy and diverse masculinities.
ISBN: 9780887557903Publication Date: 2015-11-06
Beyond Machismo by
Long considered a pervasive value of Latino cultures both south and north of the US border, machismo--a hypermasculinity that obliterates any other possible influences on men's attitudes and behavior--is still used to define Latino men and boys in the larger social narrative. Yet a closer look reveals young, educated Latino men who are going beyond machismo to a deeper understanding of women's experiences and a commitment to ending gender oppression. This new Latino manhood is the subject of Beyond Machismo. Applying and expanding the concept of intersectionality developed by Chicana feminists, Aída Hurtado and Mrinal Sinha explain how the influences of race, class, ethnicity, sexuality, and gender shape Latinos' views of manhood, masculinity, and gender issues in Latino communities and their acceptance or rejection of feminism. In particular, the authors show how encountering Chicana feminist writings in college, as well as witnessing the horrors of sexist oppression in the United States and Latin America, propels young Latino men to a feminist consciousness. By focusing on young, high-achieving Latinos, Beyond Machismo elucidates this social group's internal diversity, thereby providing a more nuanced understanding of the processes by which Latino men can overcome structural obstacles, form coalitions across lines of difference, and contribute to movements for social justice.
ISBN: 9781477308769Publication Date: 2016-03-29
We Real Cool by
"When women get together and talk about men, the news is almost always bad news," writes bell hooks. "If the topic gets specific and the focus is on black men, the news is even worse." In this powerful new book, bell hooks arrests our attention from the first page. Her title--We Real Cool; her subject--the way in which both white society and weak black leaders are failing black men and youth. Her subject is taboo: "this is a culture that does not love black males:" "they are not loved by white men, white women, black women, girls or boys. And especially, black men do not love themselves. How could they? How could they be expected to love, surrounded by so much envy, desire, and hate?"
ISBN: 9780415969260Publication Date: 2003-11-07
Articles
- ON BORDERLANDS/LA FRONTERA: Gloria Anzaldúa and twenty-five years of research on gender in the Borderlands In 1987, Gloria Anzaldúa's Borderlands/La Frontera offered a radical reimagining of the borderlands as a physical and metaphorical space, forcing scholars inside and outside of the academy to consider how sex and gender structured power relations and historically shaped struggles for dignity and survival. Inspired by Anzaldúa's path breaking analysis, a generation of students in Chicana/o studies pushed borderlands research in new directions, putting women's bodies at the forefront. This brief article examines how scholars studying the Chicana/o experience have pioneered work that explores sexuality, colonization, marriage, labor, and transnational communities. This scholarship has invigorated borderlands studies to reveal the deep structures of conquest and social power in the region, and illuminates the wide range of experiences of borderlands residents in all of their humanity
- Social work education and the recognition of rights in the digital tech age: Implications for professional identity The use of digital technology by law enforcement apparatuses raises important social justice implications for existing race- and economic-based disparities in the U.S. criminal justice system. The purpose of the present survey research study is to describe and ascertain statistically significant differences and non-differences between, and predictors of, U.S. social work students regarding their attitudes toward, and intersectional knowledge of, law enforcement, privacy rights, and digital technology. With Human Subjects approval, in Fall 2019, the authors administered a 66-item survey across 150 institutions of higher education in the United States with both a Council on Social Work Education-accredited undergraduate and graduate social work program, including collaboratives, using a stratified, random sampling method (N = 430). Results include that students who do not challenge bigotry on social media are approximately two times more likely to: Endorse law enforcement's use of technology to assist in the apprehension of persons who merely stand accused of committing a crime; and, lack awareness that facial recognition programs result in false positives for people of color (who are overrepresented in the U.S. criminal justice system). Based on these findings, the authors discuss implications for social work education, making recommendations accordingly
- Teaching for intersectionality: Insights from a relational cultural perspective This paper aims to consider the use of relational cultural theory (RCT) as an underlying, processual orientation for teaching with those who are living and learning at the intersection of multiple, marginalised identities.
- The theory and praxis of intersectionality in work and organisations: Where do we go from here? An introduction is presented in which the editor discusses various reports within the issue on topics including intersectionality theory, Hijab discrimination cases, and the importance of language as a social differentiation process.
- This word is (not?) very exciting: Considering intersectionality in indigenous studies Gender and intersectional approaches can provide important insights and reflections for indigenous studies. Issues related to indigenous people and communities are broad and complex. Doing research within indigenous studies has to consist of more than simply discussing indigenous identity. I argue that intersectional approaches of varying kinds provide an opportunity to understand several aspects of identity and a diverse set of issues relevant to indigenous communities. Using intersectional approaches enables one to maintain a critical focus on power. In this article, I describe indigenous studies and intersectionality separately, then move on to a discussion of how intersectionality and gender perspectives can be used within indigenous studies. The starting point for intersectional approaches as well as for indigenous studies is the margins rather than the centre. The focus of the article is on methodology, which is based on the reading of literature from indigenous methodologies, gender studies, and intersectionality. A key concept is the cultural interface, which points towards the existence of plural subject positions both for individuals and within a community.
Web Links
- The origin of the term ‘intersectionality’by Merrill Perlman. Columbia Journalism Review.
- The Combahee River Collective Statement (1977)
- What's Intersectionality? Let These Scholars Explain the Theory and Its History. Time Magazine
- What Is Intersectionality and Why Is It Important? by Anne Sisson Runyan. AAUP
- An Intersectional Approach to Inclusion at Work by Ludmila N. Praslova. Harvard Business Review.
- Kimberlé Crenshaw on Intersectionality, More than Two Decades Later. Columbia Law.
- Intersectionality. LGBTQ Intersect Australia.
- How To Boost Intersectionality in Tech by Julie Elberfeld. Forbes.
- Real Talk: Intersectionality and AI by Ayanna Howard. MIT Sloan Management Review.
Video Links
- Kimberlé Crenshaw: What is Intersectionality? (1:54 minutes – National Association of Independent Schools)
- Kimberlé Crenshaw: The Urgency of Intersectionality (18:34 minutes – TED Talk)
- Kat Blaque: What Is: Intersectionality (7:17 minutes)
- Stephanie “Najma” Johnson: What exactly is Intersectionality? (5:33 – Intersectional Souls Project
- Intersectionality of Gender, Disability, and Indigenous Identity (2:14 minutes – Disability Rights Fund)
- Stacie de Armas: Intersectionality, Colorism and the Hispanic Community (2:56 minutes – The Hispanic Star)
- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: The danger of a single story (18:33 minutes – TED Talk)
- Intersectionality Organizations from the Intersectionality Training Institute
Credits
This LibGuide was co-created by Amy Harth, PhD, Assistant National Dean of Accreditation and Academic Quality, and by Joe Louderback, MLS, Reference and Instruction Librarian, as part of an ongoing series to reflect DeVry University’s commitment to, and celebration of, diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice.