English as a Second Language
Definition
"ESL, or English as a Second Language, is a field of study designed to serve the needs of school-aged or adult learners of English. That is, ESL classes teach English in countries in which English is the majority language to new immigrants, or to their immigrant or native-born children."
Hansen-Thomas, H. (2014). English as a second language (ESL). In S. Thompson (Ed.), Encyclopedia of diversity and social justice. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. Retrieved from http://proxy.devry.edu/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/rowmandasj/english_as_a_second_language_esl/0?institutionId=2985
Keywords
English a a Second Language, ESL, grammar, vocabulary, idioms, English as a Foreign Language, EFL
Recommended Databases
- Pronunciator This link opens in a new window "The world’s most comprehensive language-learning service. 164 languages to learn (including ASL and ESL), 144 languages to learn them in. Years of learning activities within each language."View the 2024 Date with a Database tutorial.
Recommended Websites
- Activities for ESL Students Quizzes, puzzles, and exercises covering vocabulary and grammar
- American English This website, "For English Language Teachers Around the World" is produced by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State
- BBC Learning English British English lessons covering vocabulary, grammar, pronunciation,etc.
- Breaking News English Improve English reading skills through current new articles
- Dave's ESL Cafe Resources for teachers and learners of English as a Second Language
- EF - Resources for Learning English Grammar, vocabulary, idioms, and more
- EF English Live Free lessons, requires providing an email address
- English as a Second Language for Teachers and Students Resources for improving reading, writing, and conversation skills in ESL
- English Club A wide range of resources for learning and teaching ESL
- engVID Online videos covering all aspects of English as a Second Language, including grammar, vocabulary, and pronunciation, delivered by American and British native speakers.
- ESL Vocabulary Lists 20-minute vocabulary-building lessons
- Interesting Things for ESL/EFL Students Activities for ESL learners including "quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator and other computer assisted language learning activities"
- Lessons for Beginning English Learners 25 lessons on points of usage
- Purdue OWL Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, an outstanding tool for writing for native users of the English language, provides resources for the ESL student as well (see the menu to the left of the page).
- UE - UsingEnglish.com More resources for teachers and learners of English as a Second Language
- Verbix A reference for conjugating English verbs
- Voice of America - Learning English Multimedia content for learning English at beginning, intermediate, and advanced levels
Books & eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Basic English Grammar by
The easy way to brush up on your English skills Is it good or well? There, their, or they're? Some people don't have to think twice about using proper English, but for the rest of us it can get tricky and confusing. Whether you're writing or speaking, it's all too easy to fall prey to simple mistakes that will represent you in a less-than-desirable light--which can potentially cost you a job or put you in an embarrassing social situation. Avoiding complicated grammar rules, Basic English For Dummies sticks to the basics and makes it easy to get up and running on what you need to know to partake in successful everyday communication, no matter your audience or medium. Inside, you'll find plenty of examples and exercises, guidance on how to structure sentences to make yourself easily understood, and so much more. In no time, you'll leave the 'me or I?' debate at the door and speak and write confidently and correctly. Plus, you'll expand your vocabulary, find the right tone and style you want to convey in your communication, and avoid common English language pitfalls. Includes quizzes and self-tests Provides guidance on composing letters, emails, texts, and phone calls Explains in plain English how to improve your English skills Gives you instruction and exercises on putting your skills to practice right away If English is your first language, but you missed or have forgotten the nuances that were taught in school, Basic English For Dummies is your go-to guide. It is also ideal for those learning English as a second language.
ISBN: 9781119063476Publication Date: 2015-09-15- English Grammar Drills by Get on the Fast Track to Mastering the English Grammar System! Confident use of grammar is an essential foundation for learning English. English Grammar Drills will help you lay this foundation through clear explanations and rigorous practice. Your language skills will be strengthened as you become more fluent in your use of the correct tenses and verb forms. Inside you will find: *More than 150 exercises, covering all aspects of the English grammar system *Numerous examples that demonstrate correct grammar usage *Review exercises to reinforce your understanding *An answer key to give you clear explanations of every concept English Grammar Drills is the bestselling source of practical advance that you can use either in conjunction with a course or as a self-learning tool. You'll become less intimidated by all aspects of grammar and, instead, more confident in your English writing and speaking skills. Topics include: Nouns * Pronouns * Pluralization * Gerunds and infinitives * Basic verb forms * Single- and multiple-verb complements * Modifiers * Indirect quotation * and moreISBN: 9781260116175Publication Date: 2018-05-02
English Grammar Workbook for Dummies by
Improve your English grammar You have nothing to lose and everything to gain by using proper English language and grammar. The ability to articulate and communicate effectively is a valuable asset in all aspects of life. From writing a research paper to giving a presentation at work or just holding a casual conversation with friends or family, strong verbal and written skills are necessities in everyday communication. English Grammar Workbook For Dummies is the perfect solution for sharpening the tools in your grammar kit, with lessons and plenty of practice opportunities to help reinforce learning. Whether you need to brush up on the finer points of punctuation, need help making sense of those pesky parts of speech--or anything in between--this approachable guide makes it fast and easy. * Find FREE quizzes for every chapter online * Handle pronouns with grace * Master plurals and possessives * Improve your proofreading skills Everyone benefits from using proper grammar and speech, and now you can too!
ISBN: 9781119455394Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Read and Think English by
Aprende inglés a medida que descubres la riqueza de la cultura estadounidense Construye un efectivo vocabulario en inglés sin la carga de aburridas repeticiones o tediosas memorizaciones con Read & Think English. Dentro encontrarás más de cien fascinantes artículos escritos en inglés sobre cosas tales como los apreciados rituales de Acción de Gracias o cómo interpretar el lenguaje corporal y la comunicación no verbal. Cada artículo presenta el nuevo vocabulario en negritas dentro del mismo artículo; en los márgenes encontrarás las traducciones. Aprenderás inmediatemente toda palabra que te sea desconocida. Con Read & Think English: Comprenderás el vocabulario en inglés rápida y fácilmente con la ayuda de las traducciones al español Revisarás y reforzarás el nuevo conocimiento adquirido con preguntas al final de cada capítulo Aprenderás sobre los Estados Unidos, la diversidad de su gente, y sus tradiciones únicas ¡Elimina lo aburrido de aprender un idioma y descubre una herramienta lingüística innovadora que te mantendrá entretenido/a en tu recorrido hacia el manejo competente del inglés!
ISBN: 9780071499149Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Dictionaries
- Cambridge Dictionary A comprehensive online dictionary - use the menu to search the Learner's Dictionary as well as British and American English. Also provides translation for a number of languages and grammar lessons.
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283