Recommended Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new windowJournal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window
Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.
- Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window"ProQuest Telecommunications™ is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology."
eBook Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Full-text e-books covering business, science and technology, social sciences, health and medicine, history, language and literature, and the arts.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
Recommended Cybersecurity Websites
- COMPUTERWORLDCovers a variety of topics in the computer security industry, including cloud computing, software, emerging technology, and more.
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS)The DHS protects the nation from foreign and domestic threats.
- Ready CybersecurityProvides information on identifying and avoiding a variety of cyberattacks, as well as action to take following a cyberattack.
Recommended Cybersecurity Journals
- CybersecurityFull text coverage Dec 2018 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
- IEEE Security & PrivacyFull text coverage Jan 2003-present
- IEEE Technology and Society MagazineFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
- IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and SecurityFull text coverage Jan 2006 - present
- Information and Computer SecurityFull text coverage 1995 (Vol. 3, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
- International Journal of Cyber CriminologyFull text coverage Jan 2008 (Vol. 2, no. 1) - present
- Proceedings of the IEEEFull text coverage Jan 2020 - present
eBooks
The Basics of Cyber Safety by
The Basics of Cyber Safety: Computer and Mobile Device Safety Made Easy presents modern tactics on how to secure computer and mobile devices, including what behaviors are safe while surfing, searching, and interacting with others in the virtual world. The book's author, Professor John Sammons, who teaches information security at Marshall University, introduces readers to the basic concepts of protecting their computer, mobile devices, and data during a time that is described as the most connected in history. This timely resource provides useful information for readers who know very little about the basic principles of keeping the devices they are connected to--or themselves--secure while online. In addition, the text discusses, in a non-technical way, the cost of connectedness to your privacy, and what you can do to it, including how to avoid all kinds of viruses, malware, cybercrime, and identity theft. Final sections provide the latest information on safe computing in the workplace and at school, and give parents steps they can take to keep young kids and teens safe online.
ISBN: 9780124166509Publication Date: 2016-09-19
If It's Smart, It's Vulnerable by
Reimagine the future of the internet All our devices and gadgets--from our refrigerators to our home security systems, vacuum cleaners, and stereos--are going online, just like our computers did. But once we've successfully connected our devices to the internet, do we have any hope of keeping them, and ourselves, safe from the dangers that lurk beneath the digital waters? In If It's Smart, It's Vulnerable, veteran cybersecurity professional Mikko Hypponen delivers an eye-opening exploration of the best--and worst--things the internet has given us. From instant connectivity between any two points on the globe to organized ransomware gangs, the net truly has been a mixed blessing. In this book, the author explores the transformative potential of the future of the internet, as well as those things that threaten its continued existence: government surveillance, censorship, organized crime, and more. Readers will also find: Insightful discussions of how law enforcement and intelligence agencies operate on the internet Fulsome treatments of how money became data and the impact of the widespread use of mobile supercomputing technology Explorations of how the internet has changed the world, for better and for worse Engaging stories from Mikko's 30-year career in infosec Perfect for anyone seeking a thought-provoking presentation of some of the most pressing issues in cybersecurity and technology, If It's Smart, It's Vulnerable will also earn a place in the libraries of anyone interested in the future of the internet.
ISBN: 9781119895183Publication Date: 2022-08-02
Mobile and Wireless Networks by
This book presents the state of the art in the field of mobile and wireless networks, and anticipates the arrival of new standards and architectures. It focuses on wireless networks, starting with small personal area networks and progressing onto the very large cells of wireless regional area networks, via local area networks dominated by WiFi technology, and finally metropolitan networks. After a description of the existing 2G and 3G standards, with LTE being the latest release, LTE-A is addressed, which is the first 4G release, and a first indication of 5G is provided as seen through the standardizing bodies. 4G technology is described in detail along with the different LTE extensions related to the massive arrival of femtocells, the increase to a 1 Gbps capacity, and relay techniques. 5G is also discussed in order to show what can be expected in the near future. The Internet of Things is explained in a specific chapter due to its omnipresence in the literature, ad hoc and mesh networks form another important chapter as they have made a comeback after a long period of near hibernation, and the final chapter discusses a particularly recent topic: Mobile-Edge Computing (MEC) servers.
