Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Contains more than one million records with links to over 300,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Explores opposing sides of a wide range of issues, “includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio and more."
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of 400 journals on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window "Indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology."
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers more than two million records with more than 850 full-text journals dating back to 1908; includes more than 800 books and 16,000 conference papers.
- Sociology Database This link opens in a new window "Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies."
- Statista This link opens in a new window Statista consolidates statistical data on over 8,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Reports cover trending topics, consumer preferences, industries and markets, politics and society, and much more.View the 2024 Date with a Database tutorial.
Books
Society Explained by
Society Explained introduces students to key concepts in sociology through engaging narrative examples. After an overview of the history of sociology, the book walks readers through subjects that include individualism; culture; socialization and imagination; values, money, and politics; marriage and family; religious diversity; and education and social change. Nathan Rousseau engages readers with personal examples and those drawn from wider society. Each chapter covers leading thinkers and critical concepts, and chapters build on each other to helps readers acquire a holistic view of society and their role in it. This concise book is an ideal introduction to the sociological imagination.
ISBN: 9781442207103Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Sociology Basics by
Broad in scope, this title offers non-specialists with insights into sociology topics that are often only accessible to academics and experts in the field in a format that should be readable and quickly retrievable. The volumes contain 90 articles.
ISBN: 9780893562052Publication Date: 2000-10-31
The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology by
"Undoubtedly the most accessible, readable and downright interesting - even amusing - dictionary of its type. In being all of those things - and more - the dictionary does not sacrifice on quality. There are many well-chosen entries and they are quite informative. A useful addition to any scholar′s library while at the same time being an excellent resource for both graduate and undergraduate students" - George Ritzer, University of Maryland "This is a delightful and comprehensive dictionary. The authors write in an engaging and lively style that brings alive the ideas of sociology not only for existing practitioners, but also for a whole new generation of students" - Tim May, University of Salford With over 1000 entries on key concepts and theorists, The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology provides full coverage of the field, clarifying the technical use of apparently common words, explaining the fundamental concepts and introducing new and unfamiliar terms. This book provides: authoritative, reliable definitions accessible ′digests′ of key arguments contemporary, appealing illustrations of points readability. This is not just another dry guide to the discipline. Engagingly written with its audience firmly in mind, it will be the definitive and chosen companion to established textbooks and teaching materials in sociology.
ISBN: 9780761974819Publication Date: 2006-01-26
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology by
The new, updated edition of the authoritative and comprehensive survey of modern sociology The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology, Second Edition is an authoritative survey of the major topics, current and emerging trends, and contemporary issues in the study of human social relationships and institutions. A collection of contributions from globally-recognized scholars and experts explore the theoretical and methodological foundations of sociology, new and established debates, and the most current research in the field. Broad in scope, this book covers a multitude of topics ranging from crime, urbanization, sexuality, and education to new questions surrounding big data, authoritarian capitalism, and the rise of nationalism. Since the first edition of the Companion was published, new developments have emerged and new problems have been created such as the omnipresence of social media, political and institutional upheaval, and the global refugee and immigration crises. This revised and updated second edition describes and explains social changes that have occurred in the past several years, both within the field of sociology and society as a whole. Previous material has been updated to reflect current research, while eleven new chapters address topics including feminist theory, debt and social change, and armed conflict and war. This comprehensive volume: Offers an engaging and accessible guide to the field of sociology, revised and updated for the second edition Presents wide-ranging, comprehensive coverage of the discipline Explores issues of contemporary relevance such as digital media and consumption Reflects state-of-the-art scholarship and contemporary debates New chapters for the second edition cover essential topics including feminist theory, armed conflict, big data, authoritarian capitalism, debt and social change, and the rise of nationalism The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for academics and graduate students, researchers, scholars, and educators in the discipline of sociology and allied fields such as anthropology, human geography, political science, and psychology.
ISBN: 9781119429319Publication Date: 2019-12-16
Handbook of Sociology and Human Rights by
Long the province of international law, human rights now enjoys a renaissance of studies and new perspectives from the social sciences. This landmark book is the first to synthesize and comprehensively evaluate this body of work. It fosters an interdisciplinary, international, and critical engagement both in the social study of human rights and the establishment of a human rights approach throughout the field of sociology. Sociological perspectives bring new questions to the interdisciplinary study of human rights, as amply illustrated in this book. The Handbook is indispensable to any interdisciplinary collection on human rights or on sociology. This text: Brings new perspectives to the study of human rights in an interdisciplinary fashion. Offers state-of-the-art summaries, critical discussions of established human rights paradigms, and a host of new insights and further research directions. Fosters a comprehensive human rights approach to sociology, topically representing all 45 sections of the American Sociological Association.
ISBN: 9781594518829Publication Date: 2013-02-28
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender by
During the past three decades, feminist scholars have successfully demonstrated the ubiq uity and omnirelevance of gender as a sociocultural construction in virtually all human collectivities, past and present. Intrapsychic, interactional, and collective social processes are gendered, as are micro, meso, and macro social structures. Gender shapes, and is shaped, in all arenas of social life, from the most mundane practices of everyday life to those of the most powerful corporate actors. Contemporary understandings of gender emanate from a large community of primarily feminist scholars that spans the gamut of learned disciplines and also includes non-academic activist thinkers. However, while in corporating some cross-disciplinary material, this volume focuses specifically on socio logical theories and research concerning gender, which are discussed across the full array of social processes, structures, and institutions. As editor, I have explicitly tried to shape the contributions to this volume along several lines that reflect my long-standing views about sociology in general, and gender sociology in particular. First, I asked authors to include cross-national and historical material as much as possible. This request reflects my belief that understanding and evaluating the here-and-now and working realistically for a better future can only be accomplished from a comparative perspective. Too often, American sociology has been both tempero- and ethnocentric. Second, I have asked authors to be sensitive to within-gender differences along class, racial/ethnic, sexual preference, and age cohort lines.
ISBN: 9780387324609Publication Date: 2006-05-02
Recommended Websites
- American Sociological Association Provides a glossary for over 400 sociology definitions.
- Cultural Analysis An interdisciplinary forum on folklore and popular culture.
- Data and Information Services Center Offers longitudinal surveys, macroeconomic indicators, election studies, population studies, socialization patterns, poverty measures, labor force participation, public opinion polls, education and health data, and census data.
- FedStats Gathers from more than 100 agencies access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
- International Journal of Society, Culture, and Language nternational Journal of Society, Culture & Language (IJSCL) is an open-access and fully peer-reviewed journal that publishes original research and review articles on the relationship between society, culture, and language. IJSCL favors articles which have a sound theoretical base with visible practical applications that can be used by specialists in anthropology, sociology, linguistics, education, intercultural studies, and policy making.
- Pew Research Center An organization that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.
- US Census Bureau Products and tools including data visualizations, mobile apps, interactive web apps, and other software.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283