- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- Computer Engineering Technology
- Computer Engineering Technology Resources
Computer Engineering Technology
Recommneded Databases
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,000 journals (more than 1,000 in full text).
- Computing Database This link opens in a new window Journal articles on "database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet". This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's".
- eBooks by EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 20,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Provides access to some of the world's most important publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its partners. Once you have results from your search, click on "Subscribed Content" to limit your search to content included in DeVry University's subscription.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- O'Reilly Media This link opens in a new window Books, videos, learning paths, and more on a range of subjects from technology and engineering to business and career development.View the 2021 Date with a Database tutorial.
eJournals
- International Journal on Computer Science & Engineering International Journal on Computer Science and Engineering (IJCSE) is a leading international journals for publication of new ideas, the state of the art research results and fundamental advances in all aspects of computer science and engineering. IJCSE is a scholarly open access, peer reviewed(refereed) international journal with a primary objective to provide the academic community and industry for the submission of half of original research and applications related to Computer Science and Engineering.
- Journal of Electrical & Computer Engineering Journal of Electrical and Computer Engineering is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in several areas of electrical and computer engineering. The subject areas covered by the journal are: Circuits and Systems; Communications; Signal Processing
eBooks
These are a sampling of eBooks available from the library.
Secure Resilient and Agile Software Development by
A collection of best practices and effective implementation recommendations that are proven to work, Secure, Resilient, and Agile Software Development leaves the boring details of software security theory out of the discussion as much as possible to concentrate on practical applied software security for practical people. Written to aid your career as well as your organization, the book shows how to gain skills in secure and resilient software development and related tasks. The book explains how to integrate these development skills into your daily duties, thereby increasing your professional value to your company, your management, your community, and your industry. Secure, Resilient, and Agile Software Development was written for the following professionals: AppSec architects and program managers in information security organizations Enterprise architecture teams with application development focus Scrum teams DevOps teams Product owners and their managers Project managers Application security auditors With a detailed look at Agile and Scrum software development methodologies, this book explains how security controls need to change in light of an entirely new paradigm on how software is developed. It focuses on ways to educate everyone who has a hand in any software development project with appropriate and practical skills to Build Security In. After covering foundational and fundamental principles for secure application design, this book dives into concepts, techniques, and design goals to meet well-understood acceptance criteria on features an application must implement. It also explains how the design sprint is adapted for proper consideration of security as well as defensive programming techniques. The book concludes with a look at white box application analysis and sprint-based activities to improve the security and quality of software under development.
ISBN: 9780367332594Publication Date: 2019-12-09
Essential Computer Science by
Understand essential computer science concepts and skills. This book focuses on the foundational and fundamental concepts upon which expertise in specific areas can be developed, including computer architecture, programming language, algorithm and data structure, operating systems, computer networks, distributed systems, security, and more. According to code.org, there are 500,000 open programming positions available in the US-- compared to an annual crop of just 50,000 graduating computer science majors. The US Department of Labor predicted that there will be almost a million and a half computer science jobs in the very near future, but only enough programmers to fill roughly one third of these jobs. To bridge the gap, many people not formally trained in computer science are employed in programming jobs. Although they are able to start programming and coding quickly, it often takes them time to acquire the necessary understanding to gain the requisite skills to become an efficient computer engineer or advanced developer. What You Will Learn The fundamentals of how a computer works The basics of computer programming and programming paradigms How to write efficient programs How the hardware and software work together to provide a good user experience and enhance the usability of the system How computers can talk to each other How to ensure the security of the system The fundamentals of cloud offerings, implications/trade-offs, and deployment/adoption configurations The fundamentals of machine learning Who This Book Is For Computer programmers lacking a formal education in computer science, and anyone with a formal education in computer science, looking to develop a general understanding of computer science fundamentals
ISBN: 9781484271063Publication Date: 2021-06-12
Cloud Computing by
Cloud Computing: Concepts, Technology, Security & Architecture Cloud computing has become an integral and foundational part of information technology. The majority of digital business activity and technology innovation occurs with the involvement of contemporary cloud environments that provide highly sophisticated automated technology infrastructure and a vast range of technology resources. To successfully build upon, interact with, or create a cloud environment requires an understanding of its common inner mechanics, architectural layers, models, and security controls. It also requires an understanding of the business and economic factors that justify the adoption and real-world use of clouds and cloud-based products and services. In Cloud Computing: Concepts, Technology, Security & Architecture, Thomas Erl, one of the world's top-selling IT authors, teams up with cloud computing expert Eric Barceló Monroy and researchers to break down proven and mature cloud computing technologies and practices into a series of well-defined concepts, technology mechanisms, and technology architectures. Comprehensive coverage of containerization and cybersecurity topics is also included. All chapters are carefully authored from an industry-centric and vendor-neutral point of view. In doing so, the book establishes concrete, academic coverage with a focus on structure, clarity, and well-defined building blocks for mainstream cloud computing and containerization platforms and solutions. With nearly 370 figures, 40 architectural models, and 50 mechanisms, this indispensable guide provides a comprehensive education of contemporary cloud computing, containerization, and cybersecurity that will never leave your side.
ISBN: 9780138052256Publication Date: 2023-08-12
Green Information and Communication Systems for a Sustainable Future by
Green Information and Communication Systems for a Sustainable Future covers the fundamental concepts, applications, algorithms, protocols, new trends, challenges, and research results in the area of Green Information and Communication Systems. This book provides the reader with up-to-date information on core and specialized issues, making it highly suitable for both the novice and the experienced researcher in the field. The book covers theoretical and practical perspectives on network design. It includes how green ICT initiatives and applications can play a major role in reducing CO2 emissions, and focuses on industry and how it can promote awareness and implementation of Green ICT. The book discusses scholarship and research in green and sustainable IT for business and organizations and uses the power of IT to usher sustainability into other parts of an organization. Business and management educators, management researchers, doctoral scholars, university teaching personnel and policy makers as well as members of higher academic research organizations will all discover this book to be an indispensable guide to Green Information and Communication Systems. It will also serve as a key resource for Industrial and Management training organizations all over the world.
ISBN: 9781003032458Publication Date: 2020-11-18
Professional Issues in IT by
To be effective at a senior level, IT professionals need not only appropriate technical skills and experience, but also a broad understanding of the context in which they operate. Relevant to all sizes of organisation, this book addresses the social, legal, financial, organisational and ethical issues faced by IT professionals, in alignment with the BCS HEQ 'Diploma in IT' core module: Professional Issues in Information Systems Practice. This new edition takes into account the social and legal implications of the changes to legislation and technology over recent years, including the GDPR and Data Protection Act, with comprehensive updates across the book in line with the latest syllabus.
ISBN: 9781780175881Publication Date: 2022-08-26
Other Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference management service for preparing bibliographies in APA and other citation styles. Use RefWorks to import and create citations, build lists of references, and integrate citations into your papers using the Write-n-Cite app.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044
Troubleshooting
IT Help Desk: 877-306-4283