ISBN: 9781119007555Publication Date: 2016-08-17
Mobile Information Service for Networks by
This book introduces readers to mobile information services for networks. The content is divided into eight chapters, each of which presents a specific concept and the latest related developments in mobile information services. Mobile information services for networks can be defined as platform-independent functional entities that provide various services based on the communication network platform. The book discusses the three main supporting technologies for mobile information services: neighbor discovery in the data link layer; routing and balanced association in the network layer; and community structure detection in the application layer. Lastly, the book describes the development of applications based on the authors' mobile information service platform, as well as related key technologies in the domains of intelligent transportation, smart tourism, and mobile payment, such as trajectory analysis, location recommendation, and mobile behavior authentication, which are promoting the development of mobile information services. This book offers a valuable reference guide for researchers in the field of computer science and technology, as well as those in the field of network mobile information service technology.
ISBN: 9789811545689Publication Date: 2020-04-25
Practical Forensic Analysis of Artifacts on IOS and Android Devices by
Leverage foundational concepts and practical skills in mobile device forensics to perform forensically sound criminal investigations involving the most complex mobile devices currently available on the market. Using modern tools and techniques, this book shows you how to conduct a structured investigation process to determine the nature of the crime and to produce results that are useful in criminal proceedings. You'll walkthrough the various phases of the mobile forensics process for both Android and iOS-based devices, including forensically extracting, collecting, and analyzing data and producing and disseminating reports. Practical cases and labs involving specialized hardware and software illustrate practical application and performance of data acquisition (including deleted data) and the analysis of extracted information. You'll also gain an advanced understanding of computer forensics, focusing on mobile devices and other devices not classifiable as laptops, desktops, or servers. This book is your pathway to developing the critical thinking, analytical reasoning, and technical writing skills necessary to effectively work in a junior-level digital forensic or cybersecurity analyst role. What You'll Learn Acquire and investigate data from mobile devices using forensically sound, industry-standard tools Understand the relationship between mobile and desktop devices in criminal and corporate investigations Analyze backup files and artifacts for forensic evidence Who This Book Is For Forensic examiners with little or basic experience in mobile forensics or open source solutions for mobile forensics. The book will also be useful to anyone seeking a deeper understanding of mobile internals.
ISBN: 9781484280256Publication Date: 2022-04-16
Protecting Mobile Networks and Devices by
This book gathers and analyzes the latest attacks, solutions, and trends in mobile networks. Its broad scope covers attacks and solutions related to mobile networks, mobile phone security, and wireless security. It examines the previous and emerging attacks and solutions in the mobile networking worlds, as well as other pertinent security issues. The many attack samples present the severity of this problem, while the delivered methodologies and countermeasures show how to build a truly secure mobile computing environment.
ISBN: 9781498735834Publication Date: 2016-11-17
Software Defined Mobile Networks (SDMN) by
This book describes the concept of a Software Defined Mobile Network (SDMN), which will impact the network architecture of current LTE (3GPP) networks. SDN will also open up new opportunities for traffic, resource and mobility management, as well as impose new challenges on network security. Therefore, the book addresses the main affected areas such as traffic, resource and mobility management, virtualized traffics transportation, network management, network security and techno economic concepts. Moreover, a complete introduction to SDN and SDMN concepts. Furthermore, the reader will be introduced to cutting-edge knowledge in areas such as network virtualization, as well as SDN concepts relevant to next generation mobile networks. Finally, by the end of the book the reader will be familiar with the feasibility and opportunities of SDMN concepts, and will be able to evaluate the limits of performance and scalability of these new technologies while applying them to mobile broadb and networks.
ISBN: 9781118900260Publication Date: 2015-06-17
Cybersecurity Videos
- Cybersecurity Assets and Risks Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Threats Cybersecurity Awareness: Key Security Terms & Concepts
- Cybersecurity Vulnerability and Countermeasures Recognize the key concepts of cybersecurity vulnerability and countermeasures
- The State of Cybersecurity Packt PublishingJuly 2022 The State of Cybersecurity This video explains the state of cybersecurity.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283