- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- Health Information Management
- HIM Health Information Resources
Health Information Management
eBooks
Adaptive Health Management Information Systems: Concepts, Cases, and Practical Applications by
This book covers all the fundamental concepts of Health Management Information Systems (HMIS), provides relevant and current HMIS cases throughout, and touches on emerging technologies.Topics include: information systems from a managerial perspective; roles of cio/cto for healthcare services organizations; HMIS hardware/software concepts; HMIS database concepts; HMIS standards, privacy, and security concepts; HMIS communications and networking concepts; HMIS strategic planning; HMIS investigation & analysis; HMIS design, implementation, and evaluation; e-healthcare information systems; healthcare information systems; use of HMIS emerging technologies and its impact on human health.
ISBN: 9780763756918Publication Date: 2009-06-04
Big Data Analytics and Intelligence by
Big data is a field of research that is growing rapidly, and as the Covid-19 crisis has shown, health care is an area that could benefit greatly from its increased use and application. Big data, as derived partly from the internet of things and analysed according to specific algorithms, has a large and beneficial role to play in preventative medicine, in monitoring the health of specific groups, and in improving diagnostics. Big Data Analytics and Intelligence: A Perspective for Health Carefocuses on various areas of health care, ranging from nutrition to cancer, and providing diverse perspectives on all of them. This book explores the entire life-cycle of big data, from information retrieval to analysis, and it shows how big data's applications can enhance, streamline and improve services for patients and health-care professionals. Each chapter focuses on a specific area of health care and how big data is applicable to it, with background and current examples provided.
ISBN: 9781839091001Publication Date: 2020-09-30
Health Care Information Systems by
BESTSELLING GUIDE, UPDATED WITH A NEW INFORMATION FOR TODAY'S HEALTH CARE ENVIRONMENT Health Care Information Systems is the newest version of the acclaimed text that offers the fundamental knowledge and tools needed to manage information and information resources effectively within a wide variety of health care organizations. It reviews the major environmental forces that shape the national health information landscape and offers guidance on the implementation, evaluation, and management of health care information systems. It also reviews relevant laws, regulations, and standards and explores the most pressing issues pertinent to senior level managers. It covers: Proven strategies for successfully acquiring and implementing health information systems. Efficient methods for assessing the value of a system. Changes in payment reform initiatives. New information on the role of information systems in managing in population health. A wealth of updated case studies of organizations experiencing management-related system challenges.
ISBN: 9781119337188Publication Date: 2017-03-27
Jonas and Kovner's Health Care Delivery in the United States by
This fully updated and revised 12th edition of the highly acclaimed textbook on health care delivery provides graduate and undergraduate students with a comprehensive survey of health care in the United States with topics ranging from the organization of care, the politics surrounding health care in the United States, to population health and vulnerable populations, health care costs and value, health care financing, and health information technology. Chapters provide thorough coverage of the rapid changes that are reshaping our system and the extent of our nation's achievement of health care value and the Triple Aim: better health and better care at a lower cost. With an emphasis on population health and public health, this text includes a timely focus on how social and physical environments influence health outcomes. Prominent scholars, practitioners, and educators within public health, population health, health policy, healthcare management, medical care, and nursing present the most up-to-date evidence-based information on social and behavioral determinants of health and health equity, immigrant health, health care workforce challenges, preventive medicine, innovative approaches to control health care costs, initiatives to achieve high quality and value-based care, and much more. Designed for graduate and advanced undergraduate students of health care management and administration, nursing, and public health, the text addresses all complex core issues surrounding our health care system and health policy, such as the challenges to health care delivery, the organization and politics of care, and comparative health systems. Organized in a readable and accessible format, contributors provide an in-depth and objective appraisal of why and how we organize health care the way we do, the enormous impact of health-related behaviors on the structure, function, and cost of the health care delivery system, and other emerging and recurrent issues in health policy, health care management, and public health. The 12th edition features the contributions of such luminaries as former editor Anthony R. Kovner, Michael K. Gusmano, Carolyn M. Clancy, Marc N. Gourevitch, Joanne Spetz, James Morone, Karen DeSalvo, and Christy Harris Lemak, among others. Chapters include audio chapter summaries with discussion of newsworthy topics, learning objectives, discussion questions, case exercises, and new charts and tables with concrete health care data. Included for instructors are an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Syllabus, Test Bank, Image Bank, supplemental e-chapter on A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery, access to an annual ACA update and health policy changes, extra cases and syllabus specifically for nurses, and a transition guide bridging the 11th and 12th editions. Key Features: Three completely revised chapters on the politics of health care, vulnerable populations, and health information technologyExpanded coverage on population health and population health management, health equity, influences of social determinants on health behavior and outcomes, health education planning, health workforce challenges, national and regional quality improvement initiatives and moreRevised e-Chapter providing A Visual Overview of Health Care Delivery and Image Bank for the 12th EditionAccess to Springer Publishing Company's annual ACA updateAudio podcasts provide summaries for each chapter with real-world context of topics featured in the newsNew appendix with overview of U.S. Government Public Health AgenciesAccess to fully searchable ebook, including extra e-chapters and student ancillaries on Springer Publishing ConnectFull Instructor Packet including Instructor's Manual, Test Bank, PowerPoint slides, Image Bank, and Case Exercises for Nursing Instructors
ISBN: 9780826172723Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Managing Cybersecurity Risk by
The first edition, published November 2016, was targeted at the directors and senior managers of SMEs and larger organisations that have not yet paid sufficient attention to cybersecurity and possibly did not appreciate the scale or severity of permanent risk to their businesses. The book was an important wake-up call and primer and proved a significant success, including wide global reach and diverse additional use of the chapter content through media outlets. The new edition, targeted at a similar readership, will provide more detailed information about the cybersecurity environment and specific threats. It will offer advice on the resources available to build defences and the selection of tools and managed services to achieve enhanced security at acceptable cost. A content sharing partnership has been agreed with major technology provider Alien Vault and the 2017 edition will be a larger book of approximately 250 pages.
