Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new windowBooks, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window"ProQuest Telecommunications™ is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology."
eBook Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Cybersecurity Websites
- COMPUTERWORLDCovers a variety of topics in the computer security industry, including cloud computing, software, emerging technology, and more.
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS)The DHS protects the nation from foreign and domestic threats.
- Ready CybersecurityProvides information on identifying and avoiding a variety of cyberattacks, as well as action to take following a cyberattack.
Recommended Cybersecurity Journals
- CybersecurityFull text coverage Dec 2018 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
- IEEE Security & PrivacyFull text coverage Jan 2003-present
- IEEE Technology and Society MagazineFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
- IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and SecurityFull text coverage Jan 2006 - present
- Information and Computer SecurityFull text coverage 1995 (Vol. 3, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
- International Journal of Cyber CriminologyFull text coverage Jan 2008 (Vol. 2, no. 1) - present
- Proceedings of the IEEEFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
eBooks
Adversarial Tradecraft in Cybersecurity by
Master cutting-edge techniques and countermeasures to protect your organization from live hackers. Learn how to harness cyber deception in your operations to gain an edge over the competition.Key Features* Gain an advantage against live hackers in a competition or real computing environment* Understand advanced red team and blue team techniques with code examples* Learn to battle in short-term memory, whether remaining unseen (red teams) or monitoring an attacker's traffic (blue teams)Book DescriptionLittle has been written about what to do when live hackers are on your system and running amok. Even experienced hackers tend to choke up when they realize the network defender has caught them and is zoning in on their implants in real time. This book will provide tips and tricks all along the kill chain of an attack, showing where hackers can have the upper hand in a live conflict and how defenders can outsmart them in this adversarial game of computer cat and mouse.This book contains two subsections in each chapter, specifically focusing on the offensive and defensive teams. It begins by introducing you to adversarial operations and principles of computer conflict where you will explore the core principles of deception, humanity, economy, and more about human-on-human conflicts. Additionally, you will understand everything from planning to setting up infrastructure and tooling that both sides should have in place.Throughout this book, you will learn how to gain an advantage over opponents by disappearing from what they can detect. You will further understand how to blend in, uncover other actors' motivations and means, and learn to tamper with them to hinder their ability to detect your presence. Finally, you will learn how to gain an advantage through advanced research and thoughtfully concluding an operation.By the end of this book, you will have achieved a solid understanding of cyberattacks from both an attacker's and a defender's perspective.What you will learn* Understand how to implement process injection and how to detect it* Turn the tables on the offense with active defense* Disappear on the defender's system, by tampering with defensive sensors* Upskill in using deception with your backdoors and countermeasures including honeypots* Kick someone else from a computer you are on and gain the upper hand* Adopt a language agnostic approach to become familiar with techniques that can be applied to both the red and blue teams* Prepare yourself for real-time cybersecurity conflict by using some of the best techniques currently in the industryWho this book is forPentesters to red teamers, security operations center analysts to incident responders, attackers, defenders, general hackers, advanced computer users, and security engineers should gain a lot from this book. This book will also be beneficial to those getting into purple teaming or adversarial simulations, as it includes processes for gaining an advantage over the other team.Basic knowledge of Python programming, Go programming, Bash, PowerShell, and systems administration is desirable. Furthermore, knowledge of incident response and Linux is beneficial. Prior exposure to cybersecurity, penetration testing, and ethical hacking basics is desirable.
ISBN: 9781801076203Publication Date: 2021-06-14
Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) Preparation Guide: Lesson-Based Review of Ethical Hacking and Penetration Testing by
Know the basic principles of ethical hacking. This book is designed to provide you with the knowledge, tactics, and tools needed to prepare for the Certified Ethical Hacker(CEH) exam-a qualification that tests the cybersecurity professional's baseline knowledge of security threats, risks, and countermeasures through lectures and hands-on labs.You will review the organized certified hacking mechanism along with: stealthy network re-con; passive traffic detection; privilege escalation, vulnerability recognition, remote access, spoofing; impersonation, brute force threats, and cross-site scripting. The book covers policies for penetration testing and requirements for documentation.This book uses a unique "lesson" format with objectives and instruction to succinctly review each major topic, including: footprinting and reconnaissance and scanning networks, system hacking, sniffers and social engineering, session hijacking, Trojans and backdoor viruses and worms, hacking webservers, SQL injection, buffer overflow, evading IDS, firewalls, and honeypots, and much more. What You Will learnUnderstand the concepts associated with FootprintingPerform active and passive reconnaissanceIdentify enumeration countermeasuresBe familiar with virus types, virus detection methods, and virus countermeasuresKnow the proper order of steps used to conduct a session hijacking attackIdentify defensive strategies against SQL injection attacksAnalyze internal and external network traffic using an intrusion detection systemWho This Book Is ForSecurity professionals looking to get this credential, including systems administrators, network administrators, security administrators, junior IT auditors/penetration testers, security specialists, security consultants, security engineers, and more
ISBN: 1484272587Publication Date: 08-2021
Hacking with Kali by
Hacking with Kali introduces you the most current distribution of the de facto standard tool for Linux pen testing. Starting with use of the Kali live CD and progressing through installation on hard drives, thumb drives and SD cards, author James Broad walks you through creating a custom version of the Kali live distribution. You'll learn how to configure networking components, storage devices and system services such as DHCP and web services. Once you're familiar with the basic components of the software, you'll learn how to use Kali through the phases of the penetration testing lifecyc≤ one major tool from each phase is explained. The book culminates with a chapter on reporting that will provide examples of documents used prior to, during and after the pen test. This guide will benefit information security professionals of all levels, hackers, systems administrators, network administrators, and beginning and intermediate professional pen testers, as well as students majoring in information security. Provides detailed explanations of the complete penetration testing lifecycle Complete linkage of the Kali information, resources and distribution downloads Hands-on exercises reinforce topics
ISBN: 9780124078833Publication Date: 2013-12-05
The Hardware Hacking Handbook by
The Hardware Hacking Handbook is a deep dive into embedded security, perfect for readers interested in designing, analysing, and attacking devices. You'll start with a crash course in embedded security and hardware interfaces and learn how to set up a test lab. Real-world examples and hands-on labs throughout allow you to explore hardware interfaces and practice various attacks.
