Skip to main content

RefWorks: Home

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. You can use these references in writing papers and automa

What is RefWorks?

With RefWorks, you can do the following:

  • Organize your resources by project, in folders, or with tags
  • Create APA formatted reference lists and annotated bibliographies
  • Import citations directly and indirectly from Library databases as well as research websites like Google Scholar or PubMed
  • Access your sources directly within Microsoft Word
  • Share citations and source lists

Accessing RefWorks

 

undefined

 

How to use RefWorks, you will need to set up a personal account. Follow the instructions below to create a new account.

1. Go to https://RefWorks.proquest.com/signup/
2. Click “Create account.” You must use your DeVry Email address to sign up for a RefWorks account. (xxx@my.devry.edu)
3. Your DeVry University email address becomes your login name
4. An activation email will be sent and you’ll need to validate your account to continue.
5. Once you click on the link in the activation email, you will be directed back to RefWorks to enter your name, role, and department affiliation. You’ll also be asked if you’d like to install the “Save to RefWorks” browser bookmarklet (a great way to capture data from web pages!) and if you’d like to install one of our paper writing helpers (Write-N-Cite for Word or RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs).
 
 

RefWorks Tools

Write-N-Cite can cite references in your document with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations references and your bibliography.  The utility installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word Ribbon, or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.

RefWorks Guides and Tutorials

undefined

RefWorks Help

RefWorks FAQ's

 

1. How do I save full text documents or references to RefWorks?

With a single click! Install the Save to RefWorks browser bookmarklet, then click it when you’re on a web page or journal article you’d like to save. We’ll even try to grab the full text when it’s available.

2. I write in Word / Google Docs - can RefWorks help me cite or create a bibliography?

Of course! Read this article to see which of our Word and Google Docs add-ons, for Windows and Mac, is suitable for you, and go to the Tools menu for download and installation details.

We are constantly improving RefWorks based on your feedback. For any question, please don’t hesitate to get in touch. We think RefWorks is pretty intuitive, but if you’d like a little more guidance, why not check out our tutorials?

Librarian

Login to RefWorks