ISBN: 9781787198913Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Statistical Methods in Healthcare by
In recent years the number of innovative medicinal products and devices submitted and approved by regulatory bodies has declined dramatically. The medical product development process is no longer able to keep pace with increasing technologies, science and innovations and the goal is to develop new scientific and technical tools and to make product development processes more efficient and effective. Statistical Methods in Healthcare focuses on the application of statistical methodologies to evaluate promising alternatives and to optimize the performance and demonstrate the effectiveness of those that warrant pursuit is critical to success. Statistical methods used in planning, delivering and monitoring health care, as well as selected statistical aspects of the development and/or production of pharmaceuticals and medical devices are also addressed. With a focus on finding solutions to these challenges, this book: Provides a comprehensive, in-depth treatment of statistical methods in healthcare, along with a reference source for practitioners and specialists in health care and drug development. Offers a broad coverage of standards and established methods through leading edge techniques. Uses an integrated, case-study based approach, with focus on applications. Looks at the use of analytical and monitoring schemes to evaluate therapeutic performance. Features the application of modern quality management systems to clinical practice, and to pharmaceutical development and production processes. Addresses the use of modern Statistical methods such as Adaptive Design, Seamless Design, Data Mining, Bayesian networks and Bootstrapping that can be applied to support the challenging new vision. Practitioners in healthcare-related professions, ranging from clinical trials to care delivery to medical device design, as well as statistical researchers in the field, will benefit from this book.
ISBN: 9780470670156Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Healthcare Analytics by
Features of statistical and operational research methods and tools being used to improve the healthcare industry With a focus on cutting-edge approaches to the quickly growing field of healthcare, Healthcare Analytics: From Data to Knowledge to Healthcare Improvement provides an integrated and comprehensive treatment on recent research advancements in data-driven healthcare analytics in an effort to provide more personalized and smarter healthcare services. Emphasizing data and healthcare analytics from an operational management and statistical perspective, the book details how analytical methods and tools can be utilized to enhance healthcare quality and operational efficiency. Organized into two main sections, Part I features biomedical and health informatics and specifically addresses the analytics of genomic and proteomic data; physiological signals from patient-monitoring systems; data uncertainty in clinical laboratory tests; predictive modeling; disease modeling for sepsis; and the design of cyber infrastructures for early prediction of epidemic events. Part II focuses on healthcare delivery systems, including system advances for transforming clinic workflow and patient care; macro analysis of patient flow distribution; intensive care units; primary care; demand and resource allocation; mathematical models for predicting patient readmission and postoperative outcome; physician-patient interactions; insurance claims; and the role of social media in healthcare. Healthcare Analytics: From Data to Knowledge to Healthcare Improvement also features: * Contributions from well-known international experts who shed light on new approaches in this growing area * Discussions on contemporary methods and techniques to address the handling of rich and large-scale healthcare data as well as the overall optimization of healthcare system operations * Numerous real-world examples and case studies that emphasize the vast potential of statistical and operational research tools and techniques to address the big data environment within the healthcare industry * Plentiful applications that showcase analytical methods and tools tailored for successful healthcare systems modeling and improvement The book is an ideal reference for academics and practitioners in operations research, management science, applied mathematics, statistics, business, industrial and systems engineering, healthcare systems, and economics. Healthcare Analytics: From Data to Knowledge to Healthcare Improvement is also appropriate for graduate-level courses typically offered within operations research, industrial engineering, business, and public health departments.
ISBN: 9781118919392Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Library Resource Presentations
Recommended Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowCovers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive business landscape worldwide. In depth coverage to over 3,000 publications, including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present. Also includes profiles for 60,000+ companies and their executives. Search results include ebooks from eBrary
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine; also includes relevant drug monographs.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.
- Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window "This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more."
- Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window "This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration"
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowOver 75 full-text consumer health magazines on medical science, general health, food science, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, etc.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline provides coverage of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, and databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and more.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window "This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more."
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowFull-text periodicals covering "all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as...performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and...thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world".
Journal Search Boxes
- American Journal of Public HealthOnly searches the American Journal of Public Health from 1992 to present.
- BMC Health Services ResearchFull text coverage 2009 (Vol. 9) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage 2009 (Vol. 9) - present - Health Information Science and SystemsFull text coverage 2015 (Vol. 3) - present, some exceptions (delayed 1 year)
Citation/Abstract coverage 2015 (Vol. 3) - present, some exceptions - Hospital TopicsFull Text: 01/01/1990 to present (with a 15 Month delay)
*Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo") - IEEE Journal of Biomedical and Health InformaticsOnly searches the IEEE Journal of Biomedical and Health Informatics from 2000-present.
- Journal of AHIMAOnly searches the Journal of AHIMA from 2008 to present.
- Journal of Healthcare ManagementFull text coverage Feb 1987 (Vol. 32, no. 1) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage Spring 1976 (Vol. 21) - present, some exceptions - Perspectives in Health Information ManagementFull text coverage Jan 30, 2008 (Vol. 5, no. 1) - present
Citation/Abstract coverage Jan 30, 2008 (Vol. 5, no. 1) - present, some exceptions
Recommend Websites
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
HIM Career Resources
- Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window Industry sector analysis and research, industry trends and industry statistics. Great job search and excellent industry videos.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations—such as carpenters, teachers, and veterinarians. Revised annually, the latest version contains employment projections for the 2020-30 decade.
- O Net Online O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283