- DeVry University
- LibGuides
- DVU Libguides
- SPCH275
- SPCH275 Resources
SPCH275
Public Speaking- This course teaches basic elements of effective public speaking. Topics include audience analysis, organization, language, delivery and nonverbal communication.
SPCH275 Library Resources
Workshops & Tutorials
- Workshops & TutorialsThis guide contains many types of instructional material for using the library website and various databases
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Access to over 13,000 multi-disciplinary periodicals (more than 8,500 in full-text), including monographs, conference proceedings, reports, etc.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window An eBook collection of 600+ high-quality, constantly updated reference books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and atlases.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Provides access to approximately 30 periodical databases (many of them full text), covering a wide-variety of subject areas. Mobile Access instructions.View the 2023 Date with a Database tutorial.
- Points of View This link opens in a new window Access to full-text essays on more than 250 topics including an overview, point, and counterpoint.View the 2023 Date with a Date with a Database tutorial.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Full-text periodicals covering "all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, as well as...performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and...thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world".
ebooks
How to Present to Absolutely Anyone by
Master the art of public speaking with a mind- and content-based approach to success How to Present to Absolutely Anyone is the ultimate guide to successful public speaking. Presentations, talks, and speeches are unavoidable in school, work, and even social occasions (have you ever had to deliver a wedding toast?)--but fear of public speaking is statistically more common than fear of death. Author Mark Rhodes once pretended he had crashed his car to avoid doing a presentation! Permanent avoidance will eventually hold you back, but mastering the art of the successful presentation can take you to new heights! This book shows you how Mark eventually learned to love public speaking: by setting himself up for a self-sustaining cycle of presentation success. It takes more than stage presence to make a great presentation--you need great content. Without it, you won't get the result you're after, and you will dread the next talk. But if your presentation stands on its own two feet and you manage to banish the stage fright, you get a taste of success that ignites your passion and gets you excited to present every time! Packed with practical advice for both mental anguish and content creation, this book approaches public speaking holistically to arm you with real skills for success: Build confidence, reduce fear, and develop the right mindset for public speaking Engage your audience from the start, and reduce first-minute jitters Develop great content that you look forward to presenting each time Go beyond simple body language to reach your audience in a more authentic, organic way Don't mumble your way through a PowerPoint or try to put flash over substance. Craft an engaging, informative presentation that people want to see and that you want to present! This book covers performance anxiety, speaking skills, ideas/content, practice, preparation, and audience interaction. How to Present to Absolutely Anyone guides you from fear, to excitement, to success!
ISBN: 9780857087737Publication Date: 2019-01-04
Public Speaking by
A perfectly delivered speech is something that takes time, practice, and knowledge. This guide is teeming with resources, whether you are looking to get over your fear of speaking to a group of people or are running for student assembly and need an edge on your competition. You will discover how to overcome stage fright by being prepared, rehearsed, and ready for a number of unforeseen circumstances. You will learn how to write a memorable speech and how to impact and persuade your audience. You will learn how to gauge your audience's reaction and tailor the remainder of your presentation to have maximum appeal to the group you are speaking to.
ISBN: 9781601389848Publication Date: 2015-10-30
On-Camera Coach by
The invaluable handbook for acing your on-camera appearance On-Camera Coach is your personal coach for becoming great on camera. From Skype interviews and virtual conferences to shareholder presentations and television appearances, this book shows you how to master the art of on-camera presentation to deliver your message clearly, effectively, and with confidence. Fear of public speaking is common, but even the most seasoned speakers freeze in front of a single lens--being on camera demands an entirely new set of skills above and beyond the usual presentation to an audience you can actually see. It requires special attention to the way you move, the way you speak, and even the way you dress. This book provides the guidance and tools you need to ace it every time. Video is powerful, and it is everywhere; corporate YouTube channels, webinars, virtual meetings, TedTalks, and more are increasingly turning the lens on those who typically remain behind the scenes. This relatively recent trend will continue to expand as media plays a larger role in business, and the ability to appear confident, authoritative, and polished is becoming a necessary job skill. This book shows you everything you need to know about being on camera, from preparation through presentation and beyond. Learn how to prepare for an on-camera appearance Tailor your presentation to on-camera demands Discover how the camera interprets wardrobe and body language Appear dynamic, confident, and engaged when the lens points your way The lens captures everything--the awkward pauses, the nervous fidgets, poor posture, and every false start and mistake is captured for posterity. Is that the image you want to present? You want to get your message across and be heard; to do that, you must portray authority, energy, and confidence--even when you don't feel it. On-Camera Coach provides the expert instruction and insider secrets that help you make your message sing.
ISBN: 9781119316039Publication Date: 2017-03-20
APA Websites
- Annotated Bibliography The Purdue OWL's overview on how to prepare an annotated bibliography
- APA Style: Sample Papers Includes templates for student annotated bibliography papers and student literature review papers.
Ask A Librarian
Knowledge Base - Search commonly asked questions by topic, keyword, or course number
Telephone a librarian at 800-293-3044