ISBN: 9781593278748Publication Date: 2021-12-21
The Network Security Test Lab by
The ultimate hands-on guide to IT security and proactive defense The Network Security Test Lab is a hands-on, step-by-step guide to ultimate IT security implementation. Covering the full complement of malware, viruses, and other attack technologies, this essential guide walks you through the security assessment and penetration testing process, and provides the set-up guidance you need to build your own security-testing lab. You'll look inside the actual attacks to decode their methods, and learn how to run attacks in an isolated sandbox to better understand how attackers target systems, and how to build the defenses that stop them. You'll be introduced to tools like Wireshark, Networkminer, Nmap, Metasploit, and more as you discover techniques for defending against network attacks, social networking bugs, malware, and the most prevalent malicious traffic. You also get access to open source tools, demo software, and a bootable version of Linux to facilitate hands-on learning and help you implement your new skills. Security technology continues to evolve, and yet not a week goes by without news of a new security breach or a new exploit being released. The Network Security Test Lab is the ultimate guide when you are on the front lines of defense, providing the most up-to-date methods of thwarting would-be attackers. Get acquainted with your hardware, gear, and test platform Learn how attackers penetrate existing security systems Detect malicious activity and build effective defenses Investigate and analyze attacks to inform defense strategy The Network Security Test Lab is your complete, essential guide.
ISBN: 9781118987131Publication Date: 2015-08-10
Offensive Shellcode from Scratch by
Gain practical knowledge of shellcode and leverage it to develop shellcode for Windows and Linux operating systems, while understanding the countermeasures in place and how these can be bypassed Key Features: Get up and running with shellcode fundamentalsDevelop Shellcode for Windows and LinuxUnderstand the building blocks of shellcode Book Description: Shellcoding is a technique that is executed by many red teams and used in penetration testing and real-world attacks. Books on shellcode can be complex, and writing shellcode is perceived as a kind of "dark art." Offensive Shellcode from Scratch will help you to build a strong foundation of shellcode knowledge and enable you to use it with Linux and Windows. This book helps you to explore simple to more complex examples of shellcode that are used by real advanced persistent threat (APT) groups. You'll get to grips with the components of shellcode and understand which tools are used when building shellcode, along with the automated tools that exist to create shellcode payloads. As you advance through the chapters, you'll become well versed in assembly language and its various components, such as registers, flags, and data types. This shellcode book also teaches you about the compilers and decoders that are used when creating shellcode. Finally, the book takes you through various attacks that entail the use of shellcode in both Windows and Linux environments. By the end of this shellcode book, you'll have gained the knowledge needed to understand the workings of shellcode and build your own exploits by using the concepts explored. What You Will Learn: Gain a thorough understanding of shellcodeGet to grips with assembly language and its key purpose in shellcode developmentIdentify key elements of memory registersExplore debuggers and their use casesGet up and running with hands-on shellcode creation for both Windows and LinuxExploit Windows and Linux operating systems using shellcodeAssess countermeasures of Windows and Linux Who this book is for: This book is for red teamers, penetration testers, and anyone looking to learn about shellcode and find out how it is used to break into systems by making use of simple to complex instructions of code in memory. Basic shellcode knowledge is helpful but not mandatory to understand the topics covered in this book.
ISBN: 1803247428Publication Date: 2022-04-14
Cybersecurity Videos
- Cybersecurity Assets and Risks Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Threats Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Vulnerability and Countermeasures Recognize the key concepts of cybersecurity vulnerability and countermeasures
- The State of Cybersecurity Packt PublishingJuly 2022 The State of Cybersecurity This video explains the state of cybersecurity